We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a pinch, will do just fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living
Ranked #162 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“In a pinch, will do just fine.”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Here is the most important thing you need to know about this hotel: don’t go looking for a place that resembles the photos on the website. The hotel is on the third and fourth floor of the Deutsche Post high rise (the giant yellow building). There is an elevator in the courtyard (and possibly stairs elsewhere). I suggest walking here from the Holstenstrasse S-Bahn stop since the walk from the Diebsteich S-Bahn stop feels deserted, especially at night and the route is more confusing if you don't know the area.

Otherwise, this is a generic business hotel. I booked it on the Deutsche-Bahn website because almost everything else in Hamburg was full. I had a single room – so basically a room with a small bed, desk and no view. The bathroom was nice, but nothing exciting. And the wardrobe was a decent size. Didn’t bother paying for the breakfast (and not sure there are too many places to eat on the way to the S-Bahn), just grabbed an apple from the reception and the free bottle of water in my room.

The reception area closes at 11pm but they give you a code so you can use the elevator afterhours. The hotel was a quick ride to the Hauptbahnhof (faster than I anticipated), so that’s another criteria fulfilled. And the free mints were tasty. Overall, feel like I got exactly what I paid for, so no complaints. However, if you’re a tourist and not a business traveler, I would suggest staying somewhere within walking distance of the sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    46
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
13
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for one night for the haye klitscho fight. Impressed with the hotel it is good value for money and offers basic but clean and tidy accomadation.
Well worth booking if you are in town for a night or 2

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Maybe not the most spacious rooms, and the internet is a bit costly but the beds are comfortable, and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest S-Bahn stop. The staff is by far and away the best quality of the hotel. They were there 10 minutes after closing and helped order delivery food. I never had the breakfast so I can not comment. Overall, the location is not the best, but food can be found near by and you are only a short walk to any place in Hamburg. Worth every dollar if not more, should be a definitely a 4 star hotel in my books.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed in the hotel for a number of times, all rooms (single) was rather small, but convenient. Most of the rooms have a green courtyard view, so I always enjoyed a silence with opened window. Breakfast included worm dishes, choice of cheeses and smoked fish. Unfortunately wifi internet is quite costly, but notebook at lobby can be used for free. The hotel is rather modern, room cleaning was perfect. I could not find any shopping or attractions in the direct vicinity. No restaurant as well, they have wending machines with snacks and drinks.
Be aware of lobby working hours, they close the door at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Ghotel is a shabby 2 star hotel. The location is reasonably central to everything, but the area around the hotel is dreary and has nothing to recommend it.

The hotel itself is actually quite difficult to find and not well signposted from the street. The hotel is really in need of a lick of paint and has a real '80s feel to it.

I had a single room and it was very pokey and basic. Laughably, there is no mini-bar because the one vending machine for 2 floors apparently offers a better selection.

And for what you get, the hotel is actually quite expensive. Hamburg seems to be a complete rip-off for hotels in general.

And to rub it in, I booked through a hotel booking website and paid €10 more than if I'd booked directly on the hotel website - plus, I didn't get any breakfast!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Earlybird97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bahrenfeld
B&B Hotel Hamburg-Altona
B&B Hotel Hamburg-Altona
#89 of 319 in Hamburg
177 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Cabo Hotel
Cabo Hotel
#170 of 319 in Hamburg
33 reviews
Yoho
#142 of 319 in Hamburg
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Hamburg Altona
#116 of 319 in Hamburg
561 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stephan
Hotel Stephan
#165 of 319 in Hamburg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living

Property: GHOTEL hotel & living
Address: Kaltenkirchener Str. 1, 22769 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Gastehaus der Deutschen Post)
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel Hamburg
Ghotel Hotel Living

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing