We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice rooms, but let down by some minor details”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Hamburg Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Hamburg Mitte
Ranked #73 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value, nice rooms, but let down by some minor details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I've just stayed two nights at the NH Hamburg Norge. The first was at the bargain rate of 63 euros and at that price is a steal! The second night was booked late afternoon due to striking airport security staff (even in Germany!!!) and was still just 79 euros which is not bad at all.

The positives include very nicely furnished rooms (compact but very comfortable), nice (but even more compact) bathrooms, excellent Internet and printing if you purchase the 10 euros business package, good breakfast buffet (extra cost), great location near the U-Baum and university and walkable to some nice areas in which to eat.

The negatives are that the rooms are too warm - its noisy (and cold in February) if you leave the window ajar, terribly slow free Internet, breakfast overpriced (18 euros), slow check in when busy, and I really did not appreciate the staff inflating the cost by charging in ponds instead of euros without asking.

Nevertheless the positives outweigh the negatives and this is a very good and reasonably priced option in Hamburg.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadwocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    271
    139
    41
    15
See reviews for
89
232
34
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is exactly what, you can expect for the price. Clean, good service, good food (breakfast) . Everything as promised! No more and no less. If I'll come for business , I'll go back there. Sure not for leisure. No complaints, though. Good average! Worth for the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Before booking the NH Norge we discovered several advantages of this hotel: the pricing was reasonable and the location was quite favorable. And indeed: a short walk to the station Schlump offers the possibility to explore the whole city because of the excellent public transport system. Meanwhile you can leave your car at the hotel parking for a reasonable fee.
Up to that it must be emphasized that breakfast is great: good choice and very attentive and kind service. It helps you to get on the way.

We were located in a room not in the main building but in a sort of annex in the back. No trouble with traffic noise was supposed to be an advantage. But our room wasn’t equipped with air conditioning and it was high summer: so we had to leave the windows wide opened. And we discovered that the noise of the neighbors more than compensated that of the cars: it was really disturbing. And the windows opened still didn’t mean that the temperature in the room was acceptable for sleeping.
In any hotel that claims to be a 4*-accommodation there should be airco and this one is no exception. Up to that the bathroom was out of date and the shower hardly deserved that name.

Using the internet was free. That is to say: in the lobby you could use an entrance code from reception for a max of 30 min, that afforded a slow connection via Swisscom – or something. So we chose to go to a Vodafone-shop and bought our own connection. That helped, although we had the impression that even our “own” internet was somewhat scrambled in the room.

The location of the NH Norge is great but the infrastructure of the hotel is very much out of date: pity that one thing neutralizes the other.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epo376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-willows
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in good location close to u ground and taxis also at bottom street. Taxi one way is 23 euros on average and takes bout 20 mins. Rooms cleaned daily beds really relaxing and got good night sleep. Shower room also good and shower hot and powerful. Only down falls to hotel are rooms too hot even in November and had to keep asking for coffee and milk as only would give us one at time. Over all good clean hotel would recommend but watch out at breakfast they want 18 euros per person!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

It is ok, good location, quite nice, breakfast ok. Clean rooms, good custome service.
Just ok. What it is really bad is the free intenet service it's terrible. and the paid internet service is really expesive.
if you're comming as a business trip it is not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having stayed in Nh Hamburg closer to the Reeperbahn it was fully booked, so i had to book this Norge instead. And what a shame. Tiny room. Not great for a weekend break, so we stayed out as much as possible, as it was too small to enjoy any relaxing time there.
Just 5mins walk to Schlump U station, it has good access to everywhere. With free wifi it helps too. But thats where the good side finishes.
We were offered breakfast for E18.Shocking as its about twice the amount as the other Nh charged us. There was no parking available either, so we had to park on the street which wasn't the plan either. We were given room 211, and walking in, the room hadn't been cleaned. It didnt start well. 211 is directly opposite of the elevator so i would advise against that room if you are a light sleeper.
Finally we got room 323, no view, small room.. crack in the toilet we were worried might break.. hence we just stayed out. we made the most of the weekend, and had around 9 hours sleep in 2 days just as we didnt want to be in the hotel any more.
Its a shame as the nh closer to the Reeperbahn is amazing. Apartments are huge, good breakfast, closer to the center.. so try that one prior to booking here!

Room Tip: NOT any room with 11... as its opposite the elevator....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaelicKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Perfect location for sightseeing, very close to u-bahn, but the rooms to the street are very noisy with open window (no aircondition!).
Breakfast very good, but too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Annegret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yoho
#144 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hotel Boston Hamburg
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Hamburg Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Hamburg Mitte

Property: NH Hamburg Mitte
Address: Schaeferkampsallee 49, 20357 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly NH Hamburg Norge)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#73 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Hamburg Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Hamburg Mitte is conveniently located close to the Hamburg city center, making it ideal for both business travelers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, NHHotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Hamburg Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hamburg Norge Hotel Hamburg
Nh Hotels Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing