We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of Hotel City House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City House
Ranked #116 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Have stayed here before and liked it. Stayed end September. Were given a comfort room though we had booked a standard. The room was big with a sitting area and a separate sleeping area. Coffee/tea are served on a tray free of charge through the entire day. The entire hotel is non-smoking which is a big plus. It is well located - walking distance to the hauptbahnhof but quiet and peaceful. The staff is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was looking for a hotel room near the main Hamburg train station at the last minute. Hotel City House had a few rooms the night before our arrival. There were some other hotels directly across the street from the station but the reviews were mostly poor.

We had some large bags so we took a cab from the train station, €4.80. If we didn't have the luggage we could have easily walked it. I got a little worried on the short drive though. There are a bunch of sex shops on the way and the front of the hotel opens onto a very narrow ugly street. We were given a room on the second floor facing west. There is some kind of auto shop across the street that is creates a lot of noise. Normally I wouldn't care about that but it was warm during our stay and there is no air conditioning. So it's either burn up in the west (sun facing) room with the windows closed or listen to the road/autoshop/water hose noise outside.

I also wanted to mention there is no elevator. Some may not care about that but if you have heavy bags or a mobile disability it's something to think about. I'm glad we were only on the second floor.

We had a double room but it seems like they took a regular hotel room and squeezed two rooms into it. However there are very high ceilings, I'd guess 12-13 feet. Maybe if they put a staircase inside the room they could put a loft up(kidding). It does seem like a waste of space.

The bathroom was split. I've seen this before in hotel rooms in Europe. It seems like a slight waste of space though. The toilet and one sink in a small room, then another sink and shower in another room. The water pressure and temperature were good for our shower. There was hair on the shower floor though.

The woman at reception was nice, checkin was quick when our turn came. Breakfast was not included in our 2 day stay but if you care for it it's €11 per person. It is a cramped reception area too.

If you need to be near the hbf, like noise, tight confined spaces, and the inability to control your room temperature then your Hotel search is complete.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyserf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We wanted a one night stop near to the main railway station in a quiet street. This hotel was perfect in nearly all ways. The girl on reception was excellent, speaking good English and very helpful, and brought us a tray with kettle, cups and tea/coffee, together with electric fan. Room was comfortable, but a little small (room 46) and we had asked for a king size bed but got a double with two quilts. As it was very warm, we did not sleep that well, although it was a quiet room. The bathroom was spotless and well-fitted out, looked new, but was also small. The shower was powerful, but anyone over about 12 stone would have a problem fitting in ! Breakfast was expensive for actual content, usual German fare, but well presented with good service. We would stay again, but ask for a larger room. It is very easy to find from the main railway station, where you can pop on the U-bahn so it is very convenient for longer stays to use as a base.

Room Tip: We would phone up next time the day before to ask about a larger bed/room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerico01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

we booked a room for three, and got a huge two bedroom suite with one and a half bathrooms. service was impeccable. everything was perfect. can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanSFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Stayed here with my partner and a friend.
Huge bedroom and living room (plus bathroom, obviously). Like a kind of apartment (no kitchen facilities though).
The sofa was also a sofa bed so you could have up to 5 people stay!
Every time they made up the bed we got a different treat on the pillow (haribo, mini ritter sport chocolate etc) which is a lovely touch.
TV in the bedroom and the living room (though not many channels).
Free wi-fi in the rooms.
Very helpful and friendly English-speaking staff.
About 7 minutes walk to the u-bahn. And about 10 minutes to the main Hamburg train station - very handy.
Very close to a fab arts and crafts museum too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The hotel is situated close to the main bus and train stations so is very easy to get to. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

We had a triple room, and were pleasantly surprised to find a separate kitchen as part of the room. Whilst I found the bedroom was roomy, the single bed was rather small - smaller than an English single (perhaps an American twin size?). The double bed was fine though. The only thing I really didn't like about the room was the toilet in the bathroom. It was a rather odd design - a large part of the basin was flat and the hole was quite small, which meant that any waste fell on the raised flat part and didnt fall into the hole unless flushed. A very strange design, and not the nicest to use!

They have free wifi which was very handy. Breakfast cost 11 euros but we didn't get a chance to try it.

All in all, it was great value for money, and worth going to if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were here as a couple together with our parents for three nights. We can only conclude that it was just a very good little hotel for its price and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, charmingly decorated and comfortable.

Pro's
- Free wifi
- Free coffee and tea in the lounge area
- Good documentation available at the hotel about the inn's and out's of the city.
- Tastefully decorated hotel
- Excellent beds
- Central location
- Very clean
- Spacious room
- Minibar prices

Con's

- Internet could be faster
- No digital TV (does not look very nice on a flat screen)
- Tough neighbourhood (but haven't experienced hindrance)
- Parking is not very cheap
- Although we haven't had breakfast in the hotel the price of a breakfast seem a bit high at 11 euro's.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#98 of 321 in Hamburg
110 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#50 of 321 in Hamburg
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Rubin
#60 of 321 in Hamburg
712 reviews
St. Georg
Senator Hotel Hamburg
Senator Hotel Hamburg
#101 of 321 in Hamburg
133 reviews
Hotel Terminus
#127 of 321 in Hamburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House

Address: Pulverteich 25, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel City House is a city villa that was built around 1890 and has since been renovated and modernised. It is quite possibly one of Hamburg's last insider tips. The hotel is an architectural gem, situated in a quiet side road, yet right in the heart of Hamburg, just a few minutes' walk from the main train station, the Alster Lake and the elegant shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City House Hotel Hamburg
City Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing