We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hamburg - Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel das Smolka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Ranked #113 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hamburg - Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My parents stayed at the Smolka in the Isestr. and their stay was very pleasant.
The Room was quite big and freshly renovated. Its a very nice and personal Hotel close to the centre of Hamburg but still very quite in one of the best areas in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms. They are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    49
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
56
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed here because I like to stay a little off the beaten track and not in the middle of a busy town or city. This hotel is about 5 kilometres from the centre of Hamburg which is within easy reach in 10 minutes by Metro so it suited me just fine.
I received a pleasant welcome and was given my key by the receptionist. On reaching my room I was a little disappointed. It was small but then I had received a good deal on the two nights that I stayed so I wasn't too put off. The room was clean and the bathroom likewise. The power shower was great for my aching bones. There was an amply stocked fridge and all the other amenities neccessary. The TV was a bit antiquated but I wasn't here to watch TV. I should say that I did manage to catch a glimpse of a couple of other rooms on my floor and they both looked very nice. It appeared as though they had recently been renovated as had the bar and restaurant with similar decor and this theme would appear to be running throughout the hotel. In the bar which could almost have been someones lounge with the easy chairs wall to wall and ceiling high bookcases full of books it was a bit quiet as I seemed to be the only person drinking in there so if you're looking for lively, this is not the place to be. The barman was also friendly and attentive at all times. Breakfast was taken in the restaurant and although I'm not a big breakfast eater (just cereal & tea for me) there was a varied choice of things to eat from cereals, fresh fruits, youghurt, cold meats, cheeses and fresh bread all served in the buffet style where you helped yourself. A waitress with a cheery smile welcomes you and asks if you would like tea or coffee.
All in all an enjoyable stay and if I should venture to Hamburg again I will surely stay here.

If you are thinking of taking a break in Hamburg as I did here's a few tips. I twice tried to book a taxi from the airport to the hotel on the internet. Both times I could only put in the destination which was the city centre and not the hotel. One quote was £106 the other £96 both return so I decided to wait until I arrived in Hamburg. I got a taxi from the airport to the hotel and it cost me 25 euros not only that and not realising until afterwards if I'd taken the Metro it would have cost approximately 5 euros with a 10 minute walk from the station. I found this out because I took the Metro back to the airport when I left virtually door to door 5 euros.
If you're not up to much walking the Metro is ideal for getting around to where you want to go. It's a bit like the London underground but above ground and it's cheaper than a taxi. You will probably need help if the ticket offices are closed and not every station has one because the ticket machines don't provide an English translation. Maybe the hotel will be able to help you with that. I just asked a passerby who explained what to do and carried on from there.

I should add that there are a lot of restaurants and shops near the hotel should you wish to not travel too far.

Anyway I hope this review has been of some use to you. Have a good time if you're visiting Hamburg wherever you choose to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drcarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Very unpleasant stay at this Hotel due to the staff being rude and unpleasant. We were quite peckish when we arrived back at the Hotel at 11.15pm. I asked at reception if it would be possible to have a bite to eat. I was told "Not at this time of night". I then asked if I could have a packet of nuts or crisps. I was told rudely again "No, the bar closed a long time ago".The bar had actually closed at 11pm, not to mention the bar was only about 15 feet from reception and was not closed with shutters or such. The reception advised me next morning that reception could have easily accomodated me with snacks from the bar that evening. Breakfast waitress was unpleasant and seemed as if she did not want to be there. She vanished from the breakfast room. The cheese plate was not replenished. Mini-bar in room could have done with a good clean. Oh, and dont expect any English Channels or technology for subtitles on the tv in room, German only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Hotel is located in one of the best residential areas of Hamburg. The outside looks the part. Inside the decor is a bit old. Strange red carpet....

My room was very nice. Good size, remodelled bathroom. Wifi and TV up to spec.

Always a good option for Hamburg at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The staff here are excellent, of the type you don't often find anymore. The receptionists soon learn who you are and present you with your room key as soon as you approach, the gentleman who tends the bar remembers what you had to drink the previous day and offers you the same when he sees you. The rooms are fairly well appointed, I booked a double room having read the reviews here that said the singles can be small - the double was a good size. A shame that there are no coffee/tea facilities in the room.
Very quiet and a good nights sleep, every night for a week.
I didn't eat at the hotel, breakfast or evening meal as the hotel is located in the excellent area of Eppendorf which is just full of cafe's and restaurants (there is an excellent vegetarian restaurant nearby - and I'm not a veggie!)
This is my second trip to Hamburg, I have paid twice this price for a hotel half as good.
This is where I will be next time, no doubts, it's just right and really well located for the area it is in and the two u-Bahn stations u1 and u3 within a very short walk away.

Room Tip: Book a double, only a few £'s more and you get a really good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jings999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I chose this hotel for my first visit to Hamburg, and am pleased that I did. I was looking for a quiet location, but close enough to the centre of Hamburg to make it easy to get about, and quick/easy to get to from the airport. This hotel definitely met my requirements. The hotel is situated on a quiet side street just a few minutes' walk from a U-Bahn stop. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were professional and helpful. We didn't buy the breakfast as I felt it was expensive (we stayed on a room only basis). However, there are restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollviken, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A very nice, welcoming Hotel, but as it was about 30degrees at my stay and the room didn't have airconditioning, I didn sleep that godd even though the bed was very good.
Nice staff and a very nice breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikaelHollviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eppendorf
Dorint Hotel Hamburg-Eppendorf
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Garni Mittelweg
Hotel Garni Mittelweg
#154 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel am Rothenbaum
Hotel am Rothenbaum
#138 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#96 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Eimsbüttel
von Deska Townhouses - White House
Eimsbüttel
von Deska Townhouses - Ivy House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel das Smolka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel das Smolka

Property: Romantik Hotel das Smolka
Address: Isestr. 98, 20149 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#76 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel das Smolka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Romantik Hotel das Smolka, one of the finest locations in Hamburg's elegant Harvestehude / Eppendorf district near Alster Lake. Whether you're in Hamburg for business or pleasure, whether you're interested in arts, entertainment, high-end shopping or the port - the Romantik Hotel das Smolka is your ideal location as it is situated in a quiet area with easy access to everything Hamburg has to offer. It is just a short walk to either of two underground stops from where you can quickly and easily reach the city centre, trade fair grounds, bus or train stations, port or airport. In the hotel's immediate vicinity you will find a great choice of restaurants and cafes, excellent shopping from designer outlets to quirky boutiques, and Hamburg's largest and best-known weekly market “Isemarkt”, held every Tuesday and Friday – possibilities are virtually endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Romantik Hotel das Smolka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smolka Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing