We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location - highly recommend”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Sofitel Hamburg enjoys a fantastic central location easily accessible by train or taxi. Although it is a modern hotel it has been very thoughtfully designed. We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor and although the views were not great it was a super sized bedroom with every comfort. The housekeeping staff should could get a special mention as the rooms are kept spotlessly clean.

Would deifintely stay here again. Popular hotel bar with late night drinking was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Susie R,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Dear Susie R, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    705
    216
    67
    24
See reviews for
233
1,023
200
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I was invited to a meeting in Hamburg and stayed at the hotel for one night. The hotel is well located and is very modern. It is well located and we were able to walk from the train station. I had a single room that was well equipped with a good bed. It was also very quiet. There is a nice terrace for a drink late at night. Breakfast was good with a very good selection and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear paul1953uk,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a very nice stay, in a cosy room .
The hotel is perfect for excursions out into beautiful Hamburg, situated 2 min. from Rödingsmarkt U-Bahn in the center of Hamburg.
Nice helpfull staff, and the morning buffet has surely put a couple of kilos on the sidebones.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soerensen-Sarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Soerensen-Sarup,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very close to the city hall square and to the s1 metro line. If you do not have the breakfast included in your package, watch out! Although very complete and high quality it costs 28 EUR per person.
Bed very comfortable and rooms are silent, no noise of cars.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davide T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Davide T,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is nice to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast. Furthermore you have the opportunity to use our outlet “Le Café”, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay.

Dear Davide T, once again thank you very much for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A very nice place. The staff is incredible and kind in every moment. The room was perfect, as we expect from an hotel of such category. Highly recommended. I'm sure I will repeat the next time you return to Hamburg.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavieralv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Xavieralv,

Thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Dear Xavieralv, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Sofitel Hamburg hotel is situated in the heart of Hamburg, just a block from Rathausmarkt and Mönckebergstrasse. The canal linking the Alster lakes with the river is just behind the hotel, offering a quite nice view.

The front desk staff is professional and responds quickly almost every time to guests in need of help. At one occurrence we talked to a man at the front desk during the evening to inform him of the weird dinner experience we had at the restaurant (more on that below). He did not act professional and almost yelled: "What is the problem?" while backing of the counter of the front desk. But on all other occurrences we felt the staff behaving really professional.

We tried dinner one night, but instead of dining in the restaurant itself we took place at the little veranda at the canal. That was a really nice environment to have dinner in. The staff was really friendly but the service was quite weird. Food arrived every now and then, but something was always missing. We ordered soup but got no spoon. We ordered apfelstrudel and tea and when the tea arrived the waiter placed it on the table and said: "There you go, apfelstrudel". 5 minutes later the apfelstrudel arrived. We could only lough about this experience and since the waiters were so friendly, we accepted the quite weird service.

We also tried breakfast one morning. We thought it was quite expensive since it was not included in our room rate, but it had all things that you would expect at a German breakfast service.

The concierge service at this hotel is amazing! They effectively helps people with their questions, remembers who is who, asks if the food at the recommended restaurant was good. At one time the male concierge even followed us to the room to take a look at a small problem we reported with the shower and had already a backup plan and asked if we wanted to change room.

The room itself was not that big, but had a nice layout. Large bed, sofa, table and desk, TV, coffee machine and a large bathroom with both shower and bathtub. Everything clean and tidy. It is no problem to make a call and get extra towels or toilet paper, it is fixed instantaneously. If not hanging the do not disturb sign the housekeeping staff can be a bit eager to get in to clean the room during the morning.

The hotel also has a spa and pool area that all guests can enter free of charge. It was not clear to us what time it closed as the front desk staff said eight in the evening and then information posters said 10 in the evening. This could have been more clear. The spa is staffed and you get a robe and towels. A really cool pool is the main attraction, but there is also room for sauna and steam baths among other things. It is also possible to order (quite expensive) treatments such as massage.

The overall impression of this hotel is really good! Some minor incidents during our three days stay, but nothing to worry about. The overall service level is high and so it should be at a luxury hotel as this. One thing we will remember from this hotel is the concierge service which was outstanding compared to other hotels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room view a view of the canal, the street view is quite boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mippzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour mippzon,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It is nice to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast. Furthermore you have the opportunity to use our new outlet “Le Café”, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay.

Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your dinner experience which will help us to improve.
Furthermore we will discuss the comment regarding the opening hours of our Seagull Spa with our Front of House Manager to inform guests more efficiently in the future. Thank you very much for this important comment.

Dear mippzon, once again thank you very much for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
2,173 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
719 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,274 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing