We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mix of old and new in a zen atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good mix of old and new in a zen atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel with a great combination of old factory, modern decoration with vibrant colours, very comfortable and with spacious rooms and a good breakfast. Servid is good but bot exceptional locatiobs is not great too in terms of the surroundings being interisting to visit everything distants 5km and there is no gym facility which is also not good for a person like me that likes to exercise but it was a good experience

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Teresa C,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. Your opinion is very important to us.

With regards to the gym, we’d like to recommend the use of the Holmes Place Fitness Club neighboring Gastwerk Hotel. A day ticket is available for € 18.00 at reception.

We would appreciate to welcome you back, soon.

Kind regards,
Yours Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    222
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
49
210
32
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in February for work and was very impressed with the hotel. Whilst it is slightly out of town the hotel is close to my office and therefore very convenient for business trips.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks well designed and has a lovely ambiance in all public areas. The room I stayed in was large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and there was lots of choice of hot and cold food.

We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner on 2 occasions. Each time the food was incredible and we all walked away feeling full and content however we managed to crawl the short distance to the bar.

Overall I was very impressed with the Gastwerk Hotel and I'm looking forward to my stay here next week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheSun82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear LovetheSun82London,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

Warm regards,
the team of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in the Gastwork hotel a couple of times before. Every time, I'm impressed by the building and the great atmosphere of this old gas factory. Spacious rooms, cool but laid back atmosphere. Very quiet rooms. Great service and an excellent onsite restaurant. Parking is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Claudia R,

Thanks for the very kind review and praise given. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This old gasworks makes a super hotel with lots of character. Our room was very large, with a walk-in wardrobe area and a bathroom which had both a bath and a shower. Breakfast was good - it was a bit of a palaver making a cup of tea (who'd have thought it could be so complicated!) but once I'd got the hang of it, quite enjoyed it. Wasn't sure about all the plastic pots of herbs as decor though!

The hotel is close to an S-Bahn station and I was able to hop on a train and get to the centre of Hamburg in half an hour. All very easy - the trains and connections are first class.

Unfortunately we had to leave early because of a bereavement and this entailed changing flights and trying to print boarding passes in the middle of the night. The printer in the business centre wasn't working and the concierge was really helpful, letting us use the desk computer for this at two in the morning. This was a lifesaver and we were hugely grateful. I wish we could have stayed for the whole of our planned trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Caroline H,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We highly appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel.

We are sorry that you had to leave early due to personal reasons. Sincere condolences from all Gastwerk team.

We wish you all the best,
Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

For an alleged 4 star hotel to not have a reliable IT and WiFi offering is inexcusable. When I spoke with the manager, I was informed, of course, that it was the fault of the outsourced service provider... who had no emergency contact information or failure escalation process to resolve outage problems outside of normal business hours. Alas, it is the HOTEL's fault for having contracted such a service provider. Next time in business in Hamburg, I would avoid this hotel. So form 5PM until around 10AM (after check out) no internet connectivity possible despite the need for it as part of a business conference.

In terms of rooms, walls are thin and noise travels vertically form kitchen area upwards through the 40 series rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MECBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear MECBeijing,

Thank you for the review and comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We agree with you that a conference and business hotel should provide reliable internet connectivity. However, there has been a technical failure that we had no bearing on. We are very sorry that we were not able to provide full service to you during your stay and ask you to please accept our apologies.

The technical failure that led to the connectivity problems has been resolved in the meantime. Moreover, we optimized the internal processes between our external provider and the hotel.

Dear MEC Beijing, we are very confident that this will not happen again in future and would love to welcome you back for your next stay to Hamburg.

Warm regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The design of the hotel wil estonish any first time visitor. How to turn an industrial relic into a somptous hotel. Service was excellent. Location is good for concerts and soccer games nearby. It is good to have a car to get around and aprking is plentiful in front of the hotel. Public transportation is available though and will get you anywhere. The rooms are really spacious. We shared a room with our child of 12 and immensely enjoyed the space offered. Breakfast buffet will cover all your needs and service is attentive. The bar is cosy and the waitresses very attentive and flexible to accomadate your pre-dinner or late night requests. Ther restaurant is worth a visit and I recommend to eat there at least once.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, take the loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear PascalPC,

Thank you very much for the review and comments given. We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and enjoyed your family holiday. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice only that I had an extra bed but the matress was very hard. But the rest was very good. It has a very good view too. The hotels architecture is nice too. ...........................................................................

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Yoyo2002,

Thanks for the short review and feedback. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel Number One
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Hotel Volksschule
#10 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
The George Hotel
#44 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing