We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but give the restaurant a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #17 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but give the restaurant a miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Emporio in Hamburg for a weekend break to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is very well located for central Hamburg and the markets. The whole hotel is of a very high standard – the furnishings are modern and all areas were very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable – I had some of the best nights’ sleep there I have ever had in a hotel!

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant doesn’t quite live up to expectations. On our first night there, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were offered the choice of buffet or a la carte. The waiting staff encouraged us to opt for the buffet, which we duly did. This was priced at an expensive 36 euros per person. The range of food was extremely limited (not what we’d expected of a buffet) and, although nice enough, wasn’t of a good enough quality to warrant that price. Although the menu had advertised various meat options for the main course, there only seemed to be gammon available and not very good quality either. To accompany the meat, the options were cabbage, potatoes and more potatoes. When we each ordered a glass of wine, we were only poured a half measure so had to ask to be topped up! A glass of mulled wine should have been included in the price of the buffet, but this never materialised. The next two nights of our stay, we ate out at other local restaurants, which were much more reasonably priced, with better choice and quality.

On balance, we had a great weekend and were very happy and comfortable in the hotel, but regretted choosing to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us to optimize our service.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy our buffet. The four Fridays before Christmas we offer a traditional Scandinavian buffet. This buffet is called JuleBord and includes a lot of different sorts of fish and typical vegetables from Scandinavia, but little meat.
So, it wasn´t a good recommendation from our waiter, if you don´t like fish. We apologize for our waiter not having passed on this information and that you didn´t get our homemade mulled wine.

We hope that you visit our hotel and restaurant again to try the delicious dishes from our menu.

Best regards,
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    491
    109
    29
    10
See reviews for
240
492
45
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very modern, very clean, a bit different than most other hotels. First of all, they have a large parking garage, with wide lanes, so you won't damage your car getting in and out. The staff at the reception is most friendly and helpful, exactly as they should be.
Nice and clean rooms, with all modern features that you expect in this range of hotels. What I do miss, is a feeling of Scandic warmth, a "cosy" atmosphere.
The restaurant in the hotel, H2O, is good, but the menu is a bit limited. They are brave: the first restaurant I have been in in any western country that does not serve Coca Cola or Pepsi, but a local cola. Not bad either, to be honest. All in all a nice and comfortable experience, excellent for business trips, but not for private visits, I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us a lot to do a better service.
Yes, you are right with the cola. In general, if possible we use only foods and beverage from the region.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

New, stylish hotel with large clean rooms and excellent tv and wifi connection. I was in the heart of the city within a 5 minute walk. Importantly, both times I've stayed, I've had a room with large windows and beautiful aspects to the front or back. I'll not be trying another hotel in Hamburg for now.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasanqazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv Feedback.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
462 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed in Scandic Hamburg Emporio for two nights in April 2013 as part of a business trip. The hotel is new and located very nicely, close to the city center and next to Aussen Alster which is a lake that is lovely to run around. A colleague and myself took it around this lake one of the mornings and it can only be recommended if you are a runner. about 10K in total. The lobby and bar area is trendy and fashionable, the rooms were amazing, very nice size and floor to ceiling windows with a great view (stayed on the 6th floor) Since everything was brand new, the cleanliness of the room and the overall standard was absolutely tip top. I liked especially the bathroom. I'm normally a very light sleeper but the rooms in Scandic Emporio are very sound proof which was a big plus. The breakfast was great with a good variety and everything was fresh. Will look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our
Scandic Hamburg Emporio.

We hope we see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Scandic Hamburg Emporio Hotel. Very clean, comfortable and well maintained w/all the necessities. Short walk to the Gansemarkt station for fast travel around Hamburg. While the hotel is very 'Scandinavian' in feel and caters to Europeans, Americans are welcomed and invited to relax and enjoy their time in Hamburg. Bar and restaurant are both found just off the lobby. Highly recommend the Scandic Emporio for its convenience, the nearby parks and neighborhoods and for its clean rooms and 'keep it green' attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much vor your positiv feedback.

This good feedback motivates us to continue our strategy.

...and with our "green atitude" we have saved tons of packaging waste and CO².

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Scandic in Hamburg! Beautiful hotel with fresh new decor and a nice clean modern feeling. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a huge highlight for us, it was delicious and had a huge variety. The hotel is a fantastic location, somehow it's really quiet but it's only a couple blocks away from the city center and everything is in walking distance. We had a great time and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

It motivates and helps us to optimize our service.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location, especially if you are attending event in centrum congress hamburg. There is a nearby metro/train station.

Large room, looks very new, facilities (the bath room, the furniture arrangement ...) inside room are just fitting what a tourist needs. Full size glass windows, good view yet privacy is preserved when curtain drawn. Great design in simple and functional way.

Bad point: wifi is not very stable inside my room.

Overall, will definitely recommended to others, and myself will come back in future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banana0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
See you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing