We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dessert”
Review of Heimat Kuche + Bar

Heimat Kuche + Bar
Ranked #125 of 3,710 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: After a long journey, you've finally arrived Home. The restaurant is the living room of the Uberseequartier and meeting place for hotel guests and neighbors. In the morning the hotel guests can count on a satisfying breakfast, during the day there's space for you to work, lunch just when you need it, and when it gets dark there are drinks and music. On your plate you will find artfully prepared, yet simple meals made of ingredients picked fresh from the region.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice dessert”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at hotel, but didn't eat breakfast nor dinner here. On our last evening returning to the hotel we decided to have a drink and something sweet. They had out of the menu a chocolate fondant with pistachio ice cream. And the ice cream was the most delicious one we have ever tried. The dessert was not of a huge size, so our bill for one dessert and 4 glasses of porto was almost 30 euros, I think a little too much. The burgers the people were having looked very nice and delicious. Also the waiter was super nice and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    89
    33
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Does the restaurant want customers?”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The 25 Hours Hotel is a favourite of mine. Great value, quirky, and on this occasion full, so we had to stay elsewhere. However, finishing a long shift in the office we decided to head to the Heimat Kuche for dinner at around 8:45 pm. When we arrived one large table had already been vacated and was more than ample for our group of 7, but the front desk...... Don't get me wrong, we eat here regularly, the burger and chips are great, as are most other things on the menu, reasonably priced and a good ambience for a hotel restaurant. Nonetheless I find it an extremely annoying trait - and in Hamburg it is not unique to Heimat Kuche - to be ticked off for daring to ask for something to eat at that time of night. We were told in no uncertain terms that "we must book in future". Punishment was not disclosed. Ve haf vays of making you book. If Hamburg wants to be a truly world class city, then it and its service sector need to start acting like one. The service was a little grudging from a couple of the wait staff almost as if to say "we were looking forward to finishing early on a Tuesday night". Others couldn't be faulted, neither could our meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonske35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“God prices and decent food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Would recommend, the burger was a good Quality beef but the bun a bit borring. Good beer at good prices an awesome atmosfere

Helpful?
Thank JensLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Ate here 3 times over the weekend, lunch twice and dinner once. Staff were excellent, food was very good quality, the burger is recommended. We also tried the local cheese selection (lovely chutney) and the meats from the snack selection. The pea soup was tasty too.

On Friday evening a local band played, these covered lots of classic rock songs and were brilliant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lovely burger”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

for 15Euro you get a big and tasty burger. I recommend it.
and of course the atmosphere of the restaurant is 25hours style (it is part of the 25hours hotel hafencity) really laid back. When I ate there at the beginning of november they even had a live concert. guests and staff were very nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank piajoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heimat Kuche + Bar also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Heimat Kuche + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing