We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive WWII history”

Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial
Ranked #50 of 302 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jean-Dolidier-Weg 75 21039 Hamburg Germany Tel.: +49 40 - 4 28 13 15 00 Fax: +49 40 - 4 28 13 15 01 E-mail: info@kz-gedenkstaette-neuengamme.de
The Hague
Level Contributor
227 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Impressive WWII history”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The camp is located outside of Hamburg, some 15 min by car. It's an open area with some building from the war and some remaining foundations of the barracks. The buildings are open from 09:30 - 16:00 hr. The exhibition in the buildings explains what went on here in those days. also a lot of testimonials can be looked into. Very interesting are the art expressions by the prisoners.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank NickE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Neuengamme: uncomfortable reminder of Nazism in Vierlanden”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I spent my senior year as an exchange student at the University of Hamburg 40 years ago, and at that point no one had heard of or acknowledged the Nazi work camp in Neuengamme, just a short ride outside of Hamburg in Vierlanden, the regional flower growing district. Local officials just wanted to ignore and preferably forget its terrible history. Instead of knocking it down, they just built a new prison next to it. It took years of outraged protest to get government to tear down the jail and simply leave the work camp, or what is left of it, as a memorial to the thousands of prisoners forced to work in the heat of summer or the cold of winter at this brick making factory. Since Hamburg was slated to be one of Hitler's exemplary Reichsstädte, a new architectural jewel in gleaming red brick, those bricks had to be made somewhere, and it was Neuengamme. Those bricks had to be transported to the city, so the plan was to dig a canal from the grounds to the nearby Elbe River, not with machinery, but with human labor, one shovel full at a time. Prisoners were forced to work in the cold of winter with nothing more than standard camp shirt and pants; if a worker dropped dead from exposure, there was always another. Neuengamme was not a Nazi death camp, rather it worked its prisoners ruthlessly and sometimes to death. Now the grounds are spacious and easy to walk through. The garage is exactly as it was left. There are no prisoner residence halls left, only the home of the camp commander, but the on-site museum has great artifacts and well-done displays, plus many stories of individual prisoners. The memorial site to the victims of the camp is very moving. Visitors can and should book a tour with an English speaking guide--just call ahead a few days because there are none on premises.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
18 Thank JDouglsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wish list”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I always wanted to visit a camp...Coming to Europe from India, most of others found it weird...I grabbed opportunity while in Hamburg and visited this place first train and hen bus. Bus driver was not supportive when I indicated I am here to visit camp and dropped me off atleast 2 stops ahead. Not knowing the directions and ofcourse German I actually started walking in opposite direction. There was a small patch of houses and I knocked on one..An elderly woman came out, she didnt understand English and I couldnt understand German, but she was so kind she managed to tell me using sign languages and a small pat on my back.. Such a heartening gesture that was.. I hugged her and walked @ 2 miles to reach entrance of the camp. .hardly did I know it was the day I would walk longest..what Is aw there was heart breaking, hurting, i felt the pain..i heard the cries ..i kept walking that huge area... and I wept... sitting on ground I wept....but amazing thing happened next..as I went thru the well-preserved and managed museum, I was astonished by the optimistic, scientific, curious, artistic intelligence of the inmates displayed thru there creations, made out of NOTHING, may be a small piece of thin cloth or a wire or a match stick........and I felt so wonderful for the gift of free life that I have.. I am so grateful to those departed souls who made me realise the asset I had and taken for granted..one of the most important days of my life....Amen

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank msmartwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The exibition is very imposing and impressive. Neuengamme is no "classic" concentration camp where people were killed in masses. It was a work camp where people were killed by work, hunger or sickness. One of the most impressive things i remember was the manufacturing hall where the german gunmaker Walther had his production. The exibition shows how guns were made, and the pervert fact, that Walther refuses to support the memorial till today. The quarters, where the prisoners had to sleep with eight other people in one tree-storied bed, are also breathtaking.

A visit you wont forget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well kept sample of history.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The camp is well kept and provides an overview of how it used to be. The museum is well organized and clean. You feel a sense of history and sadness when you visit the place as you are shown all of the areas. Spend at least 2-3 hours if you want to walk the surroundings and visit the museum in detail.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing