We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food in a central location”
Review of Leopolds Wirtshaus

Leopolds Wirtshaus
Ranked #888 of 3,677 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: German
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Weymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab food in a central location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed in Hamburg and visited this restaurant twice as it was so good. There were 9 of us in our party in including 3 children, so we all agreed it was quite something to please us all, as our ages ranged from 4-66 yrs old! It offers really delicious more traditional German food, pork knuckle, schnitzel, sausage, sauerkraut, potato dumplings etc, at a very reasonable price, with plenty of beers on offer, as well as a good childrens menu (children were made very welcome, mine were delighted to be given kinder eggs by the waitress!) and with excellent service. This restaurant was very clean, and this includes the toilets. I would definitely go back here, and I would highly recommend if you want good quality traditional German food at a reasonable price. It's also worth noting it's great central location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mumsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Faenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bavarian eating in HH”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Although it may seem a bit strange to go for southern-Germany cooking once you're in Hamburg, we have almost enjoyed visiting this place proposing typical Bavarian dishes, but not only.
We enjoyed Matjes filet (=herrings) done in the classical Hamburg style.
Beer is Bavarian, but again you can choose the local radler Alsterwasser.
Only missing thing: the typical noise that you generally find in locals in the south. We were the only ones with loud voices ...

Helpful?
Thank Mic_Pen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Cosy German style food”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

They have special plate per day which are having even a better price point then the card itself. Overall good food/price/service in a cosy atmosphere. Will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeintV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumsite
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we came across it”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. We just came across it while looking for dinner. At first the service was very slow, but there were major events going on in the city and I think it affected the staff in some way. The restaurant was actually not at all busy. However the waitress kept apologising profusely and when the soup finally arrived it was very nice and the main course and rest of service resumed as would normally be expected.
we would certainly visit again if we were in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic discovery”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

After walking around for quite some time looking for a place to eat, we came upon this quaint looking restaurant and watching people going in sseemed to speak "Eat here". It was quite busy, but we were greeted and service was almost immediate. My order of meat patties and potato salad was very good indeed and ample portion too. The meatloaf was also a generous plate and very nicely presented. Just the kind of meal to fight the cold, and at then end of the day no dinner required!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leopolds Wirtshaus also viewed

 

Been to Leopolds Wirtshaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing