We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #26 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Modern, clean, great rate, free wifi, gorgeous shower and the most enormous comfy bed! I think breakfast was a bit of a rip off at £20 for a fruit salad and coffee, but if you're staying for leisure, it's worth it as you can eat a huge breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Super super super no bath room!"......................................................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very new hotel with modern Spanish style. Hotel is approximately one-block away from the water, and a 10-15 minute walk to the city center, also walking distance to the Hamburg train station. Rooms are super modern with a large comfortable bed and a unique bathroom with large "rain" shower (could be an issue if you were to share a room with anyone with whom you are not intimate). While it certainly lacks any historic "charm", if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel you'd be hard pressed to find nicer. Restaurant was nice, but menu was pretentious and overly complex.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good points: good location in quiet area, minutes away from town, funky design. Very comfortable mattress, not too soft and not too hard. Best hotel pillows out there. Quiet air conditioning, decent sized rooms, iPod speaker in every room.

Bad points: see-through showers, not too family-friendly. Restaurant menu can get complicated, service at the bar is slow. Breakfast is overpriced at 22 euro but it seems to be similar or even higher priced across other Hamburg hotels. Booked superior room and received standard, not nice but didn't complain. They call gym 2 cardio x-trainers and a treadmill in a tiny room. Stayed for two weeks and had hot water problems both weeks, hotel staff dealt poorly with the problem, finally decided to change hotels.

Bottom line: generally good hotel with typical German service but I need to take showers daily!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Nik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Nik T.,

thanks for taking the opportunity to inform us about your satisfaction. I' am very sad to hear about your experiences with our hotel. It would have been great to deal with you in person but we did not mention, that you had any inconveniences.

Guest that stay such a long time with us, are getting a special focus from us. Sorry to hear that this does not work out with you.

Please let me know if there is anything I could do now to make you feel good again with our hotel. Would you contact me please to speak about it? You reach me by phone +49 (0) 40 226362 128 or by email trough hamburg.guestexperience@barcelo.com

Thanks once again for your feedback and I hope you give us a chance.

Best regards from Hamburg,

Tino Kaehlke
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great room, we were upgraded on arrival so that was a great start to the weekend

The hotel is modern, clean, stylish and the rooms are bright with huge very comfortable beds, had a bit of trouble with the pillow menu ... 3 pillows and none of them quite right!

Definitely stay again though

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Nice brand new hotell in a walking distance from the traincentrall and city center.

Nice euquipet clean rooms ...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iCKARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Yet another chain hotel that pretends to be a design one. It's very new opened March 2012 and it does smell new. And spiritless. Very kind and well trained staff that's standard in Germany. Very clean but as I said it's new. The rest is nothing to talk about. Interior design is average, a cross between airport lounge and posh restaurant. Breakfast kind of disaster - worst grapefruit juice ever. It's good one night stand if you're in Hamburg for business. Otherwise it's better to try something else. I believe Hamburg deserves a real design hotel. This one is unfortunately not.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safranfoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 323 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 323 in Hamburg
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 323 in Hamburg
2,572 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 323 in Hamburg
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £100 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing