We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and trendy”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #32 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy and trendy”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is located in the centre of the city. It is designed in modern and stylish way. The rooms are nice and feature luxurious beds with a wide selection of pillows. For strange reasons, the bathrooms are completely open and when you shower, you also shower the mirrors, the toilet and part of the room. I was there on a Friday which is salsa night at the hotel. The salsa sound resonates throught the entire hotel and you can dance in your room if you like. You can, however, almost certainly not sleep. The receptionists seem unsettled by the music themselves, but couldn´t offer any help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    537
    154
    40
    21
See reviews for
169
709
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The perfect location for tourists to Hamburg. Close to shopping good restaurants and the river.
A modern hotel with very nice and large rooms, very good breakfast indoor parking and quite.
A good place from which to visit the countryside and especially the area up to Denmark

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel is very tidy and clean, and it is in great location. Rooms are nice and they have details. For example collection of pillows was everything I have never seen. Everyone sleeps here well!
Checking in and out was fast. Athmosphere is luxurious and modern. We had a nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ruokoski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Barcelo Hamburg.

The location is excellent within walking distance from the central railway station and many sights and shopping possibilities. Yet, the hotel is located on a quiet side street.

Breakfast had great variety and was delicious.

We were two people in the room, one of us using a manual wheelchair. The room was of good size, but the bathroom felt a bit too small. Ie. when you went in to have a shower, the whole floor got wet.

The decor of the hotel is modern, and it was very clean.

All in all, enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to friends going to Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Let's start with the hotel. It is indeed very good. Spacious, modern rooms. A shower you just want to stay under forever. Friendly and very helpful staff at the reception desk, with very good knowledge of the English language. My knowledge of their language is very poor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Hamburg. It is also in the center of the town. You can't go wrong.
Then why only three stars? The restaurant... Travelling alone on a business trip and not knowing my way around Hamburg, I chose to eat in the hotel restaurant. My mistake. After waiting for more than five minutes before someone could show me to a table (there were only a few tables occupied but mobile phones are far more interesting than hungry customers), I was finally addressed by a friendly young lady. She brought me bread and olive oil, at that very moment I thought things were going the right way. The menu she handed was rather disappointing. Finally I went for the Barcelo hamburger. I they name it after their place, it must be something they are proud of. It was served on a hot plate (a luxury one has to do without very often nowadays) but... The hamburger tasted awful, absolutely no seasoning on the meat (was it meat?), disgusting taste of far too much fat and fried for more than an hour I suppose, the hamburger was dry all over. Maybe fried 4 or 5 times? The chips were of the lowest quality, prefried deepfreeze stuff. Horror on a plate.
It was served with two little, sealed, potts of mayonaise and ketchup. Very good idea, but no little spoons beside them.
I finished with a coffe that came with hot milk.
My point: they have some knowledge of how things should be. Hot plate, hot milk with the coffee, but somewhere along the line they screw things up.
Go to sleep there, it is fabulous, but skip the food.
Update: just received an email from the hotel to ask me to fill in a survey. Unfortunately the mail was all in German. See, they know how to do things but they cannot execute them correctly.

Room Tip: I can only vow for room 517. Fantastic room, very comfortable, great shower. Pretty good layer of du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

centrally located Barcelo is my first choice when in Hamburg. A must for business travellers and those on holidays seeking a central yet quiet place in the city. Barcelo has definitely the most comfy beds in Hamburg and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bedoy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was new and modern, personel was very friendly and helpful. It is a good option if you want to stay in the city center. Walking distance to the main train station and an amazing variaty of public transportation otipons (even for German standards). Besides, the area is very beautiful, close to the river, to several tourist atractios (Art museum, townhall, shopping area). The price was fair.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cainha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,371 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,022 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Property: Barcelo Hamburg
Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing