We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #27 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    705
    216
    69
    25
See reviews for
234
1,025
201
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a top notch hotel. Luxurious. Never expected it to be so good. It was just excellent. Amazing staff, helpful, good food, beautiful rooms, clean, full with technology. If you wish to have a luxurious stay then this is the place to be. Just on the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinuu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear chinu99459,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is so well located in Hamburg city. Close to the Aster Lake, Aster River, Neuer Wall, which houses great shopping avenues, and not far from the pub district and nice eating places, the location gives it a thumbs up.

The experience at breakfast was a bit weird - unlike any other Sofitel anywhere in the world, the staff spends time getting every guest to sign a voucher while entering the coffee shop and chasing guests who have managed to get in while the staff is busy with other guests to confirm their breakfast status. Surely, this process could be more efficient - they could just get everyone to sign off at breakfast and then post the charge in the accounts of those whose breakfast is not covered.

Right next to the river, the hotel also has a great view, fantastic reception staff, and secure and comfortable rooms. The bath is a tad small but typically European.

The floors are one number away and that can affect a busy traveller's ability to recollect his room number (which adds to the confusion at the coffee shop breakfast!) - for example, rooms on the fifth floor start with "6"!

Room Tip: Do not pay more for a room with a view of the river because the size of the table next to the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadwarriorS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear RoadwarriorS25,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Moreover we would like to thank you for your comment regarding breakfast. We discussed the issues with the Food & Beverage Manager in order to insist on our procedure.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

A good mix of luxury and class in a modern way. The rooms are comfortable, the bathroom has a separate shower, breakfast is excellent, staff is friendly, location is good. I was here for business, and the room did stand out from all the normal business hotel rooms. The only odd thing is the numbering of the floors: rooms starting with a 2 are on the 1st floor, and the elevator stops at floor 1.5 ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear A C,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay in Sofitel Hamburg. Overall very good and excellent. Nice large rooms, with lots of finesses. We where in a Luxury room on the top. I couldn't make out the difference while making the reservations. It seemed all the rooms had similar sq-ft, and accommodations. But I liked it there. nice view up there. Bathing facilities not so 5 star. Same as Scandic on a 3 star basis.

The Bar is very very good. All is fresh made. fantastic service.

Parking is right under. Very bad. No room for the cars, and the prices are crazy.

We had a very nice and romantic stay there. I will go again, but try another parking spot next time. It was 80 Euro for the stay.

Breakfast is not included, which it should have been at that rate.

Oh did I mention the Spa. It its stunning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlemCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear OlemCopenhagen,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
I am sorry to read that you couldn´t make the difference in our room categories during the reservation.
Regarding our room categories i would like to tell you that we offer 7 different room types. First of all the main difference is to find in the sqm. Moreover all rooms from luxury category upwards are equipped with a Nespresso coffee mashine.
Therefore it would be a pleasure for our reservation department to advise you on your next booking.
Kindly be informed that the amenities from Lanvin in our bathrooms were a decision of the company. I am sorry that the amenities did not meet your expectations.
Based on your comment concerning parking kindly be informed that the daily rate of the parking garage is € 26,00. According to that you have to pay € 52,00 for a two night stay in the parking garage Alter Wall.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Luxury Room, King size bed, sofa. Not for the first time in Hamburg city. We chose SOFITEL as expected to have a great experience staying there. We had a great pleasure staying at Sofitel hotels in Rome and London.But we were really disappointed with what we saw in Hamburg. Completely different hotel atmosphere. Felt cold and empty. Didn't get the lobby interior design. First of all Sofitel in Hamburg didn't have doorman!!! Then the concierge was always absent when he was needed. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly. But it felt nothing special at all as you expect from luxury hotels (at least that what they call themselves).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Elena_Cukrus,

thank you very much for taking some time to inform us about your opinion and your impressions of our hotel.
We assure you that it is our highest ambition to have satisfied guests who are looking forward to return to our hotel. Therefore it is much to our regret that your stay in our hotel did not perfectly match with your plan and expectations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies.
Regarding the design of our hotel kindly be informed that each Sofitel is a design hotel. Therefore each Sofitel looks different. It depends on the architecture as well of the city and due to the building of each Sofitel. So I am sorry to ready that the design of the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall was not to your satisfaction.
Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experience with our Front Office, especially with the Doorman and as well with the Concierge, which will help us to improve.
Thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing