We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #17 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The design of the hotel wil estonish any first time visitor. How to turn an industrial relic into a somptous hotel. Service was excellent. Location is good for concerts and soccer games nearby. It is good to have a car to get around and aprking is plentiful in front of the hotel. Public transportation is available though and will get you anywhere. The rooms are really spacious. We shared a room with our child of 12 and immensely enjoyed the space offered. Breakfast buffet will cover all your needs and service is attentive. The bar is cosy and the waitresses very attentive and flexible to accomadate your pre-dinner or late night requests. Ther restaurant is worth a visit and I recommend to eat there at least once.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, take the loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascalPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear PascalPC,

Thank you very much for the review and comments given. We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your family holiday. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice only that I had an extra bed but the matress was very hard. But the rest was very good. It has a very good view too. The hotels architecture is nice too. ...........................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Yoyo2002,

Thanks for the short review and feedback. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Super trendy with minimalistic décor and bright green apples everywhere adding to colour. Clean, very spacious bedrooms and in a great location for exploring Hamburg. Very friendly reception and a typical good German breakfast with lots of choice

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear AlisonThomson,

Many thanks for the review given. We are glad to hear that you a good time at our hotel.

Hope to see you again, soon.
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I recently went to Gastwerk hotel for alittle getaway and it was the most amazing and awesome experience we both had!!! The staff are really friendly and helpful, even tho we don't speak German. The food in the restaurant is unbelievable, you honestly have to taste it to experience the flavour and great service.

Our room was amazing, very spacious and comfortable. We had a great weekend away. Thanks a lot Gastwerk and staff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Saffa_Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Saffa_Milford,

Thanks ever so much for this very kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

We would appreciate to welcome you back, soon.

Warm regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was such stylish chick hotel.
Furniture a in lobby to designs in room is totally stylish!
We had a room with exposed brick wall which was totally nice .
Down stairs they have good restaurant which is also chick.
They have fire place in the lobby which is very cool and decorated for winter look.
Definitely recommend
!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear rurina,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are thrilled to hear to you had an overall satisfying stay with us.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is converted out of an old gas factory. The architecture, art and decor are beautiful. The rooms are large and interesting with exposed brick remnants from the factory days. While the staff is pleasant, they seem to be surprised when English is spoken to them. This seems to be a mostly German speaking locale. (all TV channels are in German) Beautiful hotel, maybe a little isolated for tourism. Love the decor and props for converting a 120 year old factory into a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivninCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear LivninCA,

Thank you for taking the time to give a short feedback to your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Gastwerk Hotel.

Although most of our guests come from German speaking countries, we also have many visitors from the Netherlands, UK and France and we do have quite a range of TV channels available in English language, such as BBC World, BBC1,2,3, CCTV 9 and ITV1,2,4.

Dear LivninCA, we hope that this information will help you during your next stay at our hotel and hope to see you back, soon.

With best regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a hotel and design. Hotels is built in a old manufacturing site and in the building and rooms you can still see the remains. Hotel and rooms having been decorated stylish and quality is very good. Rooms in general are big. You also have inner rooms where you will have A/C. Rooms on the outside are without. Breakfast is very good and choice is plenty. In the past the hotel rents you bicycle which you can use to explore the city after works as i visit the hotel while on business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeintV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Meint/Antwerp,

Thanks a lot for the review given. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us again and hope to see you back, soon.

Regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#59 of 321 in Hamburg
445 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
801 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,245 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £99 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing