We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & sheek with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My wife and I spent the night in Luxury room. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready (although we had arrived about 2 hours before check-in time), however it was a breeze to drop our car off to the valet and leave our bags with the concierge and take care of the paper-work. After a coffee and walking around the Binnen Alster and Rathaus we returned to the Hotel to get into our room. Our bags were promptly brought up to our room (within 5 min) and the bell boy was extremely friendly and made sure that we felt welcome.

The Luxury room is amazing! Beautifully modern in design and every bit of luxury that the name leads on to be. We had a top floor (8th) room with a view over the city and over the adjoining canal. Although having read reviews (and packed bathers) about the excellent swimming pool, our large bathtub was just that little bit too inviting, so we opted out of going to the Wellness Spa. It's perfectly size for a couple with the tap in the middle so that both of us could sit back and relax. The room itself is very spacious and well fitted. The couch was comfortable and there was ample space to spread out and relax. Something that we really liked was the red spotlight over the bed. It was just on the good side of cheeky for a little romantic fun and made our stay just that little bit extra special.

Great selection of newspapers and TV channels (best I've ever seen) to cater for those from all language backgrounds. The foyer, lift foyers, lifts are very cooly appointed. After seeing the Lion King that night, we woke and had a relaxing breakfast in the hotel. Although a little pricey it is definitely worth the money- great selection of cold and warm foods.

Other reviewers have mentioned the window into the bathroom. In the Luxury room, it's done in such a way that one would have to squeeze up against the glass to really peep around. Otherwise, even sitting on the couch one could only see the shower (again, great for couples, not so much if it's a relative!), but definitely could not see the toilet nor the bath tub. Same goes for when you're inside the bathroom. I should also mention that the shower is also amply sized (great for two!) and with a great rain-effect shower-head.

Upon leaving and getting our car, we noticed as we were driving back home to Berlin that there was a bottle of evian in the cup holder with a little sign that said Bon Voyage. Yes, the parking does cost €24 - if one wanted to save money, you can park at the Europa Passage for €10 for 24h and walk to the hotel, but in my opinion it's worth the convenience. Either way it's a very nice touch and rounded out a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shylock101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Risskov, Denmark
1
Reviewed 29 December 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Excellent 5-star hotel, great location, very helpful and friendly staff.
Breakfast was very good, the room was very nice and luxury.
Not too expensive for what you get compared to other similar hotels in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
London
1
Reviewed 23 December 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This was our first trip to Hamburg & we came primarily to visit the Christmas markets. We chose this hotel because of the excellent comments on trip-advisor & we were so glad we did. This is a boutique style hotel & is very modern & tastefully decorated. The rooms are a good size & have great amenities including a flat-screen plasma tv which includes a selection of english tv channels including BBC1, ITV1, ITV2 & ITV3 as well as Sky news etc. Thre bathroom was large with a separate bath & large walk-in shower. The complimenary l'occitaine toiletries were a lovely touch.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we felt the price wasn't good value for money, especially as we don't tend to eat much for breakfast. The Starbucks across the road provided all we needed & for much fewer euros.
Easiest way to get from the airport is the train. Get the S1 train in the direction of Wendl & get off at Jungfernsteig. Leave the station via the Rathauspassage which emerges immediately outside the Town Hall. Alter Wall, where the hotel is situated is the road on the right-hand side of the Town Hall & is less than a 5 minute walk.
The Christmas markets were wonderful - particularly the one in the Town Hall square, where santa flys his sleigh through the sky every night at 4pm.6pm & 8pm & shouldn't be missed - no matter what age you are.
We will definately be going back to Hamburg, both in the summer & for the Christmas markets as it's a beautiful city & when we do, we will stay in this hotel - no question.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Simply elegant. It has also a superb location, well-equipped rooms, ultra-modern interiors, nice breakfast menu. What else? Hmm.. I guess, its car park should have been a bit larger.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztomla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,490 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,451 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 321 in Hamburg
783 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#48 of 321 in Hamburg
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £126 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing