We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights during a holiday. The hotel exceeded expectations and fully deserves its star category. Rooms are large and very modern room with a lot of attention to detail in the decor. Bed and bathroom are comfortable and impeccably clean. There was no noise and room service was not too early either. Another surprise was the TV that included several UK channels. Staff was reserved, but friendly and assisted with any question.

Despite the hotel being technically located near the red light district/ towards the end of it, we did not even notice it until we walked towards the district one evening. St. Pauli subway station is located just across the road, so access to transport is easy, whilst a maximum of a 20 min stroll will get you to the Hafenkante and Hafencity area. If arriving from Hamburg International Airport a subway line would take you directly to Landungsbrücken station which is a little further away but still accessible to the hotel (perhaps not with suitcases as it is behind a hill). There are also plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area.

The hotel is recommendable. Whilst it is not terribly cheap it is is competitively priced and offers a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear jai8_London,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this great feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were especially pleased with our rooms and staff.

We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home and your feedback shows us that we are doing everything the right way.

We would like to welcome you back at the ARCOTEL Onyx soon.

Best regards from the beautiful city of Hamburg,
Dear Julie555,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were especially pleased with our rooms and staff.

We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home and your feedback shows us that we are doing everything the right way.

We would like to welcome you back soon at the ARCOTEL Onyx.

Best regards from Hamburg
ARCOTEL ONYX

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager


SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We flew into Hamburg on Monday 1st July and took the train to Reeperbahn, where we walked along for about ten mins straight to the hotel. It looked amazing from the outside, very modern and welcoming, and in a perfect spot. Friendly reception staff and bar staff, in fact all the staff were very friendly. Walked through the amazing reception area, full of modern designer furniture, all different shapes and sizes. Arrived at our room on the fifth floor to amazement, it was one of the round beds all lit up around the bed with a mirror above. The room had everything - reading lights, information, large wardrobe, hair dryer, shampoo, coffee and tea making facilities, perfect. It was very clean, I could not believe it. The bathroom perfect, not one spec of dust anywhere, towels clean and soft. Had a lovely round window with a lovely view. I cannot fault this hotel and for the price was truly a bargain. The harbour is a ten minute walk just behind the hotel. The bus stop is just near to the hotel, this is where we caught the bus to travel to the Ratthouse and other places. The breakfast times were 0630 to 1030 hours which was a really good time slot and our checkout was 1200 noon which was unbelievable. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: we had room 531 with a round bed at the end of the corridor and was perfect, didnt hear any noise wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Julie555,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were especially pleased with our rooms and staff.

We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home and your feedback shows us that we are doing everything the right way.

We would like to welcome you back soon at the ARCOTEL Onyx.

Best regards from the beautiful city of Hamburg,

JANA SCHMITT
Assistant Front Office Manager
ARCOTEL Onyx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Sleek, shiny hotel literally within sight of St Pauli U-Bahn station. Very impressive lobby and lounge area with understated nautical references. A slight glitch when we reached our room on the 5th floor as it had been set up only for single occupancy - one set of towels and pillows and a single duvet - but that was quickly sorted out by the helpful receptionist. After that all was fine. Very stylish room with view of the Reeperbahn, Excellent wet room, separate WC, funky washbasin in the room itself which seemed a bit strange at first but we soon got used to it. Good quality TV with a pretty good range of English channels (including ITV4 + 1!). Very effective double glazing. Literally at the end of the Reeperbahn which is even seedier than I'd imagined but doesn't impinge on the hotel at all, but I wonder if it impacts on the room rate which at about £75 room only is not a lot for a hotel of this quality. Far more attractive is the lovely Planten und Bloemen park which begins just beyond St Pauli station and goes on literally for miles, The harbour is just 5 minutes walk in the other direction. Didn't have breakfast although it looked very good, did have a drink at the bar which was very pleasant and not too expensive for a 4-star hotel. All in all a very impressive hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Kingpete,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We needed an overnight stay as the next day were picking up a Cruise from Kiel. What a great find in Hamburg! So much so that we booked another overnight stay after the cruise! Staff were excellent and accommodating & gave us great suggestions given our short stay in Hamburg. Breakfast was superb and what a beautiful setting adjacent to the reception area with the sun streaming in .Rooms were lovely and spacious also. Loved the funky colours and furniture in the reception area modern yet not stark.
Next time we come to Hamburg would definitely stay longer & wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone going to Hamburg! Near the port& also the red light area but felt very safe indeed and walked from the port the day the Queen Mary 2 was leaving Hamburg & there was a festival at the port which was a lot of fun.
Jeanine & Abe Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Jeanine,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at the Arcotel Onyx in berlin for a four days business trip, nothing short of high class, relaxing, perfection. Everything from the concierge, front of house and service staff was of a high standard.
I would definitely return to stay here again, and it is so central for everything you need from entertainment to dining and then some.

Whole heartedly recommend everyone to stay here for at least a city break, this is a hard one to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyg8599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Paddyg8599,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg (not Berlin ;-) ) and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with this hotel: : it was reasonably priced, not far from the wharf, and next to a subway stop. It was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful and directed us to very good restaurants within walking distance. We did not utilize the dining room in the hotel. The location is an acceptable walk (or two subway stops) to the Miniatur Wunderland, the largest and best model railroad in the world and our primary purpose for this trip to Germany. When in Hamburg, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda&George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Linda & George,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Staff is very friendly and the breakfast has the right size (enough variety to serve all types of clients). Rooms are comfortable and clean. The neighborhood is safe, and one could have a walk in the evening without feeling stress. It worths the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in top floors have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Vitor 96,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,245 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
800 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 321 in Hamburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
475 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £67 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing