We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place to experience Hamburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to experience Hamburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Doubtless a stunning building, the Gastwerk Hotel sets high standards even before you walk through the door. It doesn't meet those standards all the time but the overall package is definitely worth a visit. Located in the west of the city it's easily reached by public transport and not far from the hip parts of this truly stunning city. Reception offers a very professional welcome but, in typical northern German fashion, lacks a little warmth and friendliness to begin with (not to mention the fax that was delayed by 24 hours) only to shine later on. Rooms are spacious if a little bland (#371 and other rooms in that category) but come with modern bathrooms. Housekeeping is flawless but could maybe be a little more generous with things like shower gel or shampoo, especially if guests are staying more than one night. We treated ourselves to an hour in the spa which is beautiful, expertly run and a real oasis of calm thanks to the brilliant staff. Another definite highlight of the place is the outside terrace which we used throughout our stay to soak up the sunshine, have drinks and some nibbles. In fact, the terrace (and the adjoining bar) is managed so brilliantly - friendly, fun, full of personality - it's the team behind the bar that is the main reason for the excellent rating of this place (otherwise it would have scored average to very good).

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the Atrium-style rooms but they look a little bland when compared to the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobySchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear TobySchuster,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you also took advantage of our restaurant & bar as well as our spa area.

We would be glad to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards from Hamburg,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    222
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
49
210
32
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent a great one-night-stay in their design junior suite. We had a direct connection door to the open private relaxing area on the first floor. The decoration is simple with a great taste. This hotel is a converted 19th Century gasworks. The lobby and rooms flood of natural light, a solid frame of raw materials and original brick walls. Lack of location, but they offer a free city rent-a-car. Their friendly concierge and beautiful staff will get you a taxi in a couple of minutes order. Fully recommended in having an experience living in a historical building!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rency Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Rency Z,

We wish to thank you for your very kind words. I is a pleasure to read that you had such a relaxing stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you back, soon.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My second time at GASTWERK HOTEL HAMBURG confirmed my thoughts about the first visit: magnificent facilities, good overall service and a very cool atmosphere.

LOCATION:
Location is maybe the only “not so good” thing about the hotel. It is far from the city center, so not very suitable for the regular tourist or visitor. Nonetheless, getting to the nearest train station only takes a five minute walk. From there you can reach Hamburg’s central station in a 5-10 minute train ride. Alternatively, you can pick a Mini for free by just reserving it in the reception.

FACILITIES:
The hotel results from the restoration of an old gas plant industrial building. It has a SPA, restaurant and bars. It is a real design hotel, full of luxury, art and history. These three features, combined with proper artificial illumination give the hotel an impressive and cool atmosphere which you can feel as soon as you enter the stunning lobby. I really recommend an insight walk in the hotel main public areas to learn about the building’s history and to see some pieces of modern art.

ROOM:
I have already stayed in a small loft and in a business loft, the main differences being the size and decoration. Both are very well furbished and maintained, and have modern and stylish furniture. The artificial illumination is perfect and the beds very comfortable. In the business lofts you have concrete walls whereas in the small lofts you have brick walls. Make no mistake about the size: business lofts are huge in size and are possibly the biggest rooms I have ever stayed, but the small lofts are also very spacious. I also enjoyed the state of the art 16:9 entertainment TV sets.

SERVICES:
Room service is very good and wi-fi connection is free. There are also computers near the meeting rooms and a place to read and rest in the first floor which is very enjoyable. I have not used the SPA or restaurant. Bar is good but expensive. Reception staff is always available and helpful.

BREAKFAST:
Apart from the croissants everything is of exceptional quality. There are various types of bread and cheese and whatever you can imagine. There will be no need to lunch if you take your breakfast at GASTWERK. I especially enjoyed the cheese selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMadvisory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear RMadvisory,

We are very pleased to hear that for the second time already, you had such a great time at the Gastwerk Hotel.

Come back, soon :)

Kindest regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Gastwerk Hotel a few days for business, and I loved it! The design is wonderful, the spaciousness, sleekness of the whole place. Just amazing!

The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful, and so was the bar - the bartenders were great, even introduced me to a different version of my favourite drink!

Rooms are clean, peaceful, sleek. It's well worth a visit when staying in Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsbeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Elsbeth v,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read that you had an overall satisfying stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for your next stay in Hamburg.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hotel is slightly out of the city centre but is easily accessible via a train from the airport via the city centre. The hotel is modern and very quirky. The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel was very clean. The room was particularly spacious. The restaurant was exceptional and I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chrisjdaniel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Chris_Liz2011,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest!

We would be glad to welcome you back, soon.

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corcelles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very good location for business trips. Hotel is quite and restaurant of the hotel has excellent food. Very kind people. Rooms are big and well equipped. Located not so fra from Airport. Very clean.
It's now many times I come here and always find it excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADS2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear ADS2035,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We are glad to hear that you stay with us on a regular basis. We look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Really enjoyed our Gastwerk Hotel experience. The hotel has an industrial edginess - that works well. The room was faultless (spacious, quiet, well designed) and service was attentive. With negative temperatures outside, we spent more time at the hotel then we had anticipated. This included many hours in the hotel sauna (a great facility that was comfortable, well-maintained and well serviced) We also dined one night at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent. We enjoyed a 3 course menu that was complimented with some great local wines. If I had to make any criticism or suggestion for improvement it would the breakfast option. Given that everything else was done so well, it would have been nice to see a more interesting breakfast spread. There is also no gym at the hotel. Whilst there is the option to pay for the private gym next door. This was quite expensive, and not really value for money if you just wanted to fit in a quick session before heading out for your day.

Overall however, great value money. If you have a penchant for designer hotels - this would definitely be my pick in Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear quovis,

We are very pleased to read that you had an overall satisfying stay with us and we would love to welcome you back for any Hamburg trip to come.

Thank you for your feedback!

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel Number One
#50 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Hotel Volksschule
#10 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
The George Hotel
#41 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing