We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location over Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Ranked #113 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Location over Comfort”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Staying for the first time as a tourist in my hometown, I chose this hotel because of it's unique location. Das Smolka is right in the middle of Hamburg's most desirable quarters, Eppendorf and Harvestehude, a mixed refined residential and lively commercial area, with tree-lined streets, large art deco apartment houses, and a multitude of shops and good restaurants. All that in 5 minutes walking distance - as are underground and bus stations to the city center, museums, the harbor and other attractions.
The hotel itself was a disappointment. Growing up here, I had passed by the Smolka every day, it had a good name, and I always thought this would be a great place to stay.
The first thing we noticed was the pervasive room spray, something we don't care to inhale. But the sweet perfume could not mask the fact that we didn't get the non-smoking room we had booked. Fortunately the weather allowed us to keep the window open, otherwise the cold smoke would have been insufferable.
Our room, as the hotel in general, could do with a remodeling, the furnishings were rather dated, and the bathroom smelled musty. The mattresses were good, though, and the room, overlooking beautiful Isestrasse, was quiet. Though we appreciated the free wireless in our room, the frequency you had to re-enter the password (every hour) was a bit annoying. Free parking was available which can be quite an asset in this quarter.
Unlike in many other German hotels, breakfast was not included in the room price. Since there was only the buffet option (14 euros per person), we preferred walking down to one of the many nice bakeries and cafes down the street (like the Petit Café in the Hegestrasse).
Would I stay there again? Probably. But, I'm sorry to say, only because of the extraordinay location!

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanseata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    51
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
58
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hotel Smolka (Das Smolka) in Hamburg was a disappointment. It is certainly not a 4-star as sold. My reservation for a non-smoking room was not honored because the available rooms were at a higher rate. My room was tiny, the bed was tiny, and the bathroom was tiny and awkward to use. The TV was an old 15 inch CRT and there were no English channels, and the furniture was old and very worn. Although the street noise was non-existent, the walls are thin enough to hear noisy neighbors.

The staff is friendly (but not so friendly as to give me a non-smoking room). A free bottle of water was given on the first night (not replenished), bottled shampoo and body wash (not replenished), and there is free wireless internet (60 minute sessions which can be renewed) which are all good notes. The hotel is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood (needs a pooper-scooper law, so watch out) near two U-bahn stations, and thus convenient. My rate did not include breakfast, so I cannot comment on what others have said is very good. There are several restaurants and food stores nearby.

To get to the hotel from the hauptbahnhof (train station) , take the U3 (18 minutes) and get off at Eppendorfer Baum or U1 to Klosterstern; there is a sign at the corner pointing to the hotel. A ticket should be bought at the touchscreen for 1.40 Euros before getting on the train. It is an entertaining walk from the hauptbahnofff to the hotel which takes about one hour (without stopping for the sites).

Most certainly I would not recommend this hotel. When you see the number of stars from a western (US) hotel, you are pretty sure of what you will get. German hotels seem to be rated on their best rooms, even if they can sell you a much lower quality experience.....I guess that is the purpose of Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Excellent hotel in an excellent location. Terrific employees are always helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We spent a day in Hamburg and overnighted at Hotel Smolka. Located in the nice Eppendorf neighborhood, you have a great little area to explore only a short ride from the more trafficked downtown. Big high-ceilinged room and bath, attentive staff, good breakfast and limited free parking. A good value for a base in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonoKvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful, quiet, upscale section of Hamburg, but only moments away from an excellent subway system that will take you anywhere, and streets with lots of shops and restaurants. We stayed only one night en route to boarding the Queen Mary II, but had we known how nice it was, we would have planned an extra day or two.

Our room was easily large enough for a king-sized bed, two easy chairs with table, a writing table, and a large, built-in armoire. The toilet and bath rooms (two separate rooms) were down a small hallway. The furnishings were new, the room tastefully decorated including beautiful moldings, and the bath was so modern it must have been designed by top engineers from the space industry. Everything was clean and arranged with the comfort of the guest in mind--including a fresh rose in the bathroom and a bottle of sparkling water on the table.

Because we travel on a budget, we took the subway to the hotel from the airport, and we had breakfast at a coffee shop just five minutes from the hotel (not the more expensive one provided by the hotel). While waiting for our ship to leave, we strolled around the canals near the hotel and along the lake front. The day was sunny and warm, which we understand is rare in Hamburg, but it contributed to our totally positive experience there.

We speak no German, but that was not a problem. The staff at the front desk spoke English and were happy to give us advice. We had planned to take the subway to the Queen Mary, but the clerk advised us to take a cab. For only a few Euros more, it took us straight to the ship.

We cannot recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stood there often, unfortunately always just for one night. The completely new furnished room are beautiful and give you the nice feeling to stay in a small palace.
The service were always nice and the breakfast great. I often wished I could stay for a wile.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wichmannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Charming hotel with a lovely little bar and restaurant near check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location near lake and walking trails. We walked around the lake into Hamburg and it was perfect. Quiet beautiful neighbourhood and very safe for walking. Room was large and clean. Lovely decor and bathroom. Breakfast was large with lots of choice including hot food. Lovely tea and coffee brought to your table. We would recommend this hotel. It was fabulous and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacuxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eppendorf
Dorint Hotel Hamburg-Eppendorf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Garni Mittelweg
Hotel Garni Mittelweg
#159 of 318 in Hamburg
66 reviews
Winterhude
Hotel Cristobal
Hotel Cristobal
#160 of 318 in Hamburg
23 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Apartmenthaus Hamburg
Apartmenthaus Hamburg
#28 of 99 in Hamburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel das Smolka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel das Smolka

Property: Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Address: Isestr. 98, 20149 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#76 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel das Smolka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Romantik Hotel das Smolka, one of the finest locations in Hamburg's elegant Harvestehude / Eppendorf district near Alster Lake. Whether you're in Hamburg for business or pleasure, whether you're interested in arts, entertainment, high-end shopping or the port - the Romantik Hotel das Smolka is your ideal location as it is situated in a quiet area with easy access to everything Hamburg has to offer. It is just a short walk to either of two underground stops from where you can quickly and easily reach the city centre, trade fair grounds, bus or train stations, port or airport. In the hotel's immediate vicinity you will find a great choice of restaurants and cafes, excellent shopping from designer outlets to quirky boutiques, and Hamburg's largest and best-known weekly market “Isemarkt”, held every Tuesday and Friday – possibilities are virtually endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel das Smolka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smolka Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing