We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the riff-raff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, Kent.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Away from the riff-raff”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed two nights midweek. Near to U & S-Bahn, Rathaus and lakes. Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating. Pleasant common areas and nice views from the lifts. Room on eight floor with canal views was excellent; very spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Lovely bathroom. But like all most hotels these days, they have done away with the in-room coffee/tea facilities - always a disappointment to me. Nor was there free coffee in the lobby (unlike one of its neighbouring hotels!). Outrageously expensive bar and restaurant, but luckily there are plenty cafes, bars and eateries within walking distance. A very convenient and safe city centre hotel away from the riff-raff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADifferentStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    731
    230
    73
    28
See reviews for
246
1,060
206
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We liked this hotel very much. The location is very convenient being a minute from the U Bahn and a very short walk from the Rathaus and other central attractions. The decor is beautiful (grey and white and very restful). Our room was comfortable with everything one would need. The bathroom was fine. Bed extremely comfortable. The service was outstanding. Fast and efficient. Breakfast was large and delicious. However, the price for breakfast was 26 Euros. This may not be unusual (which was what they said when I queried it) but it is extortionate. We had paid extra for a room with a view of the canal. Sadly, there was building work going on across the way, so our view was of a large crane complete with loud building noise from 7.15 a.m. There is, of course, nothing that the hotel can do to stop the building. But were they justified in charging us extra, given the conditions? Nevertheless, overall it was very good and we would certainly go back. By the way, check your bill when you leave. They had taken all the money for the accommodation weeks before when we booked and then charged us again on the bill. Fortunately, we remembered and queried it. They apologised and corrected, but it really should not have happened.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idstein, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Excellent Five Star Hotel with superb staff.
Wellness area is also very recommendable.
Really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Sofitel Alter Wall is a modern hotel, the design of the rooms is the way I like it (modern and clean cut). We had a room on one of the highest floors (on the Alster-Kanal-side) with a great view. The breafast buffet was fantastic, with an enormous variety of choices. The spa is relatively small but very cosy and has also a cool design.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My husband and I visited this hotel for 3 nights in the end of march. We had a deal that said stay 3 night and pay only for 2, in a luxary room. Our room was spacy and clean and the bed was very nice. But, there was one thing annoying us. The internet was not free and if you used the cable in the room you were charged more for an hour than you pay for a month in Denmark ! We bought 5 hours wireless internet access for 10EUR, but in ALL other hotels we have stayed in, both cheap and expensive hotels, the internet access has been free to use. The minibar in the room is also very overprised. 4,20EUR for a 0,2l coca cola. At restaurants in Hamburg we gave 2,5EUR for the same size.

We ate the breakfast every day, and it is also very overprised in my opinion (26EUR), both it worth the money ! There are a lot to choose from, different kind og bread (wholegrain eg), many different juices and smoothies and you can order pancakes, waffles and so on from the kitchen. The breakfast room was lovely to be in and the service was good.

The location of the hotel is very good. We arrived with train at the central station, and it took us about 15minutes to walk to the hotel. Just beside the hotel there is and U-bahn station, but we could walk to almost everything we wanted to visit. It is close to the main shopping area, Europa passage (shopping mall) and a lot of cafés, retaurants and so on.

So all in all a fantastic hotel, but the fact that you have to pay for using the internet access, was very dissapointing when the hotel itself is very expensive and we use the internet at lot when travelling to find informations e.g. The rooms are quiet some rooms facing the canal and some rooms facing the road, but not a very busy road.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Title says it all.. Buuut They want me to put some more characters in here soo.. IT WAS GREAT!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulix89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed here intiially for business and then stayed on the week-end for pleasure. Easy to reach from airport on direct S-bahn line and then just a couple of minutes walk. Also right next to an U bahn station which is only 5 mins from the port. Also only 10 mins walk from main shopping areas. I had lovely room (though paid for the upgrade), great bathroom and toiletries. Pool area is stunning and I had a great massage. Will definitely stay again when I return to Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#26 of 319 in Hamburg
1,439 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,343 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing