We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent , recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent , recommended”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location, especially if you are attending event in centrum congress hamburg. There is a nearby metro/train station.

Large room, looks very new, facilities (the bath room, the furniture arrangement ...) inside room are just fitting what a tourist needs. Full size glass windows, good view yet privacy is preserved when curtain drawn. Great design in simple and functional way.

Bad point: wifi is not very stable inside my room.

Overall, will definitely recommended to others, and myself will come back in future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banana0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
See you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    519
    119
    30
    11
See reviews for
259
522
46
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Hamburg after my business was complete. First I must say that the city is lovely and there are lots of things to see and do.
When we arrived at the Scandic our room was not yet ready. The staff was polite and spoke perfect English. We had a few hours before the room was ready, so the staff secured our luggage and we explored the city.
The room was a good size for Europe and the bathroom as well. A few negatives - no air conditioning in our room, the beds are not secured to the headboard, so they move a lot, the T.V. was not set up for pre-pay movies (we watched the BBC, as it was the only EN channel), the hotel has only one restaurant. The positives - great staff, comfortable beds, large shower, well lite room, lovely area outside to relax and have a drink, bike rentals and located two blocks from the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringChickenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey, dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It helps us a lot, to know what our guests need und wish.
Only with this informations we can optimize our service.

See you again!

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel as I was attending a conference in a building next door.

Initial impression of the hotel is that it is pretty new, and modern. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and when I arrived in my room it was clean and pleasant. Nice that it had free wifi and a complementary bottle of water, which should be standard in everything except budget hotels.

Bathroom was on the smaller side but perfectly adequate, with a good sized shower. Bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.

Location is good, walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. It's also relatively close to the airport (around 15-20 mins by cab outside of rush hour).

Overall, very pleased, although it wasn't the cheapest I would stay again if travelling on business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juggsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our Scandic Hamburg Emporio.

See you and best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been in Hamburg at least one time every year. That's because of the WTS Triathlon. Visited several hotels and the Scandic was a pleasant surprise. Only 10 minutes walk for the Jungferstieg and clean and large room. Also the parking under the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Nederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thanks for your positive comment.

We hope you had a good WTS Triathlon
and that we see you again next year.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the newest hotels in Hamburg, near to downtown and the TV tower. A huge park is nearby for the sports fan!
Goods service and huge bedrooms and bathroom (even single one!) Take note of the design of closets!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUTHMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The idea of the hotel itself is so unique that makes u say wow the minute you enter the room. I'll leave the room description as a surprise :)
Room size is excellent. Decoration is wow. Quality is awesome.
Location is good and just at the u bahn station.
I am thankful to the very nice and helpful staff.
U get a free welcome drink.. And discount on restaurant and bar bills.. The bar and restaurant are awesome.
I highly recommend this hotel although I was disappointed with the Internet connection and room air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you for the positive feedback.

It helps us to optimize our service and
to recognize what our guests expect.

See you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Renowated hotel, convinient location BUT very expensive breakfast. Service at reception is more than helpfull even if you check in late at night. Room was cozy and rather big. Bathroom has enouth space to feel comfort. Located in a walking distance of city centre, reeperbahn disrtict and hafen city.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lounia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 317 in Hamburg
1,387 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 317 in Hamburg
2,016 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,306 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing