We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
397
121
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
121
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews number bus big room room was spotless bunk beds reception area perfect location minute walk city centre design reeperbahn skateboard radiator hip schanzenviertel germany supermarket eur
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

A group of eight of us stayed here for a long weekend.

Superbude St. Pauli is in a great location -- easily walkable from Sternschanze S-Bahn station and with plenty of decent bars and restaurants nearby.

The hotel itself is really comfortable. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were clean and decent standard. The staff were relaxed, friendly and very helpful.

I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christopherhT5458EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

I found Superbude to be a quirky, clever alternative to the sanitised budget options you often find in major cities.
We stayed in a double room which was comfortable and uniquely designed: plungers for coat hangers; news cuttings on local nightlife and attractions as wallpaper; good quality ensuite with rain-effect shower; a flip-flop as a magazine holder.
The area itself around the hotel is packed with bars and restaurants, and a cracking beer house - Altes Madchen - is a 10 min walk away.
Breakfast was fine for €9 supplement per person but nothing amazing.
There's also an honesty fridge with lots of beer and snacks that can be accessed 24/7.
The only reason I've not given this 5 circles is due to two slight quibbles - the room was really hot and even with the radiator off we had to leave the window open at night, which meant noise from the street was more audible, and the pillows had seen better days and weren't very comfortable.
But all in all a great stay and we'd definitely use Superbude again.

Date of stay: March 2017
1  Thank mattbh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance P, Guest Relations Manager at Superbude Hotel & Hostel St.Pauli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Ahoy!
thank you for the extensive feedback and your honesty!
Pillows will be replaced soon, next time you visit they will be in better shape :)
Its true, the streets around here are lively and sometimes a bit noisy but there really is nothing we can do about it, unfortunately.

We hope to meet you again in the future,
Alice and the Superbuden Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I visited in January when the hostel was almost completely empty, so I can only report about the rooms. Good things first: reception was friendly, attentive, nice - i.e. perfect. Laundry was free, bring your own soap. On the other hand: the dorm room/floor were weird. Black painted walls made for a gloomy atmosphere. Elevator stops in the hotel area, so dorms are stairs-only. Comically/treacherously bad placement of light sensors included halfway down a staircase (so you had to find the first steps and start descending in total darkness) and mid-hallway. Four-person dorm room had a U-shape with a single dim light at one end, and each bed had a lamp that was not directed enough to read by but too dim to use as general lighting. Furniture / decor included a freestanding coat rack with hangers that can't be removed, three plungers mounted on the walls (yes really) and a flip flop screwed to the bathroom wall. While odd, it made me laugh, so it definitely came off quirky not unclean. Finally the beds have your head next to somone's feet with no separation. Overall - staff were great, building design was a pain.

Room tip: Just know what you're getting into and you'll be ok.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BostonScienceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance P, Guest Relations Manager at Superbude Hotel & Hostel St.Pauli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Ahoy!

Thank you for your honest feedback.
I am glad to read that the reception staff was up to your expectations, we all think that they do a great job there.
Regarding the elevator, there is only the upper floor that the elevator does not reach, the rest is connected unless, we have technical issues which we always resolve as quick as possible.
We always try to learn from feedback so the point you made with the lights is noted and if possible we always work on bettering the guest experience.
The decor is odd, you are completely right there and it also puts a smile on our faces, glad to hear that it also put a smile on yours!

Greetings from Hamburg,
Alice and the Superbuden Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Relaxed vibe in a great area of town with lively bars nearby. Staff were very friendly and the room has simple style but is comfortable and clean with nice en suite. It had USB sockets on the wall which is also a handy addition. If I was to find any fault (which is difficult) then I'd say that it would be nice to have glasses or even plastic cups in the room.
The common area is really nice and the superb "help yourself" bar and snacks helps to create a homely feel. There's a really good range of drinks and snacks too! You note down what you take and pay at check out.
I love this place.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank geordiepav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel so much and sad we only stayed one night on a day trip from Berlin to see the Hamburg Christmas markets. Myself and 2 friends got an enormous room to start with and a roomy bath. In the evening you can chill in the lobby and order drinks at reception, in the morning there is a large breakfast buffet. We were able to walk to the St. Pauli market and back that night although it is pretty far from the main train station. Other perks we took advantage of: "spa" water in the lobby at no charge; umbrella from the front desk to borrow (which I managed not to lose!); blank ornaments with markers to decorate in the lobby to put on their tree or take home. Hope to one day make it back and stay again for longer.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wunderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews