We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, bang in the middle of grotty red light district. Not acceptable at all.”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #127 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed in a triple room at terminus's sister hotel- Lumen. Whilst the staff were fine and the breakfast also fine it did little to make up for the surroundings and minimalism of the hotel. At E90 a night (add on 10 euros per night for parking) for a triple room I would expect to be able to move around a little. It was incredibly small with see-through, holey curtains that lit the room at 5am. There was also a foul smell of cigarettes drifting into the room constantly.
The most upsetting thing about this place is that I am a twenty something female and the area was inaundated with pimps and prostitutes (directly outside the hotel door). I was travelling with my parents and when walking with my dad felt incredibly uncomfortable and was approached as soon as I left the hotel door. (I look fairly respectable!). If you don't mind spending decent money to stay next to sex shops and the atmostphere they bring I guess you should stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0die81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

Very convenient for the station, and a bag on wheels can be towed all the way. The room was clean, on a fairly busy road, but not too noisy with the windows shut. Hotel reception is one floor up, & the lift is very small. Reception staff were excellent, and spoke good English too. They helpfully stored our bags after we had checked out despite there not being an official luggage room. Our room on the third floor was accessible by lift and a short flight of stairs. The room itself was quite spacious - although shower gel was provided, tea and coffee facillities were not which costs this unpretentious place a point as far as I'm concerned. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection, and the price was included in the overnight rate. I think the room could get unacceptably hot as there is no air-con. but we were OK when the outside temp was 16C in mid June.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katessanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We were traveling via train between Copenhagen and Luzern and wanted a stopover between the two points. The hotel is about 200 meters from the bahnhof, which makes it good for travelers. However, the hotel has no restaurant and the area isn't the greatest and seems to be full of sex shops. There are no good restaurants in the area either. But, the price is right and paid Euro 79 for the two of us. It is clean and that is what counts.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N6JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
213
Reviewed 20 June 2006

7 of us stayed there during the world cup. The hotel is just a 21euro cab ride from the airport and 2mins walk from the train station which whilst handy means it's not the most salubrious - think kebab and XXX shops. Saying that it always felt safe and friendly. The staff in the hotel were very welcoming and friendly, speaking good english. The rooms were quiet, very clean and of a good standard for the price. All in all a good option for a budget hotel, although not recommended for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andycufa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank hwschuermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
Hotel Lumen
#270 of 321 in Hamburg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#50 of 321 in Hamburg
412 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
#266 of 321 in Hamburg
285 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Address: Steindamm 5, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £48 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing