We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation in a good location”
Review of A&O Hamburg City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Hamburg City
Ranked #61 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Basic accomodation in a good location”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The company I visited booked this accomodation for me. It is in a really good location (5minutes from S-Bahn and U-Bahn station) and this is the greatest value of the hotel.
The rooms are small with very basic furniture (no wardrobe or commode, a really small table), but the bathroom is ok and the room is clean.
Unfortunately most of the guests are young belonging to huge groups so the hotel is far from being quiet.
There is a free wifi in the lounge, though it works better in the morning, in the nights it is slow and unstable.
I would recommend the breakfast (for 6EUR/person), which is very rich. Though it gets boring after a while as there are the same things on the table all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAndras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    142
    147
    90
    73
See reviews for
110
121
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubeck, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very good location - 5 min till S- and U- Bahn, around 15 min till Hauptbanhof and city Center. Nice and clean rooms, with TV and shower. Nice place where to stay for weekend. There is free Wi-Fi at the ground floor, but I didn't use it because I came to Hamburg to see my friends. Any way if you need to spend night in nice, clean and good place I would like to recommend this hotel/hostel.

Room Tip: There is S-and U-Bahn near to hotel/hostel, so be ready that it makes some noises during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frezija_zl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel was not booked by myself but as I had to choose out of the A & O Hotels in Hamburg this one seemed the best option after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel was not in the nicest area and a good 10 to 15 minute walk from the city centre-bearing in mind that I can walk quite fast. The entrance was nothing special-although I wasn't really expecting much for a 2 star and I just wanted a clean bed for the night.
On arrival I provided confirmation regarding my booking which included the e-mail with my booking reference. After being made to fill out my personal details on a form the staff asked if I had a voucher and as I didn't they decided I had to pay although this hotel had already being booked by another organisation on my behalf. But I could use the voucher next time I stayed here!
It's fair to say that we made a quick exit and decided to pay to stay somewhere better with decent customer service. I received vouchers for everything else and therefore I can only assume that A & O Hotels messed up this booking and the voucher I was meant to receive!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

It was a surprise when I realized that everything was clean on a hostel so cheap. Be aware that you have to pay for the sheets!
The staff was really helpful.
It is near the metro station that runs to the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

This hostel is everything a hostel should be!

Rooms are spotless clean!!! I shared a room with 5 friends in a 6 bed dorm. Lovelly fresh clean linen provided. There was also a separate toilet and shower room in our bedroom which were also spotless.

There is a great buzz about this hostel. The bar downstairs is great value. Pints and bottles of beer for €2-2.50. You can not complain about prices like that. There's also a good selection of eats such as pizza, pasta, chicken winks also very reasonable!!!

Would definitely recommend a stay here, was only in Hamburg for one night but it looks like a cracking city so will be returning for a few days and staying here !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#50 of 317 in Hamburg
613 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
#65 of 102 in Hamburg
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Hamburg Hammer Kirche
#62 of 102 in Hamburg
135 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Hamburg City

Property: A&O Hamburg City
Address: Spaldingstr. 160, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Hamburg City 2*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hamburg City offers modernly furnished single, double or family rooms with a great hotel standard (hotel area) and spacious 4 to 8 dorms with comfortable beds (hostel area). The spacious lobby and entrance area, with billiard and table soccer as well as a kids' play area, provides a welcoming atmosphere with an international charm. New: Wi-Fi is free of charge in every room and in all public areas! Our A&O Hotel has a central location and very good connections to all public transportation. The S+U-Bahn stop "Berliner Tor" (S1, S2, U2, U3) is only a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The main train station is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing