We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #35 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Great location.
Great interior.
Very nice rooms.
Perfect spa.
In total one of my favourite hotels in the world.
If you can affordit - go for it!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

The only thing i can write here is that everything was perfect, from the welcoming, to the service, the food, the spa, all in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Stayed one night at the Sofitel Alter Wall.

Fantastic experience. The staff is helpful, the rooms where big, fantastic view over the canals, the bed is a chapther for its self. So soft, the pillow and duvet the same, had the best sleep of my life.

The breakfast buffet is a chapther for it self to, a LARGE selection of everything, breads, cerials, meet, hot/cold etc etc. All the money worth, a bit pricy, but worth it!

The pool in the basement is really nice to, there are sunbeds where you can relax, listen to music and have fresh made juice.

The hotel is located close to the center and the shopping street. I can recommend the Europa Passage, and the Mönckeberg Strasse, and Jungfern. Really nice places with all the shops you need.

A good advise: Book your stay some weeks before, i saved 400$ on that, just for 1 night!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Trendy 5 star hotel within walking distance of the main part of the City. Has a fabulous spa and pool area. Good value for money. I will definately return. Great place for a couple or friends wanting a nice weekend away in a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I spent 24 hours at this Sofitel property in April 2009 as I waited for a cruise ship departure from the nearby Hamburg Cruise Center. It compares very well to any large hotel chain both in appointments of the rooms and first rate service by its English speaking staff. The large bed, actually two twins blended together, with separate duvets was very comfortable. The bathroom was very large for the price of the room (US$225) with both a large shower and a bathtub. Wifi was pricey by US standards (Ten Euros for five hours).; the business center area in the room was convenient with multiple outlets and a video screen that could be connected to the travelers laptop for review of presenations. Breakfast was 26 Euros but the spread was huge! Dinner came to 50 Euros. Judging by many of the guests who came and went, shopping nearby must be excellent. I spent several hours at the bar area along the canal over which the area sits. Great views and a pleasant time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed at this hotel in late October 2008. Upon arriving at the hotel we were treated extremelly well by al the staff, who were very polite and friendly. Check in was fast and efficent.

The bedroom was huge, as to was the bathroom. In fact it was the biggest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel and it had a separate shower cubicle instead of an over the bath type. Everything was extremelly clean throughout the hotel and you can not fault the cleanliness of the place. All amenities you would expect in your room are there, from tea/coffee facilities, safe, ironing board, shoe shine kits, shampoo, body wash etc etc.

The bar was a great place to relax after a hectic day of sight seeing and shopping and it was very nice to be waited on hand and foot.

The hotel is in a prime location, close enough to shops and resturants to walk to but very very quiet on a night.

A great hotel that will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at this fantastic hotel on New Years Day. From the minute we walked in I knew it was going to be great! The hotel excudes style and luxury, you feel cocooned from the outside world! Staff amazing especially as we'd brought our very spoilt dog with us! No problem with that unlike in many UK places! We'd been in our room less than 5 minutes when there was a knock on the door. There was a bellboy holding the most beautifully polished chrome dog dish you could imagine, for the dog's water!!

But the dog aside the room was great., quiet overlooking the canals, amazing bed, comfy sofa, bose sound system amazing bathroom, need I go on?

Breakfast was amazing,try it!! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank businessclassbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,532 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,079 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#47 of 321 in Hamburg
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £110 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing