We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While not in the center of Hamburg, still one of my favorites hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the Gastwork hotel a couple of times before. Every time, I'm impressed by the building and the great atmosphere of this old gas factory. Spacious rooms, cool but laid back atmosphere. Very quiet rooms. Great service and an excellent onsite restaurant. Parking is free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Claudia R,

Thanks for the very kind review and praise given. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This old gasworks makes a super hotel with lots of character. Our room was very large, with a walk-in wardrobe area and a bathroom which had both a bath and a shower. Breakfast was good - it was a bit of a palaver making a cup of tea (who'd have thought it could be so complicated!) but once I'd got the hang of it, quite enjoyed it. Wasn't sure about all the plastic pots of herbs as decor though!

The hotel is close to an S-Bahn station and I was able to hop on a train and get to the centre of Hamburg in half an hour. All very easy - the trains and connections are first class.

Unfortunately we had to leave early because of a bereavement and this entailed changing flights and trying to print boarding passes in the middle of the night. The printer in the business centre wasn't working and the concierge was really helpful, letting us use the desk computer for this at two in the morning. This was a lifesaver and we were hugely grateful. I wish we could have stayed for the whole of our planned trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Caroline H,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We highly appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel.

We are sorry that you had to leave early due to personal reasons. Sincere condolences from all Gastwerk team.

We wish you all the best,
Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

For an alleged 4 star hotel to not have a reliable IT and WiFi offering is inexcusable. When I spoke with the manager, I was informed, of course, that it was the fault of the outsourced service provider... who had no emergency contact information or failure escalation process to resolve outage problems outside of normal business hours. Alas, it is the HOTEL's fault for having contracted such a service provider. Next time in business in Hamburg, I would avoid this hotel. So form 5PM until around 10AM (after check out) no internet connectivity possible despite the need for it as part of a business conference.

In terms of rooms, walls are thin and noise travels vertically form kitchen area upwards through the 40 series rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MECBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear MECBeijing,

Thank you for the review and comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We agree with you that a conference and business hotel should provide reliable internet connectivity. However, there has been a technical failure that we had no bearing on. We are very sorry that we were not able to provide full service to you during your stay and ask you to please accept our apologies.

The technical failure that led to the connectivity problems has been resolved in the meantime. Moreover, we optimized the internal processes between our external provider and the hotel.

Dear MEC Beijing, we are very confident that this will not happen again in future and would love to welcome you back for your next stay to Hamburg.

Warm regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The design of the hotel wil estonish any first time visitor. How to turn an industrial relic into a somptous hotel. Service was excellent. Location is good for concerts and soccer games nearby. It is good to have a car to get around and aprking is plentiful in front of the hotel. Public transportation is available though and will get you anywhere. The rooms are really spacious. We shared a room with our child of 12 and immensely enjoyed the space offered. Breakfast buffet will cover all your needs and service is attentive. The bar is cosy and the waitresses very attentive and flexible to accomadate your pre-dinner or late night requests. Ther restaurant is worth a visit and I recommend to eat there at least once.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, take the loft rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascalPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear PascalPC,

Thank you very much for the review and comments given. We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your family holiday. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice only that I had an extra bed but the matress was very hard. But the rest was very good. It has a very good view too. The hotels architecture is nice too. ...........................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Yoyo2002,

Thanks for the short review and feedback. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Super trendy with minimalistic décor and bright green apples everywhere adding to colour. Clean, very spacious bedrooms and in a great location for exploring Hamburg. Very friendly reception and a typical good German breakfast with lots of choice

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear AlisonThomson,

Many thanks for the review given. We are glad to hear that you a good time at our hotel.

Hope to see you again, soon.
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I recently went to Gastwerk hotel for alittle getaway and it was the most amazing and awesome experience we both had!!! The staff are really friendly and helpful, even tho we don't speak German. The food in the restaurant is unbelievable, you honestly have to taste it to experience the flavour and great service.

Our room was amazing, very spacious and comfortable. We had a great weekend away. Thanks a lot Gastwerk and staff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Saffa_Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Saffa_Milford,

Thanks ever so much for this very kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

We would appreciate to welcome you back, soon.

Warm regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,466 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#58 of 319 in Hamburg
441 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 319 in Hamburg
789 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £98 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing