We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Hostel Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
World Traveler
Level Contributor
213 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I lodged three nights at the Arena Hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Clean with large, secure lockers. The kitchen facilities looked good, but I did not use them.

Arena’s location is probably its biggest weakness. It is just 15 minutes or so by tram from Hamburg’s center but there is almost nothing around Arena. It is located in a light industrial area; it is unclear to me why anyone would locate a hostel there. I had to walk a mile for an ATM, grocery store, or decent restaurant or take the tram to find those things. We’re talking the middle of Nowheresville. And the hostel has an institutional feel to it, right down to the plastic flowers that line its windowsills. When I stayed there in May 2014 there was noisy construction going on around it during the daytime (see photo). I did not find the bed that comfortable. The 6-bed dorm room was uncomfortably warm (+29C) and humid during my stay and Arena does not have air conditioning; but why does it not have oscillating fans? Room fans would definitely help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed for 7 nights in Hamburg's Arena Hostel. It's clean and quiet, with excellent staff. The Hostel is located 15 mins by S-Bahn from Hamburg city centre. This makes it ideal for anyone wanting to avoid the noise of the central hostels and for families who may be wary of some of the 'characters' in the central area.

Conversely, the more-isolated location may put off hardened party people. However, the hostel is on the doorstep of a S-Bahn station and the trains run through the night at weekends (until midnight Sun-Thurs).

During the week, most of the residents are workers, rather than tourists. This keeps the place very safe and quiet. However, as people are working, they go to bed and get up early. Therefore, night-time noise is not permissible after 10 PM and light sleepers are likely to be woken early by people preparing for work.

Below the hostel, there's an excellent bakery/ general store. However, this is only open 5AM to 1PM weekdays. At other times, there are no sops in the immediate area.

The staff are excellent, as are the bathrooms and kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed with a friend last December as we were seeing a band at the O2 Arena. Hostel is very conveniently located for the Arena, a 10-15 minute walk away. Its also easy enough to get into town on the S-Bahn (takes about 20 minutes). We had a private room, and it was comfortable, the only small complaint is the bathroom was incredibly stuffy - it must have had underfloor heating & meant you could hardly stay in there after you got out the shower!
The staff were also really helpful, the guy at reception sensed we were students, and told us wher to find cheap eateries around by the university in town, and gave us some travel tips, as well as circling all the Christmas markets on maps for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

This hostel is about 30mins away from town by metro. So, it can be a little troublesome to travel to and fro. However, great staff who are very helpful and the lady staff in charge(forget to ask her for name) even took a map to tell us where are all the places that we should or could go. Clean room and shower room is clean too. Small hostel but quite a cosy stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sjkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

“A place we could stay for longer...” This place is absolutely recommendable. Really warm and friendly welcome,well organized stuff.Free WiFi all day long.Bathrooms are alright and very clean. Three kitchen equipped with everything you need to cook.Our 4bed room are pretty nice, good mattresses.Great for a good night's sleep. Very easy access for sightseeing.Overall, we can totally recommend this place! Keep it up Team from Arena Hostel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ibis Budget Hamburg Altona
#114 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridge Inn Hotel
#199 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Novum Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
Wandsbek
La Petite Perle
La Petite Perle
#202 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hostel Hamburg

Property: Arena Hostel Hamburg
Address: Fangdieckstr. 20, 22547 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arena Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arena Hostel Hamburg is open since in January 2012. The Arena Hostel Hamburg is a brand new facility located directly next to the S-Bahn-Station Eidelstedt. You can reach us by foot in just 2 minutes. The Arena Hostel Hamburg offers low-cost overnight accommodation for groups and individuals. From double rooms to 6-bed rooms in a pleasant well-kept atmosphere. The S-Bahn can take you in 12 minutes to the heart of St. Pauli or to the famous Reeperbahn Street and in 15 minutes to Hamburg's city center. In the Arena Hostel Hamburg you can have a quiet night's sleep after experiencing the day's hustle and bustle in the city. Our Check-In time is 2pm-7pm. For early arrivals, luggage storage facilities in the hostel available. Check-Out time is 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arena Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing