We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic Hotel in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Chic Hotel in Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is converted out of an old gas factory. The architecture, art and decor are beautiful. The rooms are large and interesting with exposed brick remnants from the factory days. While the staff is pleasant, they seem to be surprised when English is spoken to them. This seems to be a mostly German speaking locale. (all TV channels are in German) Beautiful hotel, maybe a little isolated for tourism. Love the decor and props for converting a 120 year old factory into a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivninCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear LivninCA,

Thank you for taking the time to give a short feedback to your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Gastwerk Hotel.

Although most of our guests come from German speaking countries, we also have many visitors from the Netherlands, UK and France and we do have quite a range of TV channels available in English language, such as BBC World, BBC1,2,3, CCTV 9 and ITV1,2,4.

Dear LivninCA, we hope that this information will help you during your next stay at our hotel and hope to see you back, soon.

With best regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    224
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
50
213
33
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a hotel and design. Hotels is built in a old manufacturing site and in the building and rooms you can still see the remains. Hotel and rooms having been decorated stylish and quality is very good. Rooms in general are big. You also have inner rooms where you will have A/C. Rooms on the outside are without. Breakfast is very good and choice is plenty. In the past the hotel rents you bicycle which you can use to explore the city after works as i visit the hotel while on business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeintV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Meint/Antwerp,

Thanks a lot for the review given. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us again and hope to see you back, soon.

Regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Situated 10 min outside of the city-centre (by public transport) this design hotel offers outstandings quality. Quality which starts at large, clean room and ends with a very professional an efficient staff. The onsite restaurant is so exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear ebna,
We really appreciate your kind feedback. Many thanks.
Best regards,
the Gastwerk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This was the nice surprise we hoped for, having seen the pictures, having read the reviews.
The area of the hotel is nice and calm, the reception friendly and professional.
We were surprised by the size of the room and especially the dress room was a nice add on.
The spacious bathroom is designed very well with a separate shower and toilet, the luxury normally seen in suites of far more expensive hotels.
The breakfast is well organized with a lot of helpful and friendly staff and in general with more than enough choice.
Oh. And for dinner don't bother to go elsewhere, since the Mangold restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J-W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear J-W B,
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay here.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Gastwerk team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbellman1830
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at the Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg for one night during a trip to Germany with my wife and 5 month old daughter in August 2013. Having arrived at the HAM airport, we made our way to the hotel by the S-bahn direct line which was cheap, comfortable and efficient. One note however, the location map provided by the hotel is not so easy to interpret once arriving at the appropriate S-bahn station. We had to ask for directions. Also, the walk to the hotel from the station is 7-10 minutes, and can be painful with suitcases and a stroller. If traveling light, the walk would be no problem at all. First impressions walking into the lobby are great. The hotel, in a converted old gas processing plant, is stylish, modern, inviting and hip all at once. The casually dressed hotel reception staff are responsive, warm, friendly and genuine. Our prepaid room was ready when we arrived (2 hours ahead of check-in time) and was exactly as described. We opted for a loft room with espresso machine and brick wall facade. The room also had a shared balcony which faced an indoor courtyard. The room was very spacious, with a king bed, a L sectional sofa (which also was a pullout bed), a big TV, the aforementioned espresso machine and decent sized bathroom. I will note however that the amenities in the bathroom were sparse when compared to other hotels of similar caliber, and the hotel-provided towels were poor quality. My wife tried to order some food from the hotel room service through the TV menu, but the whole thing froze when she was ordering and I eventually had to go down to the bar myself to order her food and ensure it wasn't being double ordered. A small hiccup. If I had one genuine complaint it would be of the temperature in the room. The hotel has both air conditioned rooms and un-airconditioned rooms, of which ours was the latter. Believing Hamburg's weather is never too warm we didn't believe it would be a problem. We were wrong. The room was ventilated by a rooftop window which opened by electric motor up to about 12 inches clearance, but this was woefully inadequate to cool the room. To their credit, the hotel staff did provide us with a fan for the room upon request, but we still found it very warm and slept the whole night on top of the sheets. As far as location, the hotel is a fair distance from Hamburg city center, roughly 20 minutes by S-bahn, not including the walk to the S-bahn. One last point, for families, the hotel is very accommodating, even going so far as to arrange an infant car seat for us to use in our friends' car while we were there (for a 15 euro fee). All said, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hamburg that is looking for a quality hotel at a decent price and can appreciate a little individuality in a hotel. Just be sure to get an air conditioned room if you're there in the warmer months.

Room Tip: Request an air conditioned room if you're uncomfortable in warm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbellman1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear cbellman1830,

We highly appreciate your kind and extensive feedback. It is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our apologies, however, for the inconveniences caused by the technical problems of our room service menu. We will look into the matter within due course.

We would be so glad to welcome you back some time and wish to thank you for your recommendations.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Das "Gastwerk" ist in einem alten Backsteingemäuer, welches stilvoll renoviert wurde mit Einbezug der bestehenden Elemente. Das Ambiente ist freundlich und ruhig. Mein Loftzimmer war gross, sehr sauber und enthielt alle Annehmlichkeiten. Es gab eine Kaffeemaschine; für den ersten Koffein-Kick ;-) am Morgen. Der Service ist freundlich und aufmerksam.
Das Gastwerk ist nur eine Station vom Bahnhof Altona entfernt. Cirka 5-8 Minuten zu Fuss von der S-Bahn Station Bahrenfeld, in einem schönen Quartier. Wer also in Hamburg zentral aber nicht im Zentrum eine Unterkunft sucht, ist hier gut aufgehoben.
Das Restaurant kann ich ebenfalls empfehlen, sehr freundliche Bedienung, gutes Essen zu fairen Preisen.

The "Gastwerk" is in an old brick wall building, which has been stylishly renovated with inclusion of the existing elements. The atmosphere is friendly and quiet. My loft was large, very clean and had all the amenities needed. There was a coffee maker in the room, for the first caffeine kick in the morning;-). The service is friendly and attentive.
The location is only one stop from Altona railway station and an 5-8 minutes walk in a nice neighborhood. So if you're looking for a Hotel close and central but not the center of Hamburg, this is a good choice.
I also can recommend the restaurant: very friendly service, good food at fair prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viadogante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Google Translation
Liebe viadogante,

wir danken für Ihr sehr positives und nettes Feedback. Es freut uns wirklich, das Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in vollen Zügen genießen konnten.

Danke und hoffentlich bis zum nächsten Mal.

Mit den besten Grüßen,
Ihr Team vom Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I enjoy staying at boutique hotels when I travel and I had recently read a lot of good things about the Gastwerk Hotel in Hamburg. While the building and industrial conversion to a hotel was spectacular, the customer service was abysmal. To start off, we were put in a room without air-conditioning on the first night of our stay. We called the front desk to ask to switch to a new room and we were informed that non of the rooms had air conditioning and the best they could offer us was a few fans (it was also one of the hottest weekends in the city). Confused by this response, we went down to the front desk in person and asked again. We got a different message that we couldn't change tonight but we could move the next night into an air conditioned room (which we did). Fine- The hotel did nothing to accommodate or recognize the inconvenience. A simple sorry for your inconvenience last night here is a comp X.... would do. Next, we booked two massages on Thursday evening for Friday afternoon, and when we woke up the next morning decided to cancel the appointment before we left the hotel at 10am (for a 2pm/3pm appointment). Not once speaking to the person taking the reservation over the phone or at the front desk were we informed there would be a cancellation penalty for not giving 6 hours of notice. We cancelled 4 hours in advance after we woke up and were on our way out the door for breakfast. The answer we received was we sent a paper that you were supposed to read with fine print cancellation policies. It's your fault for not seeing/reading the paper. In taking this matter up with the On Duty Manager over the phone at check out (apparently there was not a manager available the entire weekend), she told my husband she suggests we pay our bill and never return to the hotel over the fact that we refused to pay for a cancellation fee where we gave four hours- plenty of time for a business to call up customers and fill afternoon spots so you are not out revenue. After thirty minutes of going nowhere on the phone and such poor customer service in the hospitality business, we paid the bill and left. However, in the competitive hotel business, I understand there are rules and policies however there is also something called the lifetime value of a customer and word of mouth, and social media. While a simple "we're sorry you had such a bad experience, let us take care of this matter and we hope you enjoyed your stay" would do. Their approach was these are the rule, the spa is third party (that would be your business decision, not my issue as the customer), and we are not bending one bit on our 6 hour cancellation fee and the fact that you did not see a piece of paper.

As I said, it's unfortunate as the hotel itself is beautiful and the gummy bears at the front desk are fresh, however the lack of customer service has impacted this rating to sub-par. I would not recommend staying at Gastwerk when there are so many other boutique properties that could substitute.

Room Tip: read your room details carefully. If it doesn't explicitly say air conditioning, do not make an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Sarah L,

We are really sorry that your stay here was not as good as expected.
Our main goal is to create great memories of a comfortable and relaxed visit just like at a friend’s home. And we honestly wish you could have taken home that impression as well.

But it is really difficult to offer any help when your „friends“ confront you in a very rude and impatient way leaving our staff with no chance to solve the issue.
And now, after your feedback, it is very clear. The only solution would have been something complimentary or, alternatively, angry comments on social media channels.

Our apologies, but that is not the way we do business, even if the entire world is listening.

Best regards,

Gastwerk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#56 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#23 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing