We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but...”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #19 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but...”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed here on business and the stay was fine, mostly. Nice room, good value. Unfortunately, I left two items of (new, expensive) running clothing drying in the bathroom, and these were not handed in by the chambermaid. The management compounded this by refusing to apologize for the error, accused me of lying about having left them there, and was aggressive in tone on the phone and in emails.
I cannot recommend this hotel- the management left a poor impression on me, and a hotel's management is the be-all and end-all of a hotel's service.

Room Tip: 731 on the top floor, with a 2.5m round bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    300
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
67
334
40
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I found this new hotel whilst searching the internet for somewhere to stay in Hamburg. It officially opened on 1st June but unofficially 2 weeks beforehand, my husband and I stayed there 2nd to 4th June. It is a really funky hotel, I loved it. i originally booked a Comfort room but when we arrived Steph at reception asked us if we wanted to upgrade to a Superior room for an extra €20 per night. We did upgrade and were really happy with the room, lots of yellow of course, but that seems to be the colour scheme throughout, and art seems to be the decor of all Acrotels. The bed was round with a round mirror on the ceiling, the room was big enough for our needs and well set out. The bathroom was roomy and clean, I love going to new hotels for this reason. I didn't care that there wasn't a bath, I think you only find them in much older hotels these days. But if I had a complaint it would be that I kept knocking the shower tap whilst showering and kept turning it off, it seemed to be in the wrong place, and I am only a small person. The location was great, we weren't bothered by noise from the Reeperbahn, we had a good look around the first night (a Saturday) and enjoyed watching the partygoers, we also enjoyed some nice meals whilst we were there. From the hotel it was a 2 minute walk to the port where there were many restaurants, boat cruises and bus tours. We didn't have breakfast included in our stay so I can't comment on that, but we did have free wi-fi in our room which was excellent. There is also a small business centre opposite reception which you can use for free. A very good location and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sak06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Sak06,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write afeedback at www.tripadvisor.de.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopenhagenDenmark
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 4th to 5th of June. I actually didn't know it was this new when I booked - but immediately recognized it when I entered. There is still a smell of fresh paint all over (doesn't bother me...).

The hotel itself is very stylish from the outside - and on the inside as well. I love this contemporary design style. There is a public underground garage with direct access to the hotel (also brand new) which only cost €5 a day which is a bargain considering I often pay €20-30 per night for parking overnight in city centres! It's even manned all hours and access to the hotel is only by room card.

The room (standard double room) itself was very very nice. Of course everything was brand new - the design features quite a lot of yellow items - but other than that it's quite stylish. All amenities in room functioned fine - although the A/C was a bit tricky so I ended up turning it off (as it kept going at full capacity - even when set to 22C and automatic).

Toilet is nice size - heating lamp in the ceiling - nice touch. Nice big shower - a real shower and that the type where you have to stand in a tub (which I hate!!). They have given environment some thought and gotten rid of all the small packaged shampoos, soaps, conditioners, etc. and have gone for the dispenser which I really like.

Nice selection of channels on the TV - didn't try the PayPerView - Internet worked without any hitches althoug too expensive (but that's almost always the case - why don't the get in their heads that WLAN should just be included??). Nice touch though - I could choose between different download rates (high download rate = higher price and vice versa).

Didn't go for the breakfast buffet - overpriced (€20) - but again a nice touch - I could have a small breakfast in the café which is located in the lobby - a choice between the "healthy" with bread, cheese and cold cut or the "sweet" with nutella and jam. Price was €7,80... and included a cup of coffee, tea or a glass of juice. Perfect!

All in all an effortless stay - I don't really like the Reeperbahn area and very aggressive prostitues that keeps grabbing you (especially when you are a single guy walking around). But it's very central to Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear MadsCopenhagenDK,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the feedback on www.tripadvisor.com.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel just after their opening on June 1. I booked a suite, was first led to a room which was still under construction but then got a romm (416) which was finished. The suites are quite small, small living room and the bathroom is also small and just has a shower, no bathtub which I think should be standard in a suite. The bedroom has one completely round bed with a mirror on the ceiling, quite appropriate for the location on the Reeperbahn. As the hotel is just at its beginning, you can stay away from this part of the city by going south towards Landungsbrücke or east. Overall, a good location, close to everything but small rooms and you really have to love yellow as a color! The staff is very helpful and they coped well with all the problems of opening a hotel which is not completely built and ready to go.

Room Tip: Suites are small, so do not expect to much and watch the price! Junior Suites are probably not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Hans M.,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the guest questionnaire.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haderslev
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Brand new hotel in center of Hamburg.

Nice rooms, but they are not big.
But great for a night or two.
The hotel i located directly on the Reiperbahn, so you can (almost) not get any more central.

Even do the hotel was open for guests, there where still some construction going on, which is the reason for the "3 stars" instead of "4".
When they charge the prices they do (full price), they have do be finish with the construction.
It is nok OK to charge full price when there are still building materials several places on the ground.

The breakfast is NOT OK. When you ared charged 20 EUR, it must be a big breakbuffet.
I have stayed several times in Hamburg, and paid 20 EUR on other hotels, which incl. a big breakfast buffet.
This buffet was simply to small for the 20 EUR we paid.


I would recommend this hotel, for people staying a weekend in Hamburg for sightseeing or a night on the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Google Translation
Lieber djhank,

auf diesem Weg bedanken wir uns herzlich für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Haus.

Es war uns eine besondere Freude, dass Sie bei uns waren und wir Sie mit unseren Leistungen überzeugen konnten.

Wir wissen es sehr zu schätzen, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns ein Feedback zu schreiben.

Ihr Lob, aber auch Ihre Anregungen sind Motivation für uns, auch künftig alles dafür zu tun, dass sich unsere Gäste im ARCOTEL Onyx wohlfühlen.

Gerne möchten wir Ihnen mitteilen, dass unser Hotel komplett fertiggestellt ist. Da wir auf demselben Grundstück liegen wir die Tanzenden Türme und diese sowie die Außenanlage noch nicht ganz fertig gestellt sind entsteht der Eindruck einer Baustelle.

Ihre Anregung bezüglich des Frühstücksbuffets leiten wir gerne an die entsprechende Abteilung weiter.

Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und freuen uns, wenn Sie bald wieder einmal zu Gast im ARCOTEL Onyx sind.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus der Hansestadt Hamburg
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 319 in Hamburg
1,032 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empire Riverside Hotel
#25 of 319 in Hamburg
1,182 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 319 in Hamburg
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Property: ARCOTEL Onyx
Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing