We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Nikolai Hotel(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Seemannsheim(Hamburg)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,682)
    Filter reviews
    2,683 results
    Traveller rating
    1,469
    818
    269
    89
    38
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,469
    818
    269
    89
    38
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsluxury roomcanal viewmodern hotelperfect locationcity hallneuer wallnespresso machinefive star hotelan upgradejunior suiteexcellent hotelgreat roomcomfortable bedsspa areashopping districtbusiness trippublic transport
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    601 - 606 of 2,683 reviews
    Reviewed 8 October 2013

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
    Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
    Reviewed 2 October 2013

    The hotel is walking distance from shopping area, harbor, convention center, the famous city hall, Alster lakes, and surrounded by all types of public transportation; bus, inter-district fast train, underground, and even the main train station to other cities in Germany and Europe. The hotel is up to five-star hotels with clean convenient rooms, good welcoming personnel, good breakfast though with limited varieties, and good wi-Fi service even in the room.

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ayman399
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

    Dear Ayman399,

    thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
    Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
    I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
    Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
    In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

    Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
    Sincerely,
    Gilles Felgen
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2013

    Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!Attention: Construction work will wake you up early!


    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank abba972
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

    Dear abba972,

    thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
    We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
    We are really sorry that you were bothered by the construction works opposite the hotel. We do, as you and all our guests, hope that these works will be finished as soon as possible.

    Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

    Sincerely,
    Gilles Felgen
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 September 2013

    Two-night weekend stay with partner. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel, but a large number of smaller irritations, all down to staffing and training issues, rather soured the experience. The service standard was barely adequate for an Ibis, certainly not for a €250 per night Sofitel. I expect very high service standards for that money. I stay at Accor, including Sofitel, regularly.

    On arrival, the receptionist was easily distracted and had better things to do. Despite arriving together we were only offered one key card for the room and had to ask for another. The receptionist managed to forget to return my loyalty card. These things happen.

    The hotel has several restaurants but only one open on Friday night - the "Ticino". There were only three tables occupied when we arrived. We were shown to a fourth table, right next to the other occupied tables. Nice and easy for the staff, would have been better for the customers to have a little more privacy in an otherwise deserted restaurant. Some weird music track, presumably a Sofitel advertising jingle was playing on a constant loop in the background. After half an hour we asked them to turn it off. They switched to a different track, which also played on a constant loop.

    The breakfast is a buffet - a bit better than your typical Accor but absolutely not up to Sofitel standards. I expect a fresh breakfast, a la carte, made to order at Sofitel. The rest of them manage it. That's what you pay for, not Mercure ham and cheese. We could order sundries, like eggs. I ordered poached eggs. And reminded when they didn't come. When they came they were undercooked, broken, and sitting in a lake of water. The wait staff cleared dirty plates from a nearby table, then to save themselves a trip brought those plates to our table to clear a few things, while we were still eating. This is completely unacceptable.

    On return from breakfast the cleaners had just started on our room. We said we didn't need it doing as we were only staying the one extra night. No, it must be done. So we waited in the corridor for 10 minutes. They didn't manage to replace the mineral water but at least they managed to "clean up" a few spilled coins.

    You can't print boarding cards from their single internet terminal (to serve how many hundred rooms?) Don't even try because the reception staff will argue back when you ask them to help, and ask why you haven't brought your own laptop (weekend, duh, this is leisure not business).

    There is huge room for improvement here. Adequately trained and adequate numbers of staff would be a start.

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Matt J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

    Dear Matt J,

    thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincere apologies.
    It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one.

    Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experience with our Front Office, Housekeeping and Restaurant Team which will help us to improve.
    We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

    Sincerely,
    Gilles Felgen
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2013

    Very conveniently located within minutes of U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations (2stops from Hbf). Very near the the Neuer Wall shopping street full of upmarket brands shopping and the Rathus / Jungfernsteig area with a beautiful lake.

    Hotel is modern looking rooms are rather small for a single but is comfortable and cozy. myBed feature of all Sofitels is of course a big plus for a comfy sleep. Restaurant food was quit ok but nothing to shout about. The bar was quite nice though. Big minus point is, when you need to walk to your rooms, you need to walk down a small flight of steps, quite silly considering if you had suitcase to lug to your room? A slope would have been more friendly.

    Oh, to sidetrack, do dine at the Fairmont hotel (10minutes walk to Jungfernsteig area), the food is really good. The restaurant and the Chinese restaurant next door is really good top restaurants in Hamburg too!

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Clumsygorilla
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

    Dear KevinANDShan,

    thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
    It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
    We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
    We are really sorry that the Single room did not meet your expectations. If you require more space, you may book the classic double room which features 9sqm additional space
    Dear KevinANDShan, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

    Sincerely,
    Gilles Felgen
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews