We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Ranked #105 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Disappointment in Hamburg”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hotel Smolka (Das Smolka) in Hamburg was a disappointment. It is certainly not a 4-star as sold. My reservation for a non-smoking room was not honored because the available rooms were at a higher rate. My room was tiny, the bed was tiny, and the bathroom was tiny and awkward to use. The TV was an old 15 inch CRT and there were no English channels, and the furniture was old and very worn. Although the street noise was non-existent, the walls are thin enough to hear noisy neighbors.

The staff is friendly (but not so friendly as to give me a non-smoking room). A free bottle of water was given on the first night (not replenished), bottled shampoo and body wash (not replenished), and there is free wireless internet (60 minute sessions which can be renewed) which are all good notes. The hotel is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood (needs a pooper-scooper law, so watch out) near two U-bahn stations, and thus convenient. My rate did not include breakfast, so I cannot comment on what others have said is very good. There are several restaurants and food stores nearby.

To get to the hotel from the hauptbahnhof (train station) , take the U3 (18 minutes) and get off at Eppendorfer Baum or U1 to Klosterstern; there is a sign at the corner pointing to the hotel. A ticket should be bought at the touchscreen for 1.40 Euros before getting on the train. It is an entertaining walk from the hauptbahnofff to the hotel which takes about one hour (without stopping for the sites).

Most certainly I would not recommend this hotel. When you see the number of stars from a western (US) hotel, you are pretty sure of what you will get. German hotels seem to be rated on their best rooms, even if they can sell you a much lower quality experience.....I guess that is the purpose of Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    52
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
58
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Excellent hotel in an excellent location. Terrific employees are always helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent a day in Hamburg and overnighted at Hotel Smolka. Located in the nice Eppendorf neighborhood, you have a great little area to explore only a short ride from the more trafficked downtown. Big high-ceilinged room and bath, attentive staff, good breakfast and limited free parking. A good value for a base in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonoKvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful, quiet, upscale section of Hamburg, but only moments away from an excellent subway system that will take you anywhere, and streets with lots of shops and restaurants. We stayed only one night en route to boarding the Queen Mary II, but had we known how nice it was, we would have planned an extra day or two.

Our room was easily large enough for a king-sized bed, two easy chairs with table, a writing table, and a large, built-in armoire. The toilet and bath rooms (two separate rooms) were down a small hallway. The furnishings were new, the room tastefully decorated including beautiful moldings, and the bath was so modern it must have been designed by top engineers from the space industry. Everything was clean and arranged with the comfort of the guest in mind--including a fresh rose in the bathroom and a bottle of sparkling water on the table.

Because we travel on a budget, we took the subway to the hotel from the airport, and we had breakfast at a coffee shop just five minutes from the hotel (not the more expensive one provided by the hotel). While waiting for our ship to leave, we strolled around the canals near the hotel and along the lake front. The day was sunny and warm, which we understand is rare in Hamburg, but it contributed to our totally positive experience there.

We speak no German, but that was not a problem. The staff at the front desk spoke English and were happy to give us advice. We had planned to take the subway to the Queen Mary, but the clerk advised us to take a cab. For only a few Euros more, it took us straight to the ship.

We cannot recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stood there often, unfortunately always just for one night. The completely new furnished room are beautiful and give you the nice feeling to stay in a small palace.
The service were always nice and the breakfast great. I often wished I could stay for a wile.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wichmannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Charming hotel with a lovely little bar and restaurant near check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location near lake and walking trails. We walked around the lake into Hamburg and it was perfect. Quiet beautiful neighbourhood and very safe for walking. Room was large and clean. Lovely decor and bathroom. Breakfast was large with lots of choice including hot food. Lovely tea and coffee brought to your table. We would recommend this hotel. It was fabulous and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacuxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

A faultless stay in a well kept small hotel.

Well well situated between two different U-Bahn stops.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eppendorf
Dorint Hotel Hamburg-Eppendorf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#96 of 317 in Hamburg
172 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Aspria Hamburg Uhlenhorst
Aspria Hamburg Uhlenhorst
#102 of 317 in Hamburg
221 reviews
Eimsbüttel
von Deska Townhouses - White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel das Smolka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel das Smolka

Property: Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Address: Isestr. 98, 20149 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#75 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel das Smolka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Romantik Hotel das Smolka, one of the finest locations in Hamburg's elegant Harvestehude / Eppendorf district near Alster Lake. Whether you're in Hamburg for business or pleasure, whether you're interested in arts, entertainment, high-end shopping or the port - the Romantik Hotel das Smolka is your ideal location as it is situated in a quiet area with easy access to everything Hamburg has to offer. It is just a short walk to either of two underground stops from where you can quickly and easily reach the city centre, trade fair grounds, bus or train stations, port or airport. In the hotel's immediate vicinity you will find a great choice of restaurants and cafes, excellent shopping from designer outlets to quirky boutiques, and Hamburg's largest and best-known weekly market “Isemarkt”, held every Tuesday and Friday – possibilities are virtually endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel das Smolka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smolka Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing