We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stylish rooms, based on Eco friendly principles.
Very comfortable bed ( not always the case in trendy hotels!)
Nice touch to get a free bottle of water

Have not tried the bar/ restaurant or other facilities, only reason not to give 5 stars (stayed on 2 business trips)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We would be happy, if you try our restaurant during your next stay
and give us the fifth star.

See you.

Best regards

Tobias Albert
Senior Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Simple, modern, clean and good size rooms close to Gaensemarkt (central). Rooms have wodden floor, wgich gives it a cleaner feel, as these usually smelly carpets in hotels. Breakfast is simple and fine for something quick, but could do with a bit more love and care. Elevator is very creative (diver in deep see coming up!), but very unpleasent feeling.
Would definitely use Scandic again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank keeptravelingMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
It helps us a lot to understand, what our guests like or dislike.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very unusual hotel. as it is ikea-like a low-cost sustainable approach (only local products, no toiletries, no room service - a small 24h shop instead). Very unusual but really enjoyable. Breakfast was really great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. Therefore I asked for their best room and we got it:-) It was a big lovely room with all facilities. The staff was very polite, helpful and serviceminded. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. My wife being an vegetarian, we asked what our option was, as there are no vegetarian main course on the menu. The chef went to work and presented a delicious meal:-)
We will definetly come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hej dear guest,

Thank you very much for you positive feedback.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
If possible, we try to accomplish every wish.
See you again.

Best regards
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Scandic for a short trip to Hamburg. It was an excellent choice and also great value when booked in advance.

Check-in was friendly and quick and we were pleased to find our room was a little bit different to other chain hotels (with nice features such as a recycling bin, massive bed, and clever layout). It was also very quiet so we slept particularly well here. The location is excellent for tourists, being close to all train services and a short walk to the nice area around the Rathaus.

As our first experience of the Scandic brand, we were very impressed and would select the brand again for its subtle quirkiness and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the Scandicstyle and philosophy,
which we also offer in our other 160 Scandic Hotels in Europe.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our second stay at Scandic Emporio Hamburg and we were again very happy with it: great room with nice views towards City Hall, St. Michaelis Church and the new Philharmonic Hall, very spacious and clean. Hardwood floors, free wifi, free bottle of water - no closet, though. The room was absolutely quiet.

Front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast situation may not appeal to everyone: you have to get plates, cups and even cutlery yourself. The restaurant has an IKEA cantine feel to it and is very crowdy with larger groups at peak hours. That said, the culinary offerings are bountiful; egg dishes are made to order.

The location is very good: only a 10-minute-walk to Dammtor railway station, 5 minutes to Gänsemarkt and the pedestrian shopping zone. A subway station is also close by.

Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hey, dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.
We are glad to hear, that you enjoy your visit in our hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Emporio in Hamburg for a weekend break to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is very well located for central Hamburg and the markets. The whole hotel is of a very high standard – the furnishings are modern and all areas were very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable – I had some of the best nights’ sleep there I have ever had in a hotel!

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant doesn’t quite live up to expectations. On our first night there, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were offered the choice of buffet or a la carte. The waiting staff encouraged us to opt for the buffet, which we duly did. This was priced at an expensive 36 euros per person. The range of food was extremely limited (not what we’d expected of a buffet) and, although nice enough, wasn’t of a good enough quality to warrant that price. Although the menu had advertised various meat options for the main course, there only seemed to be gammon available and not very good quality either. To accompany the meat, the options were cabbage, potatoes and more potatoes. When we each ordered a glass of wine, we were only poured a half measure so had to ask to be topped up! A glass of mulled wine should have been included in the price of the buffet, but this never materialised. The next two nights of our stay, we ate out at other local restaurants, which were much more reasonably priced, with better choice and quality.

On balance, we had a great weekend and were very happy and comfortable in the hotel, but regretted choosing to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us to optimize our service.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy our buffet. The four Fridays before Christmas we offer a traditional Scandinavian buffet. This buffet is called JuleBord and includes a lot of different sorts of fish and typical vegetables from Scandinavia, but little meat.
So, it wasn´t a good recommendation from our waiter, if you don´t like fish. We apologize for our waiter not having passed on this information and that you didn´t get our homemade mulled wine.

We hope that you visit our hotel and restaurant again to try the delicious dishes from our menu.

Best regards,
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,307 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 321 in Hamburg
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empire Riverside Hotel
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,282 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,084 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £84 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 324 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing