We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte
Ranked #30 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

good reasonable hotel with good links to hamburg city centre. bus stop is literally round the corner from the main entrance and the u bahn is ten minutes walk away. we generally took the bus which took 15-20 minutes to get to hauptbahnhof and then changed to u bahn if we needed to go further afield. not the prettiest hotel or indeed located in the prettiest area but a great base for exploring hamburg. oh, and you get a trumpet serenade at nine every weekday morning from across the road! so no sleeping in when you should be out and about!

Room Tip: view of stortebeker haus preferable. check out the midday clock display!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is not what it shows in the pictures on such websites as Trivago and the like. What we paid for and what we got were two different things. We paid for an all singing all dancing double room which in the pictures looked fantastic, however it was not.

The room was twin beds, stank of smoke and the decor was from the 1970s. As you can see by the pictures that are posted here on Trip Advisor it shows lovely double beds etc. Wrong!! We asked to change our room once we checked to make sure we had booked the right room etc. sadly no room at the inn for the duration of our stay, so we had to. Make do with two single beds not even suitable for children, a horrible stale smoke smell and cramped conditions.

If you take out the bad room that we had though, the staff at the hotel were brilliant, spoke a degree of English and put up our attempts at German. The bar and restaurant area are well decorated and pleasant to sit in of an evening. The food on offer for breakfast is good and the service from the staff in the restaurant is very very good.

The only thing that let's it down is the rooms!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuperCrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Apartment, Verkaufsleiter at Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and your open words.
First of all we're really soory that you do not rely comfortable and you left our hotel disappointed and upset. We would like to apologize for not having met your expectations in the room.
Please be sure that we carefully investigated your case. Unfortunately you've got one of our last 5 not renovated rooms (the low budget category), and due to the fact that during your stay our hotel was completely fully booked we were not able to upgrade you! However we agree with you that these last 5 rooms need to be renovated! Please be informed that our hotel has in total 119 rooms and we guarantee you as well as all our guests that 114 of our rooms look exactly as shown on the photos, as a part of our basic mission is to honest and fair! On the other side we focus on the intrinsic values and your well-being in the hotel. As a part of our renovation in the last quarter of 2013, extensive restoration measures are taken, and we've invested and we're still investing for the comfort of our guests as you even mentionec, such as our brand new Bar & Bistro, the new Reception-Lobby and the exterior entrance of the hotel. The next step is a completely restoration of our last 5 none renovated rooms.
We would like to apologize again for not having met your expectations in the room. But not only, we thank you too and particularly proud of your praise about our breakfast restaurant, our Bar & Bistro and the friendliness of the staff.

We apologize again For the numerous inconveniences and would be delighted if you give us during your next stay in Hamburg a second chance.

Isak Beshai
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

When we arrived, we wanted to turn around as the building is looking everything but impressive. Reception is currently being re-done but even though, it is clean. When we got up to our room, we were well surprised. We had a very spacious room, very clean and so much more than expected. There is a bus stop literally just round the corner which runs very frequently and takes you into the centre in 20 mins. On our next trip to Hamburg we will defo stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toto_Tret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although the exterior of the building is nothing special, it actually really is worth staying. The price was very fair for this hotel. The room was spacious and the staff was helping and quite friendly. Also, the breakfast was the best part. The only drawback is its location if you want to be near the downtown. However, if you have a car so this is not a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Quick stop over for one night and found the hotel to be as good as it had been a few years earlier. The outside is looking a bit tired but inside there are definitely no problems. The room was very clean, well appointed, with a small kitchen with microwave, balcony, extremely good bathroom, comfortable bed. Internet connection was free which really helps when travelling and trying to keep in contact with business and family. It is a little out of the main centre however definitely worth the short taxi ride and fare.

Room Tip: The triple rooms are very spacious. I found the single room very adequate for just me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It is a little out of the way with plenty of parking. Located in an industrial area by a college community. No restaurants nearby. There is an Aldi a couple blocks away. Rooms are studio apartments with kitchen. Very comfortable. Great breakfast for eight euros, hot and cold. Would return on next visit to Hamburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NBLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we stay here only for 1 night during july.far from city center. near to bus station.we take a taxi to airport cost 24 euro. rooms are realy clean and well equipted. we recommended this hotel specially for those stay for mor days becouse this is a appart.hotel and all rooms have a smal kitchen. and a small washing machin room and a iron in the underground. have a nice stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank splint116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#227 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
928 reviews
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#52 of 321 in Hamburg
694 reviews
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte

Address: Borstelmannsweg 133, 20537 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual, informal, close to the city center! The Apartment Hotel is an certified '3-Star-Superior' bed and breakfast hotel with a total of 120 generously proportioned guest rooms. Living well need not to be expensive, as you will see from the value you get for your money, and the friendly, guest-oriented staff will make you feel welcome and at home, no matter whether you are spending just one night or an entire month at the hotel. 5 Complete floors, with a total of 100 rooms are reserved for non smokers. Other Services: Lobby bar, hotel shop, Internet terminal, free of charge WLAN access in hotel lobby and most hotel rooms, slot machine with confectionery and beverages, shoe-cleaning machine, washing machines and spin dryers, crockery, pots and pans etc. For kitchenettes on request and against extra charge. For guests who arrive by car, there is ample parking outside or in the secure underground car park. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Hamburg, close to the congress and exhibition centers, the Port of Hamburg and St. Pauli landing stages, the historic Warehouse City, the musical theaters and many other of the city's attractions. All of them are easy to reach by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Hotel Hamburg Hamm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing