We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel except for the breakfast!”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #31 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and the hotel was faultless except for the breakfast!!!

The full breakfast was extremely disappointing, it was very expensive at 44 Euro for my wife and myself yet over the two mornings we ate there, the hot buffet had no tomatoes, no mushrooms, no sausages (just little sausage balls) the bacon was soggy and cold and there was no coffee service to the table which would not be so bad if the coffee machine worked properly!

If you are not going to offer your guests tea and coffee service at their table, (other hotels seem to manage this service without difficulty) at the very minimum you must make sure that the coffee machine is kept filled. Frankly at that price I do not want my breakfast plate going cold at the table while the staff sort out the coffee machine! Finally, Eggs Benedict offered on the menu but not available one morning!
Granted the hotel refunded the cost of one mornings breakfast but a refund is not what I was looking for, I was looking for a high quality breakfast experience to justify the high very price paid.
An otherwise faultless hotel with great staff, but dear oh dear, sort the dire breakfast out!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was quiet and had reasonable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Watchman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

A stone's throw away from the main station - with a train to the airport approx. every 10 minutes -, the Barcelo is perfectly suited for weekend trips and ideally situated to discover the town, old and new, both parts being within walking distance. Stylishly appointed, our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was always helpful and friendly. One of the town's hippest bars is just around the corner and we spent quite some time there ;0). To sum it up, the Barcelo is a nice hotel and we would gladly stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was on a business trip to Hamburg and the hotel was chosen by my colleague. I stayed on the fifth floor which was very quiet. Very impressed with the layout of the room. Very neat and clean room. Had a problem connecting with Wi-Fi but the hotel staff were very helpful and sorted it out for me. The location is very good.
Used the restaurant only for breakfast which was very good.
Will have no hesitation recommending this hotel for business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had an ordinary room and it was at a decent size. The bed was superb and wifi in the room was no problem at all. No sound at all from the street outside bothered us at all during the night (we stayed on the fourth floor).
Took some drinks in the restaurant/hotel bar and they were great and the service was high.
Just around the corner are several restaurants and cafés. It is also only a few minutes away from the main shopping street in Hamburg and the central station.
At the central station there is the hop on hop off bus from around 15 Euro. It was an entertaining bus trip and took roughly 90 mins.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located. Close to the Kunst museum and one of the main shopping districts. Close to excellent bakeries. Plenty of restaurant around, including a good (but slightly expensive thai). Hotel restaurant is also convenient (good choice of wines).

We very much liked the design of the hotel lobby and of our room (suite). Full-length glass windows and light (even a little bit of view on the river).

The bed was confortable (maybe a bit too soft, but depends on your taste).

Plenty of storage space.

The bathroom was of a good size - but careful: the glass shower is more or less in the middle of the room so not for those high on privacy.

Service is efficient - but unfortunately not too keen on smiles.

Room was kept very clean - but for some stains on one chair that probably cannot be removed.

All in all: a great hotel to discover a great city.

Room Tip: Our suite on the 3rd floor was really good. Maybe even better views higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fabulous breakfast offered, try to include breakfast in your room rate. Ask for a higher level room otherwise your outlook is not attractive the cement slab of the building next door. Fabulous location easy walk to metro , shopping and Alster lake. Staff really helpful. Lovely beds and bathroom. Would definitely stay at the Barcelo when visiting Hamburg again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high level above the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MIMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife & I stayed here in August whilst our son was competing at the World Junior Rowing Championships. The hotel is very new, clean & spacious (a treat after our small room in our Paris hotel). It is so conveniently located, just 3 blocks from the main train station which we used daily to travel to the regatta course, also just 1 block from the lake, and there are many good cafes and restaurants close by. You only have to walk a few blocks to be in one of the main shopping districts, or a few more blocks to the Alsterhaus and the prestige fashion district. Our only gripe was that our room air conditioning didn't work properly for a couple of nights (hint - don't open the window which turns off the aircon) but apart from that we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,451 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
1,605 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 321 in Hamburg
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £105 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing