We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and the best breakfast EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location and the best breakfast EVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is very well located, very close to all major atractions, 5m walk from the city hall and Alster river. the rooms are large, clean and modern with LCD tv, italian straight lines, big bathrooms (with both bathtub and shower) but the matresses are too soft for the back (only negative point). The breafast was the biggest and better I've ever had (and I travel a lot)... a lot of everything, a fantastic staff and 5 stars quality. from cheeses, eggs, fruits, fresh juices of every fruit, yogurts with fruit cream, cereals... well... can't describe it. There's an Hop-On Hop-Off bus stop right in front of the Hotel. The staff is friendly and all was good. Only wish it had free wireless but it's not that expensive. It has a computer with free internet but the queue is large. so, it's better to pay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    706
    216
    69
    25
See reviews for
234
1,027
201
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Former Post office building refitted in the 90's -and it looks very 90's like-
Poor i.e. no recognition of Sofitel Elite status, don't expect an upgrade unless you ask for it
Nice pool in the spa. (Young) staff does its best to makes you feeling at home. Breakfast and quality roomservice food is above average. I returned several time to the Sofitel HH to secure my elite status but there are more exciting places and sometimes cheaper places to stay in town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This place is ideally situated for a city break in Hamburg. 5 minutes walk in any direction takes you to the main tourist areas. Despite its location its surprisingly tranquil and a view of the canal certainly helps the ambiance. The rooms are decorated in a modern style which certainly works to give an overall contemporary feel to the whole place from the reception onwards. The TV selection was the most comprehensive of any hotel visited in europe with Uk channels from BBC 1-4, ITV 1-3 as well as BBC and Sky News. No free internet but Starbucks is just a short walk over the road if you need this. Intend returning to Hamburg to spend a bit more time there and will certainly try to book the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed for 2 days in midsummer - ie. few business travellers and more touristoccupation of hotel. Excellent rooms in very good condition, ie. quality beds, TV, and bathroom facilities. Based in citycenter and has own parking cellar (though expensive!) Staff friendly and professional. All in all lives up to better-than-midrange rating. Only thing to be improved/expected would be free wireless internet, still only cabled from the rooms - and charged separately.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbo, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I was a bit disappointed after staying at the Park Hyatt a couple of nights before. This hotel includes Nordic design, ironically positioned opposite the Bo Concept store on the other side of the channel. I had a breakfast, the service worked well and everything was fresh. The room was working well, with a big tv opposite the bed. Maybe I slept bad, but I woke up with an ache in my neck.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stayed at the Sofitel Hamburg for one night in early June 2010. It is a very attractive hotel and well designed and located.

But I stayed in room 3201 and had a very uncomfortable mattress. I think the mattress was just a little old, soft and lumpy. A comfortable bed is the most basic requirement of a hotel and mine gave me a bit of a backache when I woke up in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mb1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed two nights midweek. Near to U & S-Bahn, Rathaus and lakes. Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating. Pleasant common areas and nice views from the lifts. Room on eight floor with canal views was excellent; very spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Lovely bathroom. But like all most hotels these days, they have done away with the in-room coffee/tea facilities - always a disappointment to me. Nor was there free coffee in the lobby (unlike one of its neighbouring hotels!). Outrageously expensive bar and restaurant, but luckily there are plenty cafes, bars and eateries within walking distance. A very convenient and safe city centre hotel away from the riff-raff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADifferentStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing