We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #32 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The room is very clen and confortable. All the employees very friendly and ready to help.
The location is great, near the Rathaus - right in the center!
Everything was perfect! Definitely it's a place I recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zé Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Zé Paulo M,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.
Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Still the best business hotel in Hamburg, quite simply. Great and attentive service, central location close to the city square, lakes and business areas. Comfortable, modern look and feel. Get a room facing the canal.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear sundboell,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Dear sundboell, once again thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to stay at and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Guenter J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a twin bed room using booking.com. When we arrived they told us that this hotel only have one bed rooms. They offer a roll bed. The size of the room is medium, but the bathroom is excelent. Also the bar & the restaurant are nice. All you could expect from a sofitel, and more!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank gustavoarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear gustavoarg,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I am a little bit surprised regarding your comment that you have booked a twin bed on booking.com. Normally there is no offer for a twin bed so that we will double-check. So we would like to thank you very much for this important information.
In future it would be a pleasure for our reservation department to advise you while your next booking so that your next stay will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent a couple of nights here recently whilst on a short visit to Hamburg. The location is great, right in the centre of Hamburg complete with underground carparking. The impressive townhall (Rathaus) and the main shopping area are just a short walk away. Added to that, one of the tourist hop on/hop off buses stops in front of the hotel.

The welcome we received was very professional and in general that was our impression of all the staff. Our room was large and comfortable with the most amazing bed and pillows, it would be hard not to sleep very well in these wonderfully comfortable beds.

The only downside is the breakfast which is way over priced, you can choose from an Express Breakfast for €14, a Continental Breakfast for €24 or the Brekafast Buffet for €29. The main difference between the Continental and the Express breakfasts seemed to be the addition of a selection of cold meats. If you selected the Express Breakast, you had to stay at the table and be waited on which felt more than a little uncomfortable. Following that odd experience the following morning we chose for Starbucks, coffee and something to eat for two people for less than €10 and its just across the street on the corner.

Breakfast experience aside, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear amwathome,

thank you very much for having commented your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

I will share your feedback with our team and I am sure it will serve as motivation to keep our high service standards.

That is correct that we offer different choices of breakfast. Please be kindly informed that we have also established a coffeeshop for you, where there is a smaller selection of everything you need for a great start in the morning.
In addition I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I visited this very stylish hotel two years ago and, when making the booking, I had a nagging doubt, thinking that there was something memorable about this hotel. I just couldn't remember if it was good or bad. It was the beds! Amazing, just like sinking into a Marshmallow and then the pillows wrap around you head to feel like someone's holding you. The Room Service was very good but I would say that the choice was a bit limited. What I did very much like was the room layout with the sofa and footrest with a small table in front of the widescreen TV. Ideal for having the Room Service dinner on, which by the way, was very good quality.
There is quite a large building project going on nearby and the hotel do alert you to the fact that the street facing rooms might be noisy. However, I was in an end room on the canal side and it was very, very quiet.
I will definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Alan T,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and as well for taking the time to write your feedback.
It is nice to read that the room with the soothing MyBed concept makes your stay an unforgettable experience. Kindly be informed that you can purchase our special “My Bed” concept to enjoy the same comfortable sleep and Sofitel experience at home. Please do not hesitate to contact our Quality Manager ( Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395-QM@sofitel.com) for more information.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments and pass them over to my team.

Dear Alan T, once again thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to stay at and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a very smart, modern hotel in great central Hamburg location. Received a polite if not over-friendly welcome and not sure if Accor Platinum card made much difference to the booking. Room was light, airy and not over-spacious but suited needs perfectly. The bed/pillows provided some of the most comfortable sleep I've enjoyed in a hotel. Breakfast buffet offered substantial range of interesting food. Impressive hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peelthestain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear peelthestain,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 322 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 322 in Hamburg
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 322 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#37 of 322 in Hamburg
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £120 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing