We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building by abysmal customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful building by abysmal customer service”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I enjoy staying at boutique hotels when I travel and I had recently read a lot of good things about the Gastwerk Hotel in Hamburg. While the building and industrial conversion to a hotel was spectacular, the customer service was abysmal. To start off, we were put in a room without air-conditioning on the first night of our stay. We called the front desk to ask to switch to a new room and we were informed that non of the rooms had air conditioning and the best they could offer us was a few fans (it was also one of the hottest weekends in the city). Confused by this response, we went down to the front desk in person and asked again. We got a different message that we couldn't change tonight but we could move the next night into an air conditioned room (which we did). Fine- The hotel did nothing to accommodate or recognize the inconvenience. A simple sorry for your inconvenience last night here is a comp X.... would do. Next, we booked two massages on Thursday evening for Friday afternoon, and when we woke up the next morning decided to cancel the appointment before we left the hotel at 10am (for a 2pm/3pm appointment). Not once speaking to the person taking the reservation over the phone or at the front desk were we informed there would be a cancellation penalty for not giving 6 hours of notice. We cancelled 4 hours in advance after we woke up and were on our way out the door for breakfast. The answer we received was we sent a paper that you were supposed to read with fine print cancellation policies. It's your fault for not seeing/reading the paper. In taking this matter up with the On Duty Manager over the phone at check out (apparently there was not a manager available the entire weekend), she told my husband she suggests we pay our bill and never return to the hotel over the fact that we refused to pay for a cancellation fee where we gave four hours- plenty of time for a business to call up customers and fill afternoon spots so you are not out revenue. After thirty minutes of going nowhere on the phone and such poor customer service in the hospitality business, we paid the bill and left. However, in the competitive hotel business, I understand there are rules and policies however there is also something called the lifetime value of a customer and word of mouth, and social media. While a simple "we're sorry you had such a bad experience, let us take care of this matter and we hope you enjoyed your stay" would do. Their approach was these are the rule, the spa is third party (that would be your business decision, not my issue as the customer), and we are not bending one bit on our 6 hour cancellation fee and the fact that you did not see a piece of paper.

As I said, it's unfortunate as the hotel itself is beautiful and the gummy bears at the front desk are fresh, however the lack of customer service has impacted this rating to sub-par. I would not recommend staying at Gastwerk when there are so many other boutique properties that could substitute.

Room Tip: read your room details carefully. If it doesn't explicitly say air conditioning, do not make an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Sarah L,

We are really sorry that your stay here was not as good as expected.
Our main goal is to create great memories of a comfortable and relaxed visit just like at a friend’s home. And we honestly wish you could have taken home that impression as well.

But it is really difficult to offer any help when your „friends“ confront you in a very rude and impatient way leaving our staff with no chance to solve the issue.
And now, after your feedback, it is very clear. The only solution would have been something complimentary or, alternatively, angry comments on social media channels.

Our apologies, but that is not the way we do business, even if the entire world is listening.

Best regards,

Gastwerk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    239
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
56
225
35
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Good hotel a bit outside the city center. In our opinion a bit to far to walk, but if you have car or take a taxi it is okay. The hotel is nice and the rooms are large and well designed. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubenms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Rubenms,

Thank you for the feedback given. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In order to get to the city center, public transport is a very good alternative to car or cab. Takes you only 15 minutes to get to Hamburg Main Station and costs less than € 3.00.

Come back soon!

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Loved the look of this place. Historic/indistrial fused with new neon. Room was quite large but un airconditioned. Very clean lines..as expected in Germany. Vast open spaces inside were quite unusual. Staff was very friendly and multilingual staff had quite good English. Wi-Fi was free and consistent. Breakfast was good. Travelers expecting a washcloth, iron, ironong board and in room coffee beware...you won't get that here..until you request the iron/board.

I would stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlrollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear dlrollo,
Many thanks for your kind feedback. Great you enjoyed your stay.
For the in-room-coffee make sure to book a Loft, Junior-Suite or a Suite on your next trip. There we have excellent Illy Espresso machines...
Hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
the Gastwerk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed for 4 nights during a management meeting and had mixed feelings. I loved the size of the room, the amenities, the crisp and fresh linnen, the SPA and the location in general. The employees are all very good looking and look trendy in their Uniforms. Few were very friendly and attentive, others just doing a job, not looking to provide extra service. I noticed this especially during the coffee breaks and during the Lunch service. Service during a la carte service on the terrace was much better, also breakfast was ok. Mrs. Thamm at checkout was the first person really interested in us as guests (we were 10 persons for 4 nights) and tried to find out, what went wrong. Pitty that there was no one checking of guest satisfaction during the meetings.

Room Tip: During summer make sure you have a room with individual heat control
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear FrankandChristine,

Thank you very much for the feedback given. We are sorry to hear that were not overall satisfied with the service provided. For any problems during your stay, please feel free to approach all of our staff members at all times.

Business or leisure trip, we hope to welcome you back, soon.

Kindest regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Really great hotel in a beautifully restored old building with a nice bar and ditto restaurant. Excellent staff! We stayed in a 'business' room, which was spacious, very comfortable, somehow soundproof (or a lack of guests...) and with good beds. Though the room was for business guests, the wifi reception did not really make it into the room.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djoerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Djoerd,

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your WiFi connection in the room. WiFi should be available throughout the hotel. Once you experience these problems, please let us know and we will be happy to assist.

We hope to see you back, soon.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed for business and had a good corporate rate, which gave us good value for the price. It was a factory that they converted to a hotel so it had quaint details like some of the machinery was still there and the high ceilings. Rooms were quite big, windows too with view of the street. Bathrooms were clean and with complete toiletries. Room service had a limited menu but they have a nice restaurant in the lobby. The only thing I wish they had was someone to help me with my luggage to go to my room which was at least 100m away thru a what seemed like a maze! I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear GigitV,

We wish to thank you for the feedback and positive rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to your luggage, please feel free to use our luggage carts by the entrance or ask our reception team for help.

We hope to see you back, soon, for business or leisure reasons :)

Kind regards from Hamburg,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Doubtless a stunning building, the Gastwerk Hotel sets high standards even before you walk through the door. It doesn't meet those standards all the time but the overall package is definitely worth a visit. Located in the west of the city it's easily reached by public transport and not far from the hip parts of this truly stunning city. Reception offers a very professional welcome but, in typical northern German fashion, lacks a little warmth and friendliness to begin with (not to mention the fax that was delayed by 24 hours) only to shine later on. Rooms are spacious if a little bland (#371 and other rooms in that category) but come with modern bathrooms. Housekeeping is flawless but could maybe be a little more generous with things like shower gel or shampoo, especially if guests are staying more than one night. We treated ourselves to an hour in the spa which is beautiful, expertly run and a real oasis of calm thanks to the brilliant staff. Another definite highlight of the place is the outside terrace which we used throughout our stay to soak up the sunshine, have drinks and some nibbles. In fact, the terrace (and the adjoining bar) is managed so brilliantly - friendly, fun, full of personality - it's the team behind the bar that is the main reason for the excellent rating of this place (otherwise it would have scored average to very good).

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the Atrium-style rooms but they look a little bland when compared to the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobySchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear TobySchuster,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you also took advantage of our restaurant & bar as well as our spa area.

We would be glad to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards from Hamburg,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,406 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#60 of 319 in Hamburg
430 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 319 in Hamburg
772 reviews
Hotel Volksschule
#12 of 319 in Hamburg
518 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing