We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Hamburg!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Hamburg!!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Hamburg is a beautiful city, and trust me, The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall is a great place to stay in. Of course, this having been my first visit to Hamburg and never having stayed at any other hotel in Hamburg, I will not try to compare the hotel to other hotels. Instead, I will just review the best parts of the hotel, which is almost everything.

To start of, the welcome when I reached the Hotel made me feel like someone special. The check-in was a breeze and the receptionist was very efficient. Felt nice to be asked how my journey was. Felt nice. There were bell-hops to help with your luggage, but since mine was a short vacation and I had only a small bag, I managed it myself. My room was exactly as I had requested. High floor with a great view of the canal. Traveling alone, I had booked a single room. The room was spacious, well lit with an extremely comfortable bed. After a week of working very hard, this vacation was mostly to be about resting and I got a couple of great nights sleep.

The breakfast in the hotel was excellent. So many choices and everything well prepared. I always try to have breakfast at my hotel since it is the most important meal of the day and I don't like to interrupt my sightseeing to during the day to find a good place to lunch. So, I truly appreciate the nice breakfast I had at the hotel. Dinner at the restaurant Ticino in the hotel was also a great experience. To begin with, there weren't much choices for me in the main courses as I don't eat most meats except chicken. But the waitress very kindly offered to make me a chicken dish with sides - the chicken breast with a side of roasted potatoes and rice was excellent. I must complement the chef and also thank the waitress.

The first day the Concierge was a bit busy, but I got enough help from the receptionist at the front desk on sightseeing options. She also showed me where to go to find bars which show football as I didn't want to miss the last day of the football season. The hotel is just a 5 min walk from the suburban train stop Stadthausbrucke and the metro stop Rodingsmarkt. So it is very easy to get from and the main sightseeing spots. Many spots are also within walking distance from the hotel and the City Sightseeing Roundtrip bus stops right in front of the hotel.

Finally, the checkout was a breeze. Everything was perfectly prepared and it took only a few moments to pay the extras (as I had per booked the room online). I stored my luggage as my train back was in the evening and finished my final day of sightseeing.

Hamburg is a beautiful city and I would definitely be visiting again. After staying at the Sofitel Hamburg, I don't think I will stay at another hotel when in Hamburg. Thank you, Sofitel for my making my stay great, I definitely recommend this hotel to all...

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor with a view of the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuiku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear chuiku2,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Dear chuiku2, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    716
    218
    72
    26
See reviews for
236
1,040
203
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The room was very spacious, bed very comfortable, pillows very soft, location was terrific, we walked every where, very central. The only down fall is that nothing opened on Sundays and public holidays. Try the local food extremely nice.

Room Tip: On the even side you have the river as a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthfunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Perthfunmum,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Dear Perthfunmum, once again thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to stay at and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The reason for being in Hamburg was the big Port fair. The port colours itself, food and shops fill the docks, flags are everywhere and every kind of boat meets there for the Parade. Careless of this big event the hotel was relaxing and quite, the rooms are big, clean, with nice design forniture free wifi internet and 32" tv. The most interesting places to see in Hamburg are near, just a few minutes away. The hotel is also on a canal and this offers a nice view from most of the rooms. Nothing negative it has been a very nice experience.

Room Tip: The ones facing the canal offer a special view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear erny74,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Dear erny71, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilleleje
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

You can just enjoy cool design, pleasant decor, top functionality and perfect service from very friendly staff. Far better than any hotel we have stayed in.
Rooms and suites are just much better designed and arranged - offering you premium comfort. Nothings missing and everythings working perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BNAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear BNAndersen

thank you very much again that you took the time to comment your stay.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
It is nice to read that the modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom makes your stay an unforgettable experience.

We are glad you have found a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Was with my family for a vacation. The property is great, lovely view and central. proximity to the station, shopping area etc. However, the people manning the property are extremely warm and hospitable. It was home away from home. They took pains in guiding us to the various places to see and finding schedule and doing reservations for us.

Thank you very much to the staff for making it such an lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pawan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Pbhandari,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.

We are glad you have found a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I had a circumstance that made me a bit of a high maintenance customer and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Also, the bed is so comfortable - the best sleep I've ever had at a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mad_sash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear mad_sash,

Thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and as well for taking the time to write your feedback.
It is nice to read that the room with the soothing MyBed concept makes your stay an unforgettable experience. Kindly be informed that you can purchase our special “My Bed” concept to enjoy the same comfortable sleep and Sofitel experience at home. Please do not hesitate to contact our Quality Manager ( Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395-QM@sofitel.com) for more information.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments and pass them over to my team.

Dear mad_sash, once again thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to stay at and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel has a very good location, less than 1 km from the old city center. I was here for four days on business, the staff was very pleasant and polite. I asked for a riverside view room and I got it. The rooms are modern and clean, the breakfast is varied. The hotel has free Wi-Fi all over, but you can choose for a cable internet connection in the room. Check-in and check-out were short and simple. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room at a higher floor to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Eric Andrei B,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Thanks to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as we are committed ourselves to make you feel at home when staying at our hotel.

Dear Eric Andrei B, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing