We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripp-off!”
Review of NH Hamburg Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Hamburg Mitte
Ranked #87 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I paid over 200 euro for the smallest, noisiest room I have ever been into. The bathroom is a laugh, being twice the size of the bowl, and that includes the shower! Dirty carpet in hallway. Staff OK.
I just cannot understand NH lends its name to such a scam.

Room Tip: Find another place if you can spend the 200+ Euros I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here earlier this month for 4 nights on a room only basis. The rooms was immaculate and also extremely spacious for the price. This hotel offers excellent value for money for anyone on a short city break and is near (200 metres) from a U-Bahn station so is easily accessible from the airport. The comments about the main road and associated noise is true, however we just closed the window and put on the air conditioning and therefore slept soundly.The staff were extremely good also. I would definitely stay here again. Jim. Dundee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimdundee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed only one night. Quite happy about that.
I was very happy the offered a baby bed for my son. Thought that was good service. Room was ok. Very soft bed. The bath stopper was broken.
The room was very very warm.
And in the morning when i asked for the breakfast i could have sworn the lady said it was €9,- turned out to be €19. For that money i would have expected a little bit more. It was not bad but way overpriced. Also when i asked about the parking there was no mention of a price.
Very bad communication. I should have reseached it a bit better.
I would not go there again. For the money we spend we could have done better. I should have popped over to the supermarked across the road for food :P

Room Tip: at the back is better since it is at a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Only stayed one night and quite thankful. On a busy road so rooms at the front can be quite noisy - a problem if you are a light sleeper. There is no restaurant in the hotel and there is little choice nearby (within 5 minutes walk there are 2 or 3 places, mostly asian cuisine). The staff ranged between the usual high quality I expect of NH to the downright surly. The room itself was clean and large with coffee making facilities (for me a real bonus). However, at certain times of the day the corridor outside smelt of cabbages! Wifi was free but very little bandwidth. Breakfast was very good, but expensive. Location is OK - between 2 U-bahn stations (Schlump and Christuskirke) which makes getting out and about quite easy, and on a fine day the 30 minute walk to St. Pauli distict is quite nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I've just stayed two nights at the NH Hamburg Norge. The first was at the bargain rate of 63 euros and at that price is a steal! The second night was booked late afternoon due to striking airport security staff (even in Germany!!!) and was still just 79 euros which is not bad at all.

The positives include very nicely furnished rooms (compact but very comfortable), nice (but even more compact) bathrooms, excellent Internet and printing if you purchase the 10 euros business package, good breakfast buffet (extra cost), great location near the U-Baum and university and walkable to some nice areas in which to eat.

The negatives are that the rooms are too warm - its noisy (and cold in February) if you leave the window ajar, terribly slow free Internet, breakfast overpriced (18 euros), slow check in when busy, and I really did not appreciate the staff inflating the cost by charging in ponds instead of euros without asking.

Nevertheless the positives outweigh the negatives and this is a very good and reasonably priced option in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadwocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel is exactly what, you can expect for the price. Clean, good service, good food (breakfast) . Everything as promised! No more and no less. If I'll come for business , I'll go back there. Sure not for leisure. No complaints, though. Good average! Worth for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Before booking the NH Norge we discovered several advantages of this hotel: the pricing was reasonable and the location was quite favorable. And indeed: a short walk to the station Schlump offers the possibility to explore the whole city because of the excellent public transport system. Meanwhile you can leave your car at the hotel parking for a reasonable fee.
Up to that it must be emphasized that breakfast is great: good choice and very attentive and kind service. It helps you to get on the way.

We were located in a room not in the main building but in a sort of annex in the back. No trouble with traffic noise was supposed to be an advantage. But our room wasn’t equipped with air conditioning and it was high summer: so we had to leave the windows wide opened. And we discovered that the noise of the neighbors more than compensated that of the cars: it was really disturbing. And the windows opened still didn’t mean that the temperature in the room was acceptable for sleeping.
In any hotel that claims to be a 4*-accommodation there should be airco and this one is no exception. Up to that the bathroom was out of date and the shower hardly deserved that name.

Using the internet was free. That is to say: in the lobby you could use an entrance code from reception for a max of 30 min, that afforded a slow connection via Swisscom – or something. So we chose to go to a Vodafone-shop and bought our own connection. That helped, although we had the impression that even our “own” internet was somewhat scrambled in the room.

The location of the NH Norge is great but the infrastructure of the hotel is very much out of date: pity that one thing neutralizes the other.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epo376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Hotel Boston Hamburg
#39 of 321 in Hamburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
928 reviews
NH Hamburg Horner Rennbahn
#44 of 321 in Hamburg
891 reviews
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Hamburg Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Hamburg Mitte

Address: Schaeferkampsallee 49, 20357 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly NH Hamburg Norge)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#73 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Hamburg Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Eimsbüttel neighborhood and minutes from Hamburg’s city center, sits the NH Hamburg Mitte hotel, completely renovated in 2017. Formerly known as NH Hamburg Norge, this hotel is fantastic for both leisure and business travelers. Guests can walk to the Zoologisches Museum Hamburg, the Reeperbahn, the swimming pool at Kaifu-Bad, the Fish Market, and the Hamburger Dom. Situated just steps away from the Christuskirche and Schlump subway stations, the hotel provides easy access to Hamburg’s city center, central train station, and other sites. NH Hamburg Mitte has 134 inviting and modern rooms. NH Sleep Better mattresses, Sky TV and free Wi-Fi greet each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Hamburg Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hamburg Norge Hotel Hamburg
Nh Hotels Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing