We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #150 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Having looked for a long time for somewhere affordable in Hamburg we settled for this without particularly high hopes. However, we needn't have worried at all - a 5 minute walk to Feldstrasse station from where it was amazingly less than 10 minutes either to the centre (Rathaus) or St Pauli/port area. The hotel was very clean, and our room was incredibly bright and spacious. We opted for shared bathroom facilities and these were always clean and in the time we were there, we never once saw anyone else using them. We had planned to move to a hostel in the centre but liked the hotel and the area so much that we stayed put for an extra night. Breakfast was typical but generous - cereal, bread, cheese, cold meats. When we had an issue with trying to get a bus to the airport the staff were very helpful and printed information for us - they were generally very friendly. The area itself is great as well - turn right upon exiting the hotel and walk 5 minutes to explore the great cafes, shops and restaurants of Schanzenviertel. There's an excellent "kartoffelhaus" - all manner of exciting potato dishes on Schanzenstrasse and a lovely lounge/late night bar on the way to the metro - I can't recall the name but it was at basement level, with lots of nice sofas and an astra sign outside. Schanze may look a bit scruffy in the day, but it comes alive at night. A great hotel, I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MELONCOLLIE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

I have just come back from Hamburg and my stay in the Hotel Pacific was pretty good. It is situated on a fairly busy main road but my room was towards the back and I had no problems with noise. The hotel itself may need a bit of modernisation (the foyer looks a bit 1970's) but it was clean and well run. Reception staff were all very nice and all spoken excellent English and were only too happy to answer any questions or give advice about the city. The room I had was a decent size, with a shower and toilet in one room, with a wash basin in the opposite corner of the bedroom. The only problem I would say is that the bottom of the bathroom cabinet was about 8-10 inches above the sink, so trying to wash, or rinse your mouth out, after brushing your teeth was a bit tricky. BBC World News was on the TV, in the morning, only and other than that, there were no English language channels. Breakfast was typical of European hotels ie. cold meats, cheese, cereal and boiled eggs, all served in the restaurant, looking out onto the main street. If you don't want to pay 25 euros, to get to the hotel, from the airport, you can take 'Jasper' aiport express bus to the main train station, for 5 euros and then take U-bahn line 3, direction Barmbek and get off at Feldstrasse station. Exit left from the station and walk to the end of the road. Turn right and the hotel is 20 metres on the right.
Overall, for 60 euros a night, I can't complain and would stay here again. By the way, Hamburg is a fantastic city and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danmac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

I stayed in a room with its own shower for four nights and liked the hotel very much. It's not gorgeous but it's pretty clean, the people are great, beds are all right, and the location is terrific. My room had a sink in it and in its bathroom just a toilet and shower. The shower was like another I'd encountered in a different Hamburg hotel--for some reason, when they add them to the old buildings, they make the shower pan very high, so it means climbing up about a foot to get in, which could be a problem for the elderly or someone with a back or hip problem.

Plenty of hot water and good heating. Good breakfast with the usual meats and cheeses, also yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, all served in the pleasant bar area.

The Schanze is the hippest part of town and is full of cafes and cool shops. It's not right in the thick of things--I think seven stops on the the Metro to the main station--but it's a great area to stay in, kind of like the Left Bank of Hamburg. The website's directions for finding the hotel are not so hot: take the Metro U3 to Feldstrasse from the main train station. Exit and turn left. Go to the big street with the stoplight (Neuer Federmarkt) and turn right and the hotel is right there. I suggest crossing the street in front of the Metro station before turning left (in other words, going on the non-Walmart side of the street) because it's more pleasant. The Schanze starts just past the hotel. If you turn the other way (right) after exiting the Metro and go straight then towards the right, there's another very cool area, Karo.

I recommend taking the Airport Express, which is easy to find just outside the airport. It costs 8 euro roundtrip for the 20-minute trip to the train station , where you can get the U3 to go to the hotel. I think it would be difficult if not impossible to find a hotel to equal the Pacific for the price. A great deal in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Expat-in-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2006

An ideal hotel for people on a budget, but not wanting to stay in a youth hostel. The room we had was clean and spacious, with a television, a lockable wardrobe, and a large window facing the street. The toilets and showers were just down the hall and were kept in very clean condition. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. A standard German breakfast was included (rolls, bread, various types of cheeses, meats, cereals, etc. The hotel is located at the edge of the Schanzenviertel, which has a great selection of restaurants and some nice bars. Very good location in terms of accessibility - the underground station is just around the corner, so it is very easy to navigate the city, and the main train station is only 7 stops away. The only downside is that it is on a very busy street, so the traffic noise at night might disturb light sleepers.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank norahp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Frankfurt, Germany
216
Reviewed 7 September 2005

Decent place and a real bargain. You're one subway stop from St Pauli and two stops from the Landebrücken (basically the port). Also right around the corner is a Super Wal-Mart so you can stock up on whatever you need.

Toilets and showers down the hall but the joint was neat and clean. Breakfast was standard Continental, unexciting but everything you need. Basically, a reasonable, clean place to stay. Didn't see any bums or other undesirables. Very small indoor parking lot but there were also about 15 free parking spots right out front where you can see the car from your room.

Stayed three nights in Aug '05 (with four kids) and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lorenagcr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robert_M1457313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel 66
Hotel 66
#164 of 321 in Hamburg
61 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Budapester Hof
Hotel Budapester Hof
#137 of 321 in Hamburg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Commodore
Commodore
#169 of 321 in Hamburg
109 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Domicil Hamburg by Golden Tulip
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#132 of 321 in Hamburg
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Address: Neuer Pferdemarkt 30-31 | St.Pauli / Schanzenviertel, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacific 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing