We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #138 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel prime location. Only downside no tea & coffee making facilities in the room. But NO complaints. Spot on! Hamburg is a lovely place. 2nd time in germany & it won't be my last. German people are generally lovely. I would feel comfortable travelling as a single person in this hotel with no problem. 100yds from central station.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Kronprinz Novum.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kronprinz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was recently in Hamburg on a work trip. Its the first time I have been to Germany and Hamburg.
I wanted a hotel with a central location near the main railway station as I like to use public transport. The hotel was great, very clean and welcoming, great breakfast and very, very friendly staff, who spoke very good English and although I checked out in the morning I was able to call back later in the day to use the hotels free WiFi to check emails, which was quite refreshing. I would recommend this hotel, and I want to return in the new year for a few days break and have a proper wander around this very lovely city, and will definitely stay at the Kronprinz.
Thanks to all the staff.
Thom J North Wales.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just had 3 nights at the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. It was fantastically located, just a 15 seconds walk across the road into the Central Station. The staff were very pleasant and spoke English comfortably. The breakfast was fine and the bathrooms were more than acceptable. The only downside was that the beds were pretty uncomfortable and been so close to the Central Station, there was a fair bit of noise from time to time but not wholly uncomfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank jackward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Location couldn't have been more convenient - tall, narrow, white hotel, directly opposite the front entrance (ie side with the Police Station) of Hamburg's main central station (Hauptbahnhof). Station had great links to the airport (25m journey for 2.95 e) and frequent links to all parts of the city by train or bus. Staff friendly and helpful, stayed in double room No 112, small and quite dark but had a large bathroom, very clean. No air con so too warm overnight. Lift faulty for 6 days we were there so wouldn't have wanted to be on a higher floor. Good choice of cold foods for breakfast with toast and boiled or scambled eggs. Was charged an extra 15 e 'Hamburg tax' on arrival that I wasn't expecting. Free Wi-Fi. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for room with plenty of light and plenty of space around the bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Moved on from the neighbouring Hotel Graf, part of the Novum group of hotels and very glad I did. My room was a very good size and well designed with a spacious walk in bathroom, Very, very happy with my room indeed (Room 513 standard room)

Room had nice ligting and alsa in breakfast area. Breakfast itself was "nothing to write home about"

Both Graf and this hotel only had one english channel CNN which was a let down. Intenet was fair. This is my fave hotel in Hamburg near the main line station, better than the Best Western 4 star I stayed in last year and better location,so far.

Room Tip: Room 513 is fairly quiet and very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onmyway T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just across the main station. The sightseeing tours just across the street. It is just another EUROPEAN hotel. I am sure that there are much better and much worst. The room was adequate for 2 people. The shower was perfect. The room was cleaned every. The staff was fine and I say this because I very seldom ask any staff anywhere anything but they seem nice. When we checked out I was surprised when the guy that did the check out , told us that we owe €14 for beers and some other beverages from the fridge in the lobby but that was a mistake that someone in the hotel made so I didn't paid it. The breakfast was not included but we also didn't sign for it as we prefer to look around for places to have breakfast in.If I ever go back to HAMBURG I will go back to this hotel it is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enrique142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is convienently located right across the street from the train station so take the train from the airport and save some euro. The room was small but I expected that. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was quite tiny too. The room was clean. There was only one outlet (the TV outlet). Wifi was available and breakfast was good at 7,5 euro. The walls are thin so if you are a lite sleeper be aware.

Room Tip: I stayed in a small single room that was between two other rooms on the third floor. I could hear e...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#51 of 319 in Hamburg
405 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
#40 of 319 in Hamburg
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
#108 of 319 in Hamburg
76 reviews
Terminus Hamburg
#133 of 319 in Hamburg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Kirchenallee 46 | St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Kronprinz Hamburg)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £69 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof from 1892 is located directly opposite the main railway station in Hamburg in the Church Avenue and is an attractive location for business trips and short city trips. Stay at the Hotel garni close to the city and reach the shopping street Mönckebergstraße and the Lange Reihe in a few minutes. Venues, bars, and attractions can be reached easily from the main train station by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronprinz Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Kronprinz Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kronprinz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing