We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few day's in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Holten, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Few day's in Hamburg”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been in Hamburg at least one time every year. That's because of the WTS Triathlon. Visited several hotels and the Scandic was a pleasant surprise. Only 10 minutes walk for the Jungferstieg and clean and large room. Also the parking under the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Nederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thanks for your positive comment.

We hope you had a good WTS Triathlon
and that we see you again next year.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    551
    122
    31
    12
See reviews for
279
551
49
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the newest hotels in Hamburg, near to downtown and the TV tower. A huge park is nearby for the sports fan!
Goods service and huge bedrooms and bathroom (even single one!) Take note of the design of closets!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUTHMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The idea of the hotel itself is so unique that makes u say wow the minute you enter the room. I'll leave the room description as a surprise :)
Room size is excellent. Decoration is wow. Quality is awesome.
Location is good and just at the u bahn station.
I am thankful to the very nice and helpful staff.
U get a free welcome drink.. And discount on restaurant and bar bills.. The bar and restaurant are awesome.
I highly recommend this hotel although I was disappointed with the Internet connection and room air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you for the positive feedback.

It helps us to optimize our service and
to recognize what our guests expect.

See you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Renowated hotel, convinient location BUT very expensive breakfast. Service at reception is more than helpfull even if you check in late at night. Room was cozy and rather big. Bathroom has enouth space to feel comfort. Located in a walking distance of city centre, reeperbahn disrtict and hafen city.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lounia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Rooms are lovely. Location is excellent - you are right at a metro stop. Quiet. The bartender makes great White Russians. But the rooms are hot. It is not really possible to open the windows. One of our windows opened, but only enough to stick your hand through it - and it was in the corner where the curtains bunched together. The room was hot and stuffy. When we complained that our AC did not appear to work, we were told that someone would be sent up, but that never happened. As TheHedonist has said, don't expect to have a descent and calm breakfast. It was like eating in a train station. There is no logical flow to the buffets and the waitstaff was less than helpful. There was only one working coffee machine for about 200 people. It was eventually fixed, but it was clearly not a top priority. The hotel is absolutely fine, but it looks a lot better than it actually is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Scandic Emporio is located right in the middle of Hamburg, with the main sights within walking distance. The room is very spacious, stylishly furnished and impeccably clean. With ceiling-to-floor windows, the room was filled with the glorious sunshine that Hamburg offered on the weekend we stayed there - wonderful!

Staff is very pleasant and helpful, and we enjoyed the happy hour outside in some very cozy terrace seats. Nice!

The only thing I would change are the splitted beds - a king or queen would be preferable, but maybe we should have specified this at the time of booking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us to do our work better.

If you prefer a king or queen size bed, give us a hint.
We can arrange it for you.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is completely self- service and things are put against the natural flow of how you get your things - do not expect to have a decent and calm breakfast before you start your busy day. Staff in hotel is friendly but not efficient enough, results in long check in queues etc. Be also aware they have very soft beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us to do our job better.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied, but please be aware that we cannot fullfil each and every expectation. As per the Scandic concept all our hotels offer a self-service breakfast.

Thank you for letting us know about the long queue. Please accept our apologies. We are trying
our best, but sometimes there are odd situations which we cannot plan in advance
with enough staff.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
1,024 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,373 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 317 in Hamburg
2,111 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing