We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok hostel but I wouldn't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Ranked #88 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An ok hostel but I wouldn't stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Facilities and rooms were fine, breakfast was really great. Staff attitude was below ordinary. I practically had to snap my fingers in their faces to get their attention when I needed to check in and they wouldn't stop chatting with each other behind the counter, phones in hand. Not a good first impression and it continued on the whole stay. The hostel is massive to the point that you feel like you're a number, not a person, and perhaps this is why the staff exert a couldn't-care-less attitude. Location is a bit creepy if you're trying to find it on your own from the train station as you need to walk through a thickly treed parkland - not nice at night or early morning with the homeless guys around the place. Fine during the day though.
For the price and with the breakfast as its saving grace, I might stay here again if I'm travelling with someone, but alone I would not do it again.

Room Tip: Be wary you're going to have to make your own bed and don't forget to take the sheets off wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    52
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
32
8
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This Hamburg hostel is on a hill just above the harbor and St. Pauli district. From the terrace you can watch the ships coming in and out. The hostel has modern standards and offers a very good breakfast buffet (included in the price). You have the option to buy a complete and balanced meal in the evening at a very good price. The hostel is a popular choice for week end tourists of any age and you have to make your reservation in advance, especially when a special event is going on. The reception is open 24 hours a day, which is good if you arrive at night.
The 6-bed rooms leave very little space to move, the 4-bed rooms are a little better - but this is due to the success of this hostel. The inconvenience of sharing a bed room is that you might have companions coming late and being noisy. I had 2 sleepless nights and 3 nights with respectful companions, but it was really worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsaMoorea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia CANADA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was the 10th Jugendherberge (German Youth Hostel Association) that we(2 adults / 2 young teens) stayed in on our 1 month tour around Germany. Overall I was very pleased with this location. The efficiency /cleanliness standard was up to par with all the others and we had a great stay.

Pros-

Booking: online, 6 months before/ can pay with VISA

location location location. Great view of the Harbour, entrance to S-bahn, Reperbahn and the great DOM.

Staff- very accommodating. When there was a mixup with our sleeping arrangements then fixed that and gave us on site parking.

Onsite bar: Nice to have a location on site to have a few drinks

The safety around the area seemed ok during the day. Did not wander around at night.

Con:

Parking (we lucked out with the onsite) but if you are a regular person showing up, good luck trying to find one close. You'll probably have to use a parking garage (extra expense)

Food: We didn't find the quality as good as other locations we stayed in.

P.S. The Queen Mary Crusie ship passed by one morning. The hostel opened up the coffee /food early so we could all watch it go by.

We loved Hamburg and would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Book early (we did it 6 months before our trip started). the Jugendherberge (German assoc) has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellieh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

I stayed in a quad room. My roommates were all very polite and considerate, which is something you encountered less and less at hostels. The room had two bathrooms – one with a shower and sink, the other with a toilet and sink (just wish the bathrooms had a soap dispenser). There were also roomy lockers, which even had a shelf and a hanger. Everything was very sturdy and well kept up. And very clean. My room even had a wee view of the harbor landing. The other rooms probably have an even better harbor view or a view of the greenery which surrounds the hostel.

They serve a great German breakfast – meats, cheeses, cereal, jams, veggies, fruit, yogurt and juice. The only downside is that breakfast is from 7am to 9am, so no sleeping in if you want to eat. On the other hand, the hostel does not have a lock-out, so you can crash after breakfast. There is also a bar serving snacks and drinks at night. You can even get a discount drink ticket at check-in. I couldn’t find the kitchen area, so I can’t comment on that. There are only two internet terminals and they aren’t cheap, so plan on logging-on elsewhere (the bus station – ZOB has a cheap internet place and there is one in the Reeperbahn which I didn’t get a chance to use).

I was also very happy with the location. You’re just a few U-Bahn or S-Bahn stops from the main train station (Haupbahnhof) (ditto for Hamburg Altona proximity) and there are signs from the Landungsbrucken station leading you right to the hostel. It is also just a 10 minute walk from St. Pauli and Reeperbahn and there are tour ships leaving from right in front of the hostel (as well as the boat you can ride for free if you have a transit day pass). I walked back to the hostel at night from the Hauptbahnhoff at around 10pm. The streets were deserted but felt safe.

The staff seemed nice and all spoke English. The check-in area can be swamped as large (as in huge) student groups use this hostel. Just plan ahead if you’re on a tight schedule. The check-in desk is open until 1am but you must call ahead if you’re arriving after 6pm. This place fills up, so book ahead. In fact, all Hamburg hostels seem to fill up, so book at least a month ahead if you want options.

The view from the dining area/lounge is amazing, especially at night when the harbor lights are on.

Not sure why TripAdvisor lists this as a hotel as it should really be in Specialty Lodgings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful, we had our £800 camera stolen out of our room, we were the only people in it so was a member of staff/cleaner who had key card access. Dirty, poor location, horrible, the worst hostel I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MatthewCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

The location, above the Landungsbrücken, offers great views of the harbour area and whereas you can easily reach it by train be prepared to walk up some stairs to the hostel.
Stayed here for one night, a nice and clean place looking quite new. The building and rooms have key-card access, I stayed in a 3bed dorm which was ok in terms of size, didn´t spend much time there anyway. The bunk bed was a bit narrowish, but even with me being 1,93m I didn´t have problems with the length of the bed.

Staff was friendly yet not as helpful as I would have expected. I had to leave early in the morning and brekfast would only commence 15mins later so I asked for some take-away-breakfast. At reception they advised the breakfast is run by a separate caterer and thus it wouldn´t be their business (despite you pay them for bed AND breakfast). In the breakfast room two people were preparing the buffet, after trying to ignore me for quite a while they advised me they had orders not to give out anything prior official opening of the breakfast. Welcome to Germany, the land of unrivaled flexibility.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zolagola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Just got back from my trip through Europe and during which I stayed at this DJH. Overall I was very satisfied with the property however there were a few things which could have made our stay a bit more comfortable.

Firstly the positives:
-Fantastic location over looking Landungsbrucken and the Elbe
-Conveniently located right next to the U/S Bahn station. Very easy to access from City centre and airport!
-Staff were friendly and helpful
-Everything was new and clean'
-Keycard entry into building and rooms, always felt very secure
-Very decent breakfast
-Good facilities
-Nice and quiet at night but very close to the Reeperbahn

Negatives:
-It was quite warm when we were in Hamburg and the dorm rooms were just unbearable! I am from Australia and so am used to sleeping in high temperatures but this was just awful, really need to be able to fully open the windows in order to get some sort of breeze or at least a fan! Outside during the night the temperature was nice and cool but the rooms would not cool down.
-Alot of stairs to get there! Partly my fault for bringing a suitcase and not a backpack but still some sort of ramp would have been appreciated.
-Internet access is ludicrously expensive.

It isn't the cheapest hostel around but still I think it is good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#82 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#19 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#68 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#45 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang

Property: Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Address: Alfred-Wegener-Weg 5, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Auf Dem Stintfang Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing