We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy in Hamburg”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently went to Hamburg for a 4 night city break and stayed at the Barcelo hotel. It is a lovely hotel and our room was very spacious. If you go you should check out the fab chairs in reception and the flames. Not a fire but a cool effect! The bed was really comfortable and although we had air con we had the window open at night just for some fresh air. There was no street noise and was realy quiet. Saying that the hotel is well situated for all the sights. The only down thing was the cost of the breakfast which is 22 euros each! We did not have breakfast but don't let this put you off the hotel. If you turn left as you come out of the hotel just a couple of minutes walk is a lovely cafe on the corner where we have breakfast each day. It is a designer hotel but is very cool and the staff are really friendly. Would recommend a stay here if you go to Hamburg : )

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor (Rm 520) and although at the front of the hotel it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I would definelty come back to the Barcelo hotel. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and the front desk staff are always there to help.

The rooms are very much like the Novotel rooms. Simple, clean and has all the basics that you need. The beds are very comfy and the pillows are wonderful. There is tea and coffee in the room (always an essential).

The front desk staff are very helpful. They are not over friendly, but maybe that's just the German way.

The bar area is very nice as they have a small terrace to have drinks on. The service at the bar and restaurant is very slow. The restaurant is worse, there were only 3 people eating in the restaurant and it took so long to be served. The staff were never in the restaurant, so when it came to me wanting the cheque, I was waiting 20 minutes for her to make an appearance from the kitchen.

I was happy to find out that this hotel had a gym. I only had 3 machines but its better than nothing. The only problem is that when I arrived there were already 2 people in the gym. So we had to keep sharing eveythjng ( very annoying). They should change the gym to a bigger room and put more equipment in.

The hotel is very central and a 4 minute walk to shops. There are restraunts and cafes everywhere.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just back from a 4 day city break to Hamburg. Reception staff on arrival at The Barcelo were not very welcoming. After requesting a quiet room, we were given a room close to the very noisy lift. We mentioned this the following morning, and were moved to a quieter room on a higher floor. We learned that many guests had experienced this problem. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was first class. We will return to Hamburg, but probably choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are well away from the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdinburghJandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very well located, super modern, a fantastic giantsize bed and the best pillows ever. Room is spacious and well designed with huge flatscreen and very good walk-in shower. Breakfast is expensive, but plenty opportunities to take that outside.
All in all great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe room (room 819) for two nights after a trip on the QM2. After having considered Le Meridien very seriously, I'm pleased I went for the Barcelo, as it was better located and far better value.

PROS:

Great central location (for everything!)

Exceptional value

Comfortable beds

Brilliant shower

Light, bright, stylish room

Polite staff

CONS:

Temperamental WI-FI

Room design may not suit sharers (open plan bathroom)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

If you are not under a budget, this place is just great. It is minutes walk from Hamburg hbf, it’s got great size rooms, great service, super fast internet, and just about everything you need in a hotel near the HBF. My only two improvements as to why I’m giving 4 stars is the price and also the price of the breakfast. Seriously, 20 Euros?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed at Hotel Barcelo for a weekend in Hamburg. Only ever driven through Hamburg before.
Location of hotel was fantastic - a 2 minute walk from Alster Lake, and a 4 minute walk to the shops. Underground was also close. We couldn't have chosen better.

We opted for the hotel breakfast which was plentiful and varied. There are, however, lots of restaurants, cafes and Starbucks close by should you not wish a full breakfast.

Would definately stay there again-

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,516 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,303 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £98 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing