We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only for Eco Freaks!”
Review of Okotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Okotel Hamburg
Ranked #245 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not only for Eco Freaks!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Easy to find coming from Hamburg Airport, underground parking but quite tight and narrow, very quiet to sleep in the top floor appartment with 2 separate bedrooms which was perfect with our kids,very comfortable beds,nice spacious balcony, lift from underground car park to top floor was practical, breakfast from 7 to 11am was fantastic, everything fresh and organic sourced, very friendly lady at breakfast who i think was the wife of the sadly very grumpy frontdesk gentleman: he was helpful when asked but always appeared reluctant to help initially, and not really a warm welcome meeting him. If he would make a bit more an effort the rating would be excellent and not only very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were in Hamburg, Germany visiting friends over New Years and stayed again in the Okotel, where we had stayed a couple of times some years before. This time however there were four of us and smaller rooms were booked up, so we took the "Apartment" on the top floor - #32. It has 72 qm. of space (about 775 sq feet), with full baths, two bedrooms, one very large with a balcony, and another room with a wetbar and fridge and table and chairs. There was plenty of space for all four of us to relax and enjoy our time there. There could be a bit more furniture - a couch or two more in addition to the easy-chairs would be nice. But otherwise it was fine. The price was about what we would have paid in a normal midrange hotel for four people, but the feeling of the place, the attention to ecological anti-allergen detail, and the breakfast were above average. The hotel is not in the city center, but you can walk a couple of blocks and catch the 5 bus downtown that runs pretty often. If you do bring a car they have a basement parking garage that costs 2.50 EUR per night, or you can park on the street. An advantage of its location is that it is very quiet, and the windows and balconies for many of the rooms - for example #32 - look onto a green space. The staff are a bit more reserved than some visitors might want, but they are knowledgeable and helpful. It is, after all, northern Germany and not Italy.

Room Tip: Review is about #32 - which is actually more of an apartment than a hotel room or even hotel suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed in the “suite” 2 nights for business purposes and found it adequate. The room was very spacious and clean, the location suited us, it is very reasonable priced and the breakfast was absolutely perfect. The staff where not very warm and welcoming but friendly and helpful, and the carpet in the lobby could use a clean/replacing. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Belgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

I stayed in the Oekotel at least 7 times... every time when I am in Hamburg. The rooms are just magnificent, really big and bright, the staff is excellent and the breakfast buffett is really good!
Its an Ecological Hotel which means all is made of wood and supports energy saving techniques and all the materials used are enviromental friendly.
By saying that, you won't miss any of your usual Hotel amenities... it's really comfortable and even though its a bit away from town, by bus or car you're in town in no time.
It's easy to get from the Airport, and there are shopping facilities and restaurants nearby. As well as Ikea...
We've stayed in different rooms each time, and each one I liked. Even the single room was spacious!
I'll be definately staying there again, as I feel really like at home there.

  • Liked — Big bright rooms, very comfortable. Nice staff and good food!
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chica771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamburg
Hotel Business & More
#135 of 317 in Hamburg
41 reviews
Hotel Reiterhof Ohlenhoff
#7 of 12 in Norderstedt
24 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
#115 of 317 in Hamburg
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
Zum Zeppelin
Zum Zeppelin
#217 of 317 in Hamburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okotel Hamburg

Property: Okotel Hamburg
Address: Holsteiner Chaussee 347 | Schnelsen, 22457 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Okotel Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Okotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing