We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful new hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #20 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I found this new hotel on internet and after seeing nice photos we decided to come here. After arrival to Hamburg we realised that hotel is located on the end of the most famous street full of sexshops and erotic bars ;))) But never mind, hotel was really nice and we decided to stay. All staff in the hotel worked very professional. They were kind and very helpfull. Room was brilliant. Absolutely stylish to the last thing! All the hotel was modern and beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay here. There is good bar in the lobby with No1 barman, that used to work for some russian bar, so he know many kinds of vodka and can do very good coctails.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Lucia ,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in your feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    276
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
62
320
40
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed here for one night in August 2012, and I think the hotel had only opened a month or two earlier.

I didn't spend much time in the hotel as arrived at 6pm, went out for dinner, and then checked out at 11am to get my flight. I didn't use the bar or restaurant, but the the rooms were great - really clean, comfortable and funky (as long as you don't mind bright yellow). The check-in staff were quick, and helpful with restaurant suggestions.

The location is great - at the end of the Reeperbahn, a 2 minute walk from St Pauli U-Bahn, and 5 min walk from St Pauli football stadium. This makes it about 30 mins from the airport and 10-15 from Hauptbahnhof. The Reeperbahn itself is worth a stroll down - it is an experience, even if you are not looking for any of the many services offered!

At 75 euro I'd say the rate was reasonable for a hotel of this quality, and would definitely consider returning if in Hamburg again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Jamesh77,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to wirte this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Like others here I had some concerns about staying in a brand new hotel, but these soon disappeared once I had finished my check-in. The room is very comfortable, well equipped and very quiet. Service at the bar in the lobby was also fantastic. I would definitely go back next time I am in Hamburg.

Room Tip: No tips to add - seemed to me that all rooms were good with excellent sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear scimitar65 ,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a recent trade show and was a little concerned given the area, but was reassured by the reviews on TA. It's a new hotel and even the taxi driver had a problem finding it. But on arrival I was immediately impressed. Check-in was efficient and friendly and the lobby including a nice bar area is attractive.
My room was one of those with a circular bed and overhead mirror, which took a little getting used to, but was very comfortable, The bathroom was a good size and though no bath tub, had a large, powerfull shower. Wi-fi worked well and is 9 euros for 24 hours. Breakfast was served in the building adjacent to the hotel and had a good selection of both hot and cold food and I believe it is open in the evening for a reasonably priced dinner buffet. There is also a small cafe behind the bar for those just wanting a light breakfast.
I can't say too much about the area as I was at the trade show on both days then in other parts of Hamburg during the evenings, but given the famous area the hotel is in, it is very much as you would expect. I would certainly recommend this hotel especially if attending the Hamburg Messe. It is only 5-6 euros in a taxi, or a short train journey and it you were feeling energetic it's only around a 30 min stroll.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Soluta,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Really loved the ambience and feel of this hotel. The interior design was tastefully thought out and very welcoming. My room was extremely clean and the bed, really comfortable - slept like a baby!
Facilities available include a gym, steam room, sauna and lounge area (shame no jacuzzi), with fresh fruit and tea point for refreshment. The steam room and sauna is switched on by request, if used before 5pm in the evening (great energy saving measure).
The staff were extremely polite and spoke really good English.
I am unable unable to comment on the quality and taste of the food as I always ate out.
Conveniently located near a train station - St Pauli and in a busy tourist area.
Downside? The hotel is situated in a very notorious area (Red-light district) and on-going building work outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STORM369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear STORM369,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

beautifully done, cozy and comfortable.
perfect location.
impeccably clean.
good value for money.
highly recommended !!!
the wow factor of this hotel lies in what you get for what you pay and it's convenient location. inspite of being in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of st. pauli with all the clubs, pubs and the occasional police sirens, one hears nothing inside the room.

Room Tip: there are rooms available for smokers. inquire at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coltranedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Mr. Coltranedrams,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write a feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

They have a very good location on one of the most famous streets in the city. There's the red light district all along the street and then several streets of pubs/bars and a couple discos too. The hotel is really nice and has a unique architecture. The best part is that when you are done for the night, you can just walk up the street and you can't miss the hotel. I found the prices for everything to be fairly reasonable as well.

I had a little difficulty finding the hotel at first because my iPhone's GPS wasn't working (and I don't recommend relying on your GPS in this area). There is also a lot of construction going on around the hotel. Once you get an idea of where the hotel is, you can't loose it. It was a nice stay and a good value.

Room Tip: While all of their rooms are probably nice, I would request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rampage76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Assistant Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear rampage76,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the feedback on www.tripadvisor.com.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Best regards,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg


JANINA BORMANN
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#25 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Property: ARCOTEL Onyx
Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing