We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Kronprinz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #130 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Kronprinz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very satisfied with our stay at the Kronprinz. Rooms were clean and comfy. Bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast range was adequate and reasonably priced. Staff were polite and spoke English well. Only complaint was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Hotel itself was very close to several restaurants and transport. Stayed there four nights and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    155
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
44
91
63
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I spent one night at the Kronprinz Hamburg.

It is a 3 star hotel offering comfortable and clean accommodation right opposite of the main train station.

The room was quiet large and the bathroom was big.

They offer free wi fi and it worked ok when I spent my night there.

The breakfast is ok. They offer a small cheese selection and different kinds of cereals, meat, etc. I don't regret paying for it.

All in all if you are travelling on a budget and don't expect wild luxury then this hotel will not disappoint you.

Recommended!

Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar_from_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This delightful little property so well located is letting itself down with little things. The promised free Internet didn't work for the week we were there and reception wasn't interested. Fascinating to be in the small lobby where the Internet was working and hear the stream of complaints. The bread rolls so famously fresh in Germany weren't fresh at our breakfasts. A small but important quality let down. The showers leak. Well at least in our room they did. Totally flooded the floor until we discovered how to run the water into the side wall and prevents the overflows. And the key system is ancient. They totally need electronic keys to avoid waiting in a queue to get back into your room. However this is so close to being a GREAT hotel with clean, well maintained rooms, comfy beds and superb location. Let's hope management takes action on these small details!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank triflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have stayed at this property repeatedly for both business and pleasure, and this time I made a point of staying here even though the price was higher and breakfast was not included. I am sorry that I did so based on my experience. I observed and experienced many issues this time. First, the wireless interet didn't work property, and many guests were lining up in the lobby to complain. The desk clerk, a young German woman with red hair and who spoke perfectly accented British English, could not have cared less. In fact, she demonstrated her lack of interest and frustration. When I asked for some ice to take up to my room, I was told that there wasn't any. If I wanted ice, then I could ask next door at the restaurant, and they might give me some. The bathroom was not particularly clean, which the well traveled know, is not typical of a good German hotel. Very disappointing that such a good property could have fallen in quality so much. As well, I'll alert you to the fact that as frequently as I have praised it, I've never received so much as a "Danke" from the General Management. That may tell you the source of all the problems.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street. It's noisy at night, particularly on festival and holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

I was concerned that the hotel would be in a street to the rear of the station but how wrong I was. It is exactly opposite the main station on a main road. The hotel is small and does not have many facilities such as a bar or lounge. It was immaculately clean with pleasant staff. I had a single room which was small but had everything i needed - i wasnt there to spend much time in the room. I did see larger rooms which were also fine. I never used the breakfast facility so cannot comment but I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjniloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We booked for a triple room with booking.com and found out later that in their own web site called this room as "familyroom" but in fact, it's the same type. So if you think about this room type, don't get confused by their terminology. And in fact, this room is just perfect for 3 people.

We arrive early morning and was told that the room can be check-in by 2pm but before we turned around and walked out of the hotel to get somewhere to wait for the time, they just told us that the room was just ready and we could have the room right away. So that was so good.

They provide free wifi that you got to register thru their system but they only need your email address to verify, nothing to worry.

The hotel location is indeed right perfect in front of the train main station, so if you want to use this city as a hub for your travel to get around Hamburg, you have got the perfect place here!

The room is pretty new, esp. in the bathroom, very broad and well decorated. I just love everything about it here.

Room Tip: Choose room number 304 for triple room, it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuldashop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you travel with a lot of luggage this is the hotel for you, directly across the road from Main Station, you can't get much closer!The breakfast which was included was decent as well; the usual cereals, yoghurt, some fruit with a selection of cheese and meats was more than enough to start the day - the coffee was also very acceptable (something that is hard to find in Europe I've discovered). My only complaint would be that both days we had 'house keeping' come into the room while we were there without making us aware that they were in fact entering. On the second morning I put the 'please do not disturb' sign on the door but that didn't seem to bother the house keeper either. If you're not too phased by having house keeping walk in on you then this won't be a problem however it wasn't my favourite aspect of the hotel!

Room Tip: In Summer ask for a room not facing the street as there is no aircon and the main road outside centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#56 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
#43 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Address: Kirchenallee 46 | St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Kronprinz Hamburg)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof from 1892 is located directly opposite the main railway station in Hamburg in the Church Avenue and is an attractive location for business trips and short city trips. Stay at the Hotel garni close to the city and reach the shopping street Mönckebergstraße and the Lange Reihe in a few minutes. Venues, bars, and attractions can be reached easily from the main train station by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronprinz Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Kronprinz Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kronprinz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing