We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in good location”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 for a short break. The hotel is well located on Alter Wall and is comfortable if a little characterless.

We had a luxury room which was pleasant enough without being outstanding, though the bathroom was very large. The room has a expresso maker but no tea making facilities. Being English, for whom tea is a staple, this was disappointing. The room service menu charges a ridiculous 6.50 Euros for a cup of tea!

As always customer service from the staff at Sofitel was very good with everyine eager to help.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear seagull74,

Thank you very much for having commented your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure it will serve as motivation to keep our high service standards.
For your information, all our suites are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities. However, you can always ask our Housekeeping department in order to provide you with a complimentary water kettle.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    726
    225
    73
    27
See reviews for
240
1,051
203
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Regularly stay here on business and have to say this is a great boutique hotel that is perfectly located for seeing Hamburg.

Rooms are very modern and funky, good food, gym and spa make for a relaxing and healthy stay.

Staff are very attentative and general feel of the place is relaxing.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear thecoffster,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It is nice to read that you like the modern art of the hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your whole stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
We hope, you find a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doylestown, pa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Beautiful contemporary hotel. Great rooms. Large bathrooms. Comfy beds. Amazing buffet breakfast. Relaxing spa. Close to the Golden Triangle with top notch shops. On the river. Excellent service including concierge staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river side. while not a great view (of high end shops) quieter than a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedoylestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear mikedoylestown,

Thank you very much indeed for taking some time to inform us about your opinion and your impressions of our hotel service.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I will share your comments with our team.
It is our goal, thanks to the high Sofitel standards, to make your stay always as comfortable as possible.

It is nice to read that the room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathrooms make your stay an unforgettable experience.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with the french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

We hope, you find a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Yours sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Modernist, minimalist hotel in central location. Smart, clean, great service, tech friendly (great free wifi throughout hotel).
But a little bit soul-less and food was expensive. I was here on a business trip for which the hotel was perfect.
Not the place for a romantic weekend away though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perrygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear perrygeoff,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.

Feedback is utmost important to us as it shows as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner for new year.
I have to say that it was seriously a bad experience and I will definitely not get back to this hotel.
Here are my positive/negative points:

Positive:
-We booked a luxury room and it looked ok if we think it's not the highest category
- The room is quiet and the bed comfortable. You can have a good rest there
- The location is quite central even if there are practically no restaurant in the area

Bad:
- The staff: unfriendly and cold. No willingness to help and not able to advise a good restaurant in the area. Probably since we are under 30 they might have thought that we were not the right client to focus on.
- We booked a room supposed to have a king size bed. In the end we got two twin beds put together which didn't meet our expectation at all.
- Room service breakfast: 64 euros for one of the worst breakfast we have ever had. Disgusting ham, box-orange juice and dry bread
- The SPA: small and with the most unfriendly staff ever

I have to say that we travelled during new year and that the hotel was really busy. Anyway this is not the way a Sofitel hotel should be.
Moreover the clients there were in our opinion more "snob" people rather than high class.
Well I hope you will have a better experience than us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chateaux_Margaux_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Chateaux_Margaux_85,

thank you very much indeed for taking the time to comment your recent stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Criticism and a hint how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and make you feel more comfortable. We are very grateful that you give us the reasons for your scoring so that we would have the chance to do things better.
Unfortunately there have been many things going wrong during your stay in our hotel, and once again our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.
I do hope that you will continue to choose the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and allow us another opportunity to repair any damage we may have done to our reputation.

Yours sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here on business in January and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The room was very comfortable and the hotel's spa was excellent. The service, however, was the hotel's best attribute and I thought the staff were very impressive; polite, helpful and professional. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear AndrewMDavies,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 317 in Hamburg
1,423 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,306 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing