We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special at Steigenberger Treudelberg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg
Ranked #37 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I booked a double room in the new Atrium wing for one night from August 3rd - August 4th, 2012. The rate was 134,-- Euro for two adults and a baby, breakfast and taxes included. We arrived at 5pm by taxi. No doorman or bellboy was available, we had to carry the bags and the buggy on our own. Even at check in the staff didn't offer help with the luggage transfer. Our room 538 was quite far away from reception, we had to go the basement floor by lift, walking through a tunnel, taking a lift to the first floor and walk another 50 meters to the room (with the bags, a buggy and a tired baby).

The confirmed baby cot in the room was missing so we had to call housekeeping and got the baby cot after 20 minutes (the maid knocked once at the door and entered the room a second later). In the room was no welcome note, complimentary bottle of water or other amenities which are normally given in the upscaled hotel business (not even a welcome note on the tv). The room was fine, everything was clean and there was enough space for us three. The bathroom had a shower, only. There were just two shower towel in the bathroom, the third for the baby was delivered by housekeeping seperately. Turn down was missing (and probably not offered) - maybe a problem for guests visiting the promoted spa - they probably have to use their (wet) towel twice.

Breakfast next morning was overcrowed as the hotel was fully booked.The breakfast buffet was fine but there was not enough service staff to restock the buffets or to serve coffee within a few minutes. We also had to organize a free table on our own.

Check out was unremarkable. Needless to say, that we had to carry our luggage on our own again.

In total nothing special, everything seems to be mediocre. We probably will choose another hotel next time as there a better alternatives

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to Germany. The hotel is close to the airport, but quite far from the city centre if that is where your interests lie. However, you can travel by bus and suburban trains to the city centre in about 30-45 minutes if need be.
The hotel itself is spread out over a large area, which is only natural, considering that it boasts a huge golf course! The rooms are quite large and comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect. I was roomed in the annexe, next to the entrance of the hotel, and found that rooms here had a disadvantage in that traffic through the roads at night might disturb your sleep. There is an underground passage that connects the annexe with the main building which is probably useful in the winter.
The restaurant has an excellent buffet breakfast, and the only concern I had was the lack of variety for vegetarians. A friend, who was vegetarian, had to be content with breakfast cereals, milk, bread, jam and juices. His problem was compounded by the fact that the items in the buffet were not named, and we had no idea whethere they were veg or not.
The other meals were also very good, and reasonably priced as far as European fares go, but probably very expensive for Asians/Indians.
I was really impressed by the service, with the staff going out of their way to guide me in English. With their help I was able to figure out how to visit the various centres of interest, such as the Harbour, Lake Alster and Miniature Wonderland.
As I dont play golf, I am unable to comment on the quality of the facilities, but those who play the game seemed to be very excited after seeing the course.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay away from the intrusive city areas.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road, as the traffic may hamper your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you do not know Hamburg or want to stay close to the city's main attractions this is not the right option for you. But if you want to stay in this region or not so far from the airport (ca. 15 minutes by car) this a good choice. In a beautiful region in front of a golf club a car, however, is mandatory.

Watch out the room choice (below) otherwise you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: The hotel has two buildings. If you choose a superior room you will stay in a new stylish room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc_Bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Business trip to HAmburg
Hotel chosen by colleagues
Exceptional rooms/ location and service - especially in the bar!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have come to this hotel several times over the past 4 years and alwas enjoyed staying there. Food options are fine and not overpriced, staff is friendly and the ambiance of the golf course and spa makes it very relaxed.
Am certainly coming back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank esbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here three nights for a business meeting.
Nice and comfortable hotel, a bit out of city center, friendly staff worked hardly for you, delicious breakfast, very green apples in a huge vase on the reception attract your attention and make you happy without additional effort even all the information is in Deutsch:))
Good to have opportunity to use the Spa and different other sport facilities.
Visit Reeperbahn is the most famous street in this area and home to numerous entertainment venues ranging from local pubs to strip shows and musical theaters.
Liked narrow streets with treppen (stairs) go down to the shore.
Keeping status as a major trading port there Hamburg is pretty unsafe - keep your valuables close to your body!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have to admit I agree with other reviewers regarding staff. However I noticed this after I left the hotel; I was charged for one extra breakfast on the bill. I was checking out at 5 am obviously not having breakfast and they did charge one... And so was the case with my colleagues staying there.
Nevetheless the hotel is an serene/village like location which makes it perfect for relaxation or golfers. Transfer to Hamburg by public transport seemed complicated so we decided to go by taxi; not cheap by more convenient for a group.
The room was basic and bit old style, even the TV set was like in the 90s. Not really up to 4 star expectations.
Breakfast and lunch were OK, but was not impressed with the dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,714 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#69 of 321 in Hamburg
1,100 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 321 in Hamburg
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg

Address: Lemsahler Landstr. 45, 22397 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Wandsbek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg welcomes you right in the nature reserve Alster Valley on the northern outskirts of Hamburg. 225 comfortable rooms, 500 sqm DaySpa, a Country Club with pool, saunas and fitness center, 2 restaurants, a bistro and a bar offer you every comfort.This resort offers you golf pleasures of a special kind. The 27 hole championship golf course is considered one of the most beautiful and challenging courses in northern Germany.The unique wellness oasis of this resort offers you a wide variety ofmassages and treatments, in its eight treatment rooms and private Spa Suite. Between treatments the Tepidarium and the Salina Vita awaits you. The wellness and DaySpa offer aims at using your personal time optimally and providing you with reenergising moments which help you maintain your performance level.You just have to arrive and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing