We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From London to Hamburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Central
Ranked #204 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
London
1 review
“From London to Hamburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

I went to hamburg in december with my partner, found this budget hotel in Altona hamburg.To tell you the truth it was the cheapest in hamburg and we were on a budget. Stayed at hotel central for 2 nights and with hamburg being extremely cold even more so than London the room just refused to get warm. I was cold to a point where i could not sleep after being out all night on the reeperbahn (not as seedy as previous reviews said, the redlight district in amsterdam is more seedy) enjoying the city. When we arrived at the hotel yes!! you have to pick the key up next door at the best western rafael but it was fine had no problems there. The room is small but fine if you are on a budget.
I asked for the non smoking room and to warn you it is on the 4th floor, last floor up with no lift so my boyfriend and i had to carry our luggage up the flight of stairs, not a great experience. However the room apart from being cold which my boyfriend didn't mind as much as i did, it was extremely clean bathroom, towels and bed sheets so i was happy in that respect.
Hamburg is a great city to visit it was my first time and i love it and would go back oh the christmas markets and the hot wine!! Public transport is much easier than in berlin to get used to only 2 stops to the reeperbahn and the fishmarket which you have to visit if you are in hamburg on a sunday morning and go early. I had the most amazing time at the fishmarket drinking beer before 12.
The best selling point for the hotel is the location right next to the train station Altona with lots of fastfood restaurants around with a big shopping mall. Do not forget to try 'BOK' the chinese/korean restaurant next to burger king the food is the best noodles and rice i vegetables i have tasted at a chinese restaurant. Try the sweet and sour fish great!!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank slyckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    42
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
32
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

The location is good and the hotel itself is ok if you only need a place to sleep in, but if you want to spend some time relaxing at the hotel in the evenings then this probably isn't the place for you.
The hotel doesn't have a reception - you have to go to the reception of the Hotel Raphael next door to pick up your room key. The staff there will then let you into the Central Hotel when you press a buzzer at the front door. The staff "next door" were friendly and spoke English, so no problem there.
There is no lift in the hotel, which may be a problem if you have heavy luggage with you. I found my room to be clean but quite small and dark (certainly not as nice as in the photos on the hotel website) and both the room and the bathroom were very basic. But then again it only cost 45€ per night... I guess considering the price the room was quite ok. I had trouble locking and unlocking the door though. And sound insulation wasn't very good, so if you are planning to stay here, do bring earplugs, just in case.
Overall, an ok hotel for a budget traveller, but not much else.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no lift, dark room
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

An absolute bargain! Rooms are small but really clean and the hotel was next to the train station so very handy for getting around. (Could be a nuisance if you have a room at the front of the hotel... we didn't however and heard nothing!) You can't beat this if you're on a budget trip.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fitchickkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Stayed at the 2* Hotel Central next to Station Altona. Very moderate prices, rooms are spacious and clean, bathroom was spotless! Room equipment a little poor but ok only to sleep in. Location is great, within a few minutes on metro you reach the center and the Elb with its enourmus "Landungsbrücken"
Hamburg is always worth to visit!

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2005

I stayed for five nights at the Central Hotel, Hamburgh and it's a very clean and hospitable small hotel. The rooms were big and extremely clean with daily maid service, beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean and hygenic with a great shower. The hotel is situated in the district of 'Altona' which is very central - the transport links using the underground were first class and easy to navigate (I don't speak a word of German!) I never waited any longer than 3 mins to go anywhere in Hamburg. The Reeperbann although itself quite seedy but a must see if your in Hamburg was only 2 stops on the underground which takes around 5 mins to get there and St. George only 5 stops -they seemed to run well into the late evening. Altona itself has lots of shops, bars and cafes there was a lack of formal restaurants although the chinese 'Bok' restaurant in the square behind Altona Station is a must - the food is superb!! I would recommend this hotel the staff all spoke english and the breakfast area was open from 6am until well after 10am - good choice for anyone travelling to Hamburg.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ottensen
Hotel Commerz
Hotel Commerz
#230 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottensen
Hotel Hamburg Altona
Hotel Hamburg Altona
#219 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stephan
Hotel Stephan
#166 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stadt Altona
Hotel Stadt Altona
#271 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Prasident-Krahn-Strasse 15, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Central in Hamburg As its name suggests, the Hotel Central enjoys a central location and is well placed for the port, theatres, musicals, shopping and sightseeing. This ideal location - only 100 m from the Altona (ICE-) train station, 200 m from the popular Ottensen quarter and 1500m from the Cruise Terminal Hamburg-Altona - makes the hotel ideal for city tourists and business travellers alike. The 25 comfortable rooms offer a pleasant and personal atmosphere with comfort at reasonable prices. Free WiFi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and we also have dedicated parking spaces available. Ask our reception staff if you wish to use the Internet terminal, the sauna or bar in our partner hotel next door. Everything is within easy reach of the Hotel Central. The port, Fish Market and Reeperbahn are all easy to reach on foot. You can get to the city centre with its sights and museums in 10 minutes by S-bahn train from Altona station. If you want to see a musical, you can also get there very quickly by train. The lively restaurants and pubs in the Altona-Ottensen district are only a stone's throw away from the hotel. It's also a great place to go shopping or just stroll around. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Central in the exciting Altona-Ottensen district of Hamburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing