We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel In Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel In Hamburg”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I spent 24 hours at this Sofitel property in April 2009 as I waited for a cruise ship departure from the nearby Hamburg Cruise Center. It compares very well to any large hotel chain both in appointments of the rooms and first rate service by its English speaking staff. The large bed, actually two twins blended together, with separate duvets was very comfortable. The bathroom was very large for the price of the room (US$225) with both a large shower and a bathtub. Wifi was pricey by US standards (Ten Euros for five hours).; the business center area in the room was convenient with multiple outlets and a video screen that could be connected to the travelers laptop for review of presenations. Breakfast was 26 Euros but the spread was huge! Dinner came to 50 Euros. Judging by many of the guests who came and went, shopping nearby must be excellent. I spent several hours at the bar area along the canal over which the area sits. Great views and a pleasant time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    725
    223
    73
    27
See reviews for
239
1,049
203
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed at this hotel in late October 2008. Upon arriving at the hotel we were treated extremelly well by al the staff, who were very polite and friendly. Check in was fast and efficent.

The bedroom was huge, as to was the bathroom. In fact it was the biggest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel and it had a separate shower cubicle instead of an over the bath type. Everything was extremelly clean throughout the hotel and you can not fault the cleanliness of the place. All amenities you would expect in your room are there, from tea/coffee facilities, safe, ironing board, shoe shine kits, shampoo, body wash etc etc.

The bar was a great place to relax after a hectic day of sight seeing and shopping and it was very nice to be waited on hand and foot.

The hotel is in a prime location, close enough to shops and resturants to walk to but very very quiet on a night.

A great hotel that will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at this fantastic hotel on New Years Day. From the minute we walked in I knew it was going to be great! The hotel excudes style and luxury, you feel cocooned from the outside world! Staff amazing especially as we'd brought our very spoilt dog with us! No problem with that unlike in many UK places! We'd been in our room less than 5 minutes when there was a knock on the door. There was a bellboy holding the most beautifully polished chrome dog dish you could imagine, for the dog's water!!

But the dog aside the room was great., quiet overlooking the canals, amazing bed, comfy sofa, bose sound system amazing bathroom, need I go on?

Breakfast was amazing,try it!! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank businessclassbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Buy the Hamburg welcome card and get a group card if it is for two or more people this can be used all over the city and the U bahn and S bahn well worth it the services are clean and frequent.

The hotel is in a great location just next the the town hall. it was spotlessly clean the rooms are of a good size and the bathroom was amazing with a huge bath and a walk in shower, the beds were comfortable although I still cant see how two single beds pushed together is a kingsize bed.

We never ate in the hotel but we did use the bar 4 vodka and cokes came to 60 euros which is disgusting seens how a two course meal with drinks for two was working out at 40 euros outside the hotel.

Staff very rarely spoke to you and only one in a 4 night stay did I get a good evening when returning to the hotel.

Someone needs to work on customer service here.

The Spa was lovely and the staff there were lovely.

I would stay here again although I think I will try the Moevenpick next time

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — king size beds
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Having been a Starwoods hotel fan I am slowly coming round to think that the Sofitel is a fantastic chain of hotels for the business, and probably non business, traveller.

This hotel had it all. A wonderfully large room with an inviting bed, prompt room service, a large bathroom with a walk in shower that was the size of a Parisian hotel room!

Service was extremely polite and I left in the morning feeling refreshed.....a sign of a great hotel.

I know that the hotel had a Spa but I didn't use it.

Thoroughly recommend this one..

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesuisunfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed at the Sofitel Hamburg for three nights as part of a weekend get away. The hotel is very centrally located right behind the town hall but in its own way very secluded. The deluxe rooms all look out to the canal at the back of the building so the only noise you may encounter is that of passing tourist boats cruising Hamburg’s canals. Check in was very swift and effortless and the rooms were some of the best I have seen in any Sofitel around the world (except suites). Quirky modern design yet very functional. The only draw back was the 80s style TV which was somewhat out of place. The rooms did not seem to feature the Sofitel myBed but were still comfortable. The bathrooms were very luxurious and comfortable.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as this was outrageously expensive and Germany tends to offer great breakfast choices in any neighbourhood. The hotel bar is funky and has a great outdoor seating area suitable for smokers. Service was a bit erratic in the bar. Most annoying: “Sir could you please pay now as I am finishing my shift” when all they needed to do was to pass the bill on to their colleague taking over. Slightly less annoying some US airline crew ranting about Europe without knowing a thing about it. But I digress… Internet access and mini bar are both extremely expensive.

Check out was easy and swift, the only negative here was that as we had another reservation for the Sofitel in Berlin 2 weeks later one of us wanted to change his room to a suite in Berlin. The staff in Hamburg promised that they would take care of this but alas when arriving in Berlin none of this was done. Their loss.

Overall the Sofitel in Hamburg is a great property and well worth a stay. I will definitely be back.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — slightly inconsistent service (bar and reception)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starflyergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We stayed the last three days in this hotel and I was a little disappointed by the experience. Very stylish and cool from lobby to bar and rooms. The booked room was a superior suite 60m² with street view. With all the style and coolness we missed some simple things like hooks on the walls to hang some clothes or towels, the shower is in a small room with one toilet and no barrier in between, not even for the water from the shower (there is another toilet in another room) the bath tub stands just before this shower room.
The carpet was very stained, the washbasin had some scratches, one of the two TVs stood in a box which might have been a cupboard once but is missing the front door now( one can still see the hinges and wholes) the other TV is equipped for DVD use and there is even a space below left empty, but there are only some cables lying around. The room is intentionally coloured in grey except for one picture and two blurry photos.
We ordered some ice from room service which came after 20(first night) to 15(second) minutes.
The hotel has a quite nice sauna area with steam room and stylish pool, even some waste bin sized crush ice basin but no cold water pool for use after the sauna, few and outdated
fitness units and some changing rooms that are cut for only one person at a time (really!)
Service at the bar is rather slow, prices hefty they have four kinds of mojito on the menu but not the original one (strange).
Car park (24 €). For breakfast we went into the city as the breakfast room looked uncomfortable.
For over 400€ a night I had expected a lot more from this hotel.
There was no questionnaire regarding satisfaction with the service in the room and on check out (or any other given time) none of the staff asked how we liked our stay.
We will not come again but rather stay in the park hyatt.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — coldness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,419 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,296 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing